4 Dec 2021–13 Mar 2022

A transcultural film voyage into the recent past with 14 stops along the way.

Each weekend, Time Machine: 1986-2000, the film programme of the Santa Barbara season, will make a stop in the past between 1986 and 2000, that is, from the start of perestroika to the end of Boris Yeltsin’s presidency. The rules are simple: each year is represented by two films, one Russian language and the other a foreign language film. They may have been filmed at that time, or taken “off the shelf” then (that is, officially released that year), or they may describe that year retrospectively. The paired movies sometimes complement each other, but often present opposing views, giving equal space to alternative interpretations and demonstrating a variety of views and voices, from which it is impossible to cobble together a single story.

Time Machine: 1986-2000 is not confined to a particular genre, school or national cinema. On the contrary, it focuses on the authors’ voice, vision, statements and transcultural nature, switching between Hong Kong, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Belgium and Russia.

Despite the heavily retrospective nature of the programme, some films will be shown in Russia on the big screen for the first time. An example is the cult film The Killer by John Woo (1989), a forerunner of The Matrix. At GES-2 Kino, premieres will be held of restored 2K and 4K versions of several films including the postmodernist classic by Edward Yang The Terrorizers (1986) and Pickpocket (1997). This film by Jia Zhangke, a leading director of the “sixth generation” (as young filmmakers of the 1990s are called in China), was made with an almost Balabanov light touch. The programme will show the 4K version of the post-colonial classic Beau Travail (1999) by Claire Denis after a high-resolution restoration supervised by the film’s cinematographer Agnes Godard. Chantal Akerman’s travelogue From The East (1993), which captures a bewildered post-Soviet Moscow blanketed in snow, might be the key film that divides the programme into two parts.

An important event is the return of major Russian films from the last decade of the 20th century to the big screen: Pavel Lungin’s Taxi Blues (1990); Valery Todorovsky’s Love (1991); Moslem by Vladimir Khotinenko (1995); and 8 ½ $ by Grigory Konstantinopolsky (1999). Each of these conveys a sense of time on fast forward and outlines important elements of auteur style (for example, the female characters in a Todorovsky film or the signature farce of Konstantinopolsky).

Two minor retrospectives are also part of Time Machine: 1986-2000. One of them is devoted to Andrei Konchalovsky’s timeless two-part classic (The Story of Asya Klyachina…, Asya and the Hen with the Golden Eggs), another to the surly joker and true native of the 1990s, Alexei Balabanov (Brother, Dead Man’s Bluff).

A still from Edward Yang’s The Terrorizers (1986)

A year is something of a guideline with a dual purpose. On the one hand, through the classics we can try to abandon the idea of “catching up”, a cornerstone of our culture. The Russian countryside and its fabled backwardness, Soviet slogans like “catch up and overtake”, constant calls for accelerated modernization, imperial obsessions — these were all bars of a beautiful cage, a stimulus and an inspiration yet at the same time a mouse trap that snapped shut long ago. On the other hand, it is an opportunity to keep from slipping back into the rut of Russia’s "special path" that supposedly explains everything. Time Machine: 1986-2000 uses many examples to show that all paths in the world intersect; they are similar yet different.

— Kirill Adibekov, curator of V–A–C film programmes

/

4 дек 2021–13 мар 2022

Транскультурное кинопутешествие в недавнее прошлое с 14 остановками по пути.

Каждые выходные «Машина времени: 1986–2000», центральный сюжет кинопрограммы сезона «Санта-Барбара», предлагает сделать 14 остановок в прошлом, на отрезке с 1986 по 2000 год, от начала перестройки и до конца президентства Бориса Ельцина. Правила просты: каждый год представлен двумя фильмами, русскоязычным и на иностранном языке. Они могут быть сняты в это время как фактически, так и «с полки» (то есть выйти в официальный прокат) или рассказывать о нем ретроспективно. Картины в паре иногда дополняют друг друга, но часто выступают антагонистами, давая равные права альтернативным трактовкам и демонстрируя множество взглядов и голосов, из которых невозможно сложить единую историю.

«Машина времени: 1986–2000» не замыкается в рамках определенного жанра, направления или национального кинематографа. Напротив, она делает акцент на авторском голосе, видении, высказывании и транскультурности, маневрируя между Гонконгом, Венгрией, Казахстаном, Бельгией и Россией.

Несмотря на подчеркнутую ретроспективность программы, некоторые фильмы будут показаны в России впервые на большом экране. Например, культовый «Киллер» Джона Ву (1989), предвестник «Матрицы». В «ГЭС-2 Кино» также пройдут премьеры отреставрированных в формате 2K и 4K версий, в числе которых образцовый постмодернистский «Вселяющий страх» (1986) Эдварда Янга, снятый почти с балабановской простотой «Карманник» (1997) Цзя Чжанкэ, ведущего режиссера «шестого поколения», как называют в Китае молодых кинематографистов 1990-х, и постколониальная классика от Клер Дени «Хорошая работа» (1999), которая была восстановлена в высоком разрешении при участии ее оператора Аньес Годар. Ключевым элементом, который делит программу на две части, можно считать травелог Шанталь Акерман «С Востока» (1993), запечатлевший заснеженную и растерянную постсоветскую Москву.

Особое событие — возвращение в кинотеатр значимых российских фильмов последнего десятилетия XX века: «Такси-блюз» Павла Лунгина (1990), «Любовь» Валерия Тодоровского (1991), «Мусульманин» Владимира Хотиненко (1995) и «8 ½ $» Григория Константинопольского (1999). Каждый из них передает ощущение стремительно меняющегося времени и намечает важные элементы авторского стиля (например, женские персонажи Тодоровского или фирменные буффонады Константинопольского).

В «Машину времени: 1986–2000» вошли и малые ретроспективы актуального классика Андрея Кончаловского («История Аси Клячиной, которая любила, да не вышла замуж», «Курочка Ряба») и угрюмого джокера и автохтона 1990-х Алексея Балабанова («Брат», «Жмурки»).

Кадр из фильма Эдварда Янга «Вселяющий страх» (1986)

Год — формальная параллель, и у нее двоякая цель. С одной стороны, через игру (в классики!) попробовать отказаться от идеи «догоняющего развития», краеугольного камня нашей культуры. Русская деревня и ее пресловутая отсталость, советские лозунги, вроде «догнать и перегнать», всегда ускоренная модернизация, имперские комплексы — все прутья прекрасной клетки, стимул и вдохновение и одновременно ловушка, которая давно схлопнулась. С другой стороны — возможность не соскользнуть в колею особого пути России, который якобы все объясняет. «Машина времени: 1986–2000» на множестве примеров показывает, что все пути в мире пересекаются, они схожи и в то же время различаются.

— Кирилл Адибеков, куратор кинопрограмм V–A–C

/