Weird Circles

Date:
1 Feb 2019—15 Dec 2019

An attempt to return the local children’s activity circle to their original rationale and purpose in partnership with four Moscow houses of culture and cultural centres.

Public learning and activity clubs, or, as they are called in Russia, circles (from "кружки" — "small circles"), spread throughout Russia in the 1920s. Initially, they gathered non-professionals of different ages united by a common interest in some cultural or other practice: they held regular classes, exchanged experiences, organized exhibitions, productions and other collective events. In the following decades, circles became part of a conservative cultural system, and teaching methods became monotonous and boring.

The mission of the project is to create a free setting for local circles in which creative potential can be fostered. In Weird Circles classes for kids and teenagers from four Moscow neighborhoods are conducted by artists, playwrights, composers, choreographers who prefer a horizontal, rather than hierarchical way of communicating with participants and who propose cooperation in a creative laboratory, unconstrained by genre and other frameworks.

Weird circles

Khoroshyovo-Mnyovniki. Berendey house of culture

The Art of Transformation
Age of participants: 8+
Author and Presenter: 
Masha Somik, artist, graduate of the Stroganov Moscow State Art Academy; also graduated from Camberwell College of Arts (London) with a master’s degree in fine arts.
The focus of attention is on human interaction with the surrounding space, materials and sites. Participants discover new possibilities of such interaction — for example, when a flat picture suddenly becomes three-dimensional and turns into an installation, relief, or sculpture. The result of their joint work is a large-scale installation, an exhibition and our own fanzine.

The Laboratory of Impermanence
Age of participants: 8+
Authors and presenters:
Tatiana Chizhikova, choreographer, performer.
Alexei Kokhanov specialist on work with voice, performer, composer.
The presenters together with the participants explore the phenomenon of time, using movement (body) and sound (voice). It is an attempt to express freely through voice and movements the emotions that don't fit into the traditional understanding of aesthetics. The result is a performance dedicated to the interaction of the body and voice in time and space.

Yasenevo. Inspiration cultural centre

Spatial Practices
Age of participants: 12+
Authors and presenters:
Polina Bakhtina, theatre artist, set designer, curator of the Scenography course at the Higher British School of Design. The creator of the installation of the Russian Pavilion and the winner of the Gold Medal at Prague Quadriennale, 2015 (co-authored with Jan Kalnberzin). Winner of the Breakthrough award of the Best Theater Artist prize (2013).
Maria Zaytseva, artist, architect, participant of numerous theatre projects in Moscow and St. Petersburg.
Participants are invited to use scenography and other artistic disciplines to look at space design in a completely new way, to experiment with materials and ways of conveying information, and to freely combine different artistic practices and modes of expression. They work not on paper or on a computer, but on the scale of an auditorium and then of an entire building.

Novogireyevo, MosArt cultural centre

The Heinous Circle of Monstrousity
Age of participants: 13+
Authors and presenters:
Katia Volkova and Natasha Zhukova, a tandem of contemporary choreographers who combine different body and dance practices, and work in various genres — site-specific art, public interventions, performances in museum and theatrical venues.
If we consider a monster as an extreme form of the “other”, it turns out that the world is full of monsters: each of us is one in the eyes of others. The participants are encouraged to take advantage of this discovery and practice monstrousity. Each session consists of exercises and talks, during which the teenagers discover the ugly and magical facets of monstrousity. They explore the possibilities of communication with the “other”. They learn to see fragments of the monstrous in a person, the environment, and in things, and find out what it is like to exchange bodies for objects, borrow their shape, and imbue them with one’s own capacities. Finally, the presenters  bring together various monstrous practices to create a performance bestiary.

Amateur Sound Electronics
Age of participants: 12+
Author and presenter:
Oleg Makarov, composer, sound and media artist, developer of interactive hardware and software systems and tools, teacher at Rodchenko School (the Introduction to Sound course).
The circle proposes transforming a common consumerist attitude to music and starting to produce musical objects singlehandedly. Having gained an understanding of the physical and electromechanical nature of the origin and dissemination of sound, participants then proceed to work with electronic circuits, electrical networks, connections, and sound amplification. By the end or the course, they are expected to build their own audio synthesizer.

Indie Choir
Age of participants: 14+
Authors and presenters:
Vladimir Gorlinsky, composer, teacher at the Department of Contemporary Music of Moscow Conservatory, presenter of improvisation techniques.
Mikhail Durnenkov, playwright, screenwriter, teacher, participant of the New Drama movement.
The participants of the choir get acquainted with modern drama and musical composition and discover that these disciplines have similar laws: a resounding word is also a sound, and a text can become music. After learning how to transform and express emotions freely through text and sound, they can create a collective work at the end of the course.

Liublino. Astakhov cultural centre

Dance Portrait
Age of participants: 12+
Authors and presenters:
Yana Isaenko, documentary director.
Tarik Burnashev, dancer, choreographer, one of the founders of the PoV.S.Tanzy dance company. Founder of the Ohne Zucker project nominated for the Golden Mask award in 2009.
The presenters help the participants to focus on their own individuality, observe their own body and peculiarities of their movements, and grasp the plasticity of everyday life. The next step is to learn how to express the poetry of the surrounding world in short videos shot on a smartphone and then to edit them using various techniques.

/

Странные кружки

Дата:
1 фев–15 дек 2019

Попытка вернуть районным детским кружкам их изначальный смысл и предназначение в партнерстве с четырьмя московскими домами культуры и культурными центрами.

Общедоступные кружки распространились в России в 1920-х годах. Изначально в них собирались непрофессионалы разного возраста, которых объединял интерес к какой-нибудь культурной или иной практике: они проводили регулярные занятия, обменивались опытом, устраивали совместные выставки, постановки и другие коллективные мероприятия. В последующие десятилетия кружки превратились в часть консервативной культурной системы, а методики преподавания стали однообразными и скучными.

Миссия проекта — создать в районных кружках свободную среду для раскрытия творческого потенциала. В «Странных кружках» занятия с детьми и подростками из четырех московских районов ведут художники, драматурги, композиторы, хореографы, которые предпочитают горизонтальный, а не иерархический способ общения с участниками и предлагают им сотрудничество в формате творческой лаборатории, не скованное жанровыми и другими рамками.

Странные кружки

Хорошёво-Мнёвники, ДК «Берендей»

Искусство перехода
Возраст участников: 8+

Автор и ведущая: Маша Сомик, художница, выпускница МГХПА им. С. Г. Строганова, окончила магистратуру по специальности «изобразительное искусство» в Camberwell College of Arts в Лондоне

В фокусе внимания — взаимодействие человека с окружающим пространством, материалами и объектами. Участники открывают для себя новые возможности этого взаимодействия — например, когда плоская картинка вдруг становится объемной и превращается в инсталляцию, рельеф или скульптуру. Результат совместной работы — общая масштабная инсталляция, выставка и собственный зин.

Лаборатория Временности
Возраст участников: 8+

Авторы и ведущие: Татьяна Чижикова, хореограф, перформер. Алексей Коханов, специалист по работе с голосом, перформер, композитор.

Ведущие вместе с участниками исследуют феномен времени, используя для этого движение (тело) и звук (голос). Это попытка свободно выражать эмоции с помощью голоса и движений, которые не вписываются в традиционное понимание эстетики. Результатом становится перформанс, посвященный взаимодействию тела и голоса во времени и пространстве.

Ясенево, Культурный центр «Вдохновение»

Практики пространства
Возраст участников: 12+

Авторы и ведущие: Полина Бахтина, театральный художник, сценограф, куратор курса «Сценография» Высшей Британской школы дизайна. Создатель инсталляции Российского павильона и обладатель Золотой медали Международной выставки сценографии и театральной архитектуры «Пражская квадриеннале — 2015» (в соавторстве с Яном Калнберзиным). Лауреат премии «Прорыв» в номинации «Лучший театральный художник» (2013). Мария Зайцева, художница, архитектор, участница многочисленных театральных проектов московских и санкт-петербургских театров и музеев.

Участники пробуют с помощью сценографии и других художественных дисциплин совершенно по-новому посмотреть на оформление пространства, экспериментировать с материалами и способами передачи информации, свободно соединять в работах разные художественные практики и способы выражения. Работа происходит не на бумаге или компьютере, а в масштабах аудитории, а затем и всего здания ДК.

Новогиреево, Культурный центр «МосАрт»

Чудовищный кружок монструозности
Возраст участников: 13+

Авторы и ведущие: Катя Волкова и Наташа Жукова, тандем современных хореографов, которые сочетают разные телесные и танцевальные практики, работают в разных жанрах — сайт-специфик, интервенции, перформансы в музейных и сценических пространствах.

Если рассмотреть монстра как крайнюю форму «другого», окажется, что мир полон монстров: каждый из нас является таковым в глазах окружающих. Участникам предлагают воспользоваться этим открытием и практиковать чудовищность. Каждое занятие состоит из упражнений и обсуждений, в ходе которых участники открывают уродливые и волшебные грани монструозности, исследуют возможности коммуникации с «другим», видят фрагменты монструозного в человеке, окружающей среде и предметах и узнают, каково это — обмениваться телами с объектами, заимствовать их форму и наделять их своими способностями. В финале ведущие помогают собрать монструозные практики воедино, чтобы создать перформанс-бестиарий.

Самодельная звуковая электроника
Возраст участников: 12+

Автор и ведущий: Олег Макаров, композитор, саунд-артист, медиахудожник, разработчик аппаратно-программных интерактивных систем и инструментов, преподаватель Школы Родченко («Введение в звук»).

Кружок предлагает изменить привычное потребительское отношение к музыке и начать самостоятельно производить музыкальные объекты. Получив представление о физической и электромеханической природе возникновения и распространения звука, участники переходят к работе с электронными схемами, электрическими цепями, соединениями, усилением звука. В итоге они собирают собственный аудиосинтезатор.

Инди-хор
Возраст участников: 14+

Авторы и ведущие: Владимир Горлинский, композитор, преподаватель кафедры современной музыки Московской консерватории, ведущий класса импровизации. Михаил Дурненков, драматург, сценарист, педагог, участник движения «Новая драма».

Участники инди-хора знакомятся одновременно с современной драматургией и музыкальной композицией и обнаруживают, что у этих дисциплин схожие законы: звучащее слово — тоже звук, а текст может стать музыкой. Научившись преобразовывать и свободно выражать эмоции с помощью текста и звука, в конце курса они создают завершенное групповое произведение.

Люблино, Культурный центр им. И. М. Астахова

Танцевальный портрет
Возраст участников: 12+

Авторы и ведущие: Яна Исаенко, режиссер-документалист. Тарик Бурнашев, танцовщик, хореограф, режиссер, один из основателей танцевальной компании «По.В.С.Танцы». Основатель проекта «Онэ Цукер», один из спектаклей которого был номинирован на «Золотую Маску» (2009).

Ведущие помогают участникам сфокусироваться на собственной индивидуальности, наблюдать за своим телом и особенностями движений, улавливать пластичность обыденной жизни. Следующий шаг — научиться с помощью съемки на смартфон и различных приемов монтажа выражать поэзию окружающего мира в коротких видеофильмах.

В наших кружках обучение навыку не самое главное. Они основаны на парадоксе — на несовместимых вещах, например, танце и портретировании. Только так можно почувствовать себя художником и чему-то по-настоящему научиться. Приглашенные художники, хореографы, режиссеры, композиторы работают с подростками, детьми и преподавателями ДК. Они пытаются делать кружки, которые будут говорить о том, из чего собраны разные практики и чем они могут быть тебе интересны и полезны.

– Екатерина Чучалина, куратор фонда V–A–C