Expanding Space. Out of the Centre

1 Feb 2019—13 Dec 2019

Out of the Centre consists of six large-scale projects in various districts of Moscow with which V–A–C continues the 2015-2016 Expanding Space programme.

In 2015-2016, young artists developed special projects designed for Moscow, after which the V–A–C Foundation introduced them into the urban space. Based on the results of this programme, it became clearer what contemporary artists are able to offer the city and which of these ideas can be implemented given the existing Moscow infrastructure and administration. Now, together with the artists, V–A–C leaves the geographical centre of Moscow and travels towards the city outskirts, which never before had been an object of interest to Russian contemporary art institutions, to pick up cultural and educational practices from the citizens and create new ones alongside them.

All the projects are held in locations where the local residents spend their time: cinemas, cultural centres, district libraries, even in markets. Adopting and updating the usual formats — children’s activity and learning circles, musical shows, cooking classes, workshops and film screenings, the artists and employees of the foundation enter into a dialogue with representatives of local communities who rarely interact with contemporary art in their everyday life.

The project On a Personal Note will involve the audience in the production of films. Weird Circles rethinks the ossified and archaic format of district children’s learning circles. At the core of the projects Continuous Currents and Based on a True Story are stage productions based on stories proposed by citizens, and with non-professional actors comprised of local residents. While Justice Against the Grain and Moscow Solos will experiment with the format of live action role playing (LARP) and musical concerts.

Out of the Centre is extremely important for the creation of the future programmes of GES-2 where the focus will always be on working together with visitors and being sensitive to their interests.

/

Расширение пространства. Из центра

1 фев–13 дек 2019

Шесть масштабных проектов в разных районах Москвы, которыми V–A–C продолжает программу «Расширение пространства» 2015–2016 годов.

В 2015–2016 годах молодые художники разрабатывали проекты специально для контекста Москвы, после чего фонд внедрял их в городское пространство. По результатам этого исследования стало более понятно, что современные художники могут предложить городу и какие из их идей возможно реализовать в существующей московской инфраструктуре и административной системе. Теперь вместе с художниками V–A–C выходит из географического центра Москвы в окраинные районы, которые раньше никогда особенно не интересовали российские институции современного искусства, чтобы научиться культурным и образовательным практикам у горожан и вместе с ними создать новые.

Все проекты проходят в местах, где проводят время жители районов: кинотеатрах, домах культуры, районных библиотеках и даже на рынках. Используя и обновляя привычные форматы — детские кружки, музыкальные спектакли, кулинарные мастер-классы, мастерские и кинопоказы, художники и сотрудники фонда вступают в диалог с представителями местных сообществ, в повседневной жизни далекими от современного искусства.

Так, проект «От себя» вовлекает зрителей в производство кино. «Странные кружки» переосмысливают закостеневший и архаичный формат районных детских кружков. В центре проектов «Непрерывные токи» и «Основано на реальных событиях» — сценические постановки по сюжетам, предложенным горожанами, и с непрофессиональными актерами из местных жителей. А «Правосудие против шерсти» и «Московские соло» экспериментируют с форматами ролевой игры живого действия (LARP) и музыкальными концертами.

Опыт «Из центра» исключительно важен для создания будущей программы «ГЭС-2», где в центре внимания всегда будет совместная работа с посетителями и чуткость к их интересам.