Tuning. Concert Programme

Date:
15–29 Apr 2022
0+
Project: 

What form can concerts take today? What relation does tradition have to modernity in this format? As it searches for answers to this question, Tuning runs the gamut of genres and forms, balancing at the boundary that separates old and new, spiritual and secular, between individual and collective feelings and experiences.

The protagonist of Alexei Lubimov’s solo performance is an 1848 Érard piano from the collection of Alexey Stavitsky. Performing works by Mozart, Beethoven, and Chopin, Lubimov attempts to reproduce the conditions in which art of the turn of the nineteenth century would have been perceived in the late Romantic era. Can one compare the perception of classical music in the mid-nineteenth century with how it is perceived today?

The concert might seem a fundamentally secular genre, and the sacred the lot of past art. The musicians of the INTRADA Vocal Ensemble and the Questa Musica Ensemble, however, question this assertion: their programmes trace a line of spiritual searching from the High Renaissance (Palestrina and Monteverdi) to the Baroque (Lotti and Bach) to the Romantic era (Brahms) before concluding in the contemporary with the world premiere of Alexey Sysoev’s Mass.

In an era of the comingling of genres, the concert stage can seem the last stronghold of “pure music”. But is this always the case, and where does the line separating concert from musical theatre and performance lie today? The finale of Joseph Haydn’s Farewell symphony (1772) has performers leave the stage one after another as it gradually falls into darkness. This first and notable example of instrumental theatre is joined in Tuning’s playbill by Vladislavs Nastavševs’s Lyrical scenes, a work at the junction between solo concert and solo performance.

Friday, 15th of April

Alexei Lubimov
Érard piano (1848)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Sonata no. 8 in A minor KV 310
Sonata no. 15 in F major KV 533/494

Frederick Chopin (1810–1849)
Scherzo no. 1 in B minor op. 20
Prelude in C-sharp minor, op. 45
Barcarolle in F-sharp major, op. 60

Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata no. 14 in C-sharp minor, op. 27 no. 2

Saturday, 16th of April

Vladislavs Nastavševs

Lyrical Scenes
Concert-performance

Monday, 18th of April

INTRADA Vocal Ensemble
Artistic director and conductor: Ekaterina Antonenko

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525–1594)
Nunc dimittis

Peter Philips (1560­–1628)
Ave Jesu Christe

Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643)
Adoramus te, Christe

Antonio Lotti (1667–1740)
Crucifixus a 10

Alexey Sysoev (1972)
Mass for a mixed choir (2018, world premiere)

Friday, 29th of April

Questa Musica Ensemble
Conductor: Philipp Chizhevsky

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Two Motets, op. 29

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Cantata BWV 4 Christ lag in Todesbanden

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
Symphony no. 45 (Farewell symphony)

Sunday, 15th of May

All Falls Silent

Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble

Giovanni Gabrieli (1556­–1612)
Canzoni

Boris Filanovsky (1968)
Unterwassermusik (2022, world premiere)

Anton Svetlichny (1982)
All Falls Silent (2022, world premiere)

All illustrations by Masha Titova

Настройки. Концерты

Дата:
15–29 апр 2022
0+
Проект: 

Каким сегодня может быть концерт? Как соотносится в этом формате традиция с современностью? В поисках ответов «Настройки» предлагают целый спектр жанров и форм, балансируя на грани старого и нового, духовного и светского, индивидуального и коллективного переживания и опыта.

Главный герой сольного выступления Алексея Любимова — фортепиано Érard 1848 года из коллекции Алексея Ставицкого. Исполняя музыку Моцарта, Бетховена и Шопена, пианист делает попытку реконструировать восприятие искусства рубежа XVIII–XIX веков в эпоху зрелого романтизма. Можно ли сравнить дистанцию между ними с расстоянием, отделяющим 2022 год от 1848-го?

Концерт — по определению светский жанр, сакральное — удел старого искусства. Музыканты ансамблей Intrada и Questa Musica ставят это утверждение под вопрос: их программы прослеживают ход духовных поисков от Высокого Ренессанса (Палестрина и Монтеверди) и барокко (Лотти и Бах) до романтизма (Брамс) и современности (мировая премьера «Мессы» Алексея Сысоева).

В эпоху смешения жанров концертная сцена кажется последним оплотом «чистой музыки». Но всегда ли это так — и где сегодня проходят границы, отделяющие концерт от музыкального театра или перформанса? В финале «Прощальной» симфонии Йозефа Гайдна (1772) исполнители один за другим уходят со сцены, которая постепенно погружается в сумрак. Первый (и один из самых ярких) в истории музыки образец инструментального театра встречается в афише «Настроек» с «Лирическими сценами» театрального режиссера, певца и композитора Владиславса Наставшевса — проектом на стыке сольного концерта и моноспектакля.

Пятница, 15 апр

Алексей Любимов

Вольфганг Амадей Моцарт (1756–1791)
Соната № 8 ля минор KV 310
Соната № 15 фа мажор KV 533/494

Фридерик Шопен (1810–1849)
Скерцо № 1 си минор, соч. 20
Прелюдия до-диез минор, соч. 45
Баркарола фа-диез мажор, соч. 60

Людвиг ван Бетховен (1770–1827)
Соната № 14 до-диез минор, соч. 27 № 2 («Лунная»)

Суббота, 16 апр

Владиславс Наставшевс

Концерт-перформанс «Лирические сцены»

Понедельник, 18 апр

Вокальный ансамбль Intrada
Художественный руководитель и дирижер — Екатерина Антоненко

Джованни Пьерлуиджи да Палестрина (1525–1594)
Nunc dimittis

Питер Филипс (1560–1628)
Ave Jesu Christe

Клаудио Монтеверди (1567–1643)
Adoramus te, Christe

Антонио Лотти (1667–1740)
Crucifixus a 10

Алексей Сысоев (р. 1972)
«Месса для смешанного хора» (2018, мировая премьера)

Пятница, 29 апр

Ансамбль Questa Musica
Дирижер — Филипп Чижевский

Иоганнес Брамс (1833–1897)
Два мотета, соч. 29

Иоганн Себастьян Бах (1685–1750)
Кантата BWV 4 Christ lag in Todesbanden («Христос лежал в оковах смерти»)

Йозеф Гайдн (1732–1809)
Симфония № 45 «Прощальная»

Воскресенье, 15 мая

Все станет тишиной

Исполняет: Московский ансамбль современной музыки

Джованни Габриели
Канцоны

Антон Светличный
«Все станет тишиной» (2022, мировая премьера)

Борис Филановский
Unterwassermusik («Музыка под водой», 2022, мировая премьера)

Все иллюстрации: Маша Титова