Imaginary Friends. Workshop series for children

Date:
4 Dec 2021—13 Mar 2022
Place:
GES-2
6+
Season: Santa Barbara
Project: Let’s Pretend

Workshops where participants from 6 to 12 years old will look for and create their imaginary friends to get to know themselves and their environment a little better.

Imaginary Friends is a series of children’s art workshops based on the techniques of art therapy. Four of the eight classes are intended for participants aged 6 to 8. Together with artists and art therapists Anna She and Maxim Subota, they will draw, invent characters, and play with them in a game. They'll also study artistic materials and explore theatricalisation. Children aged 8 to 12 will master the basics of animation. In designing the master classes, the creators have taken  into account the fact that children at this age are very vulnerable to criticism in groups. The classes will help them learn how to formulate ideas, find the right words, and choose means and materials to carry out their plans. 

The phrase “Let’s pretend…” that begins most games is the best ticket to the world of fiction and fantasy in childhood. And now this opportunity is within your reach once more.

— Katya Porutchik, curator of the Let’s Pretend programme

The participants of these workshops will try to find answers to important questions. If there is an inner world, then what does it look like, and if not, what controls our behaviour? Where do dreams and fantasies come from? What is real? Is our joy or sadness real? What is the difference between thoughts, feelings and emotions? How does friendship begin?

The V–A–C curators were inspired by the initiative of the Imaginary Friend Society, which allows everyone to send their imaginary friend “to help” children with cancer. Artists upload a drawing of their make-believe character on the website, and artists create thematic posters or cartoons with the image, for example, to explain what an MRI scan is, suggest how to cope with loneliness or deal with fear.

Image by Sophie Korotaeva

The technique of exploring a child's inner world through artistic practices is the most effective and appropriate way to work with children’s attention. Exploring one’s inner world is a valuable way to recognize your current needs, resources and limitations. Imaginary friends are a figurative structure for focusing the attention of children in the classes. The collective, public naming of the phenomena of internal reality, as well as their depiction through artistic means, enriches the psycho-emotional life of a person, activates their inner resources and - very importantly - allows a child to feel part of the community without losing their feeling of being unique. Often it seems to a person (adult and child) that if there is no name for something, it does not exist.

— Anna She

Anna She

Artist, clinical art therapist. Author of international programmes and studies on the therapeutic impact of artistic practices and environments on people and communities. She is the director of the art therapy studio SAMO/SELF.

/

Воображаемые друзья. Серия воркшопов для детей

Дата:
19 фев–12 мар 2022
Место:
ГЭС-2
6+
Проект: 

Воркшопы, где участники от 6 до 12 лет будут искать и создавать своих воображаемых друзей, чтобы чуть лучше узнать себя и мир вокруг.

«Воображаемые друзья» — серия детских художественных воркшопов на основе арт-терапевтических методик. Четыре из восьми занятий предназначены для участников 6–8 лет. Вместе с художниками и арт-терапевтами Анной Ше и Максимом Суботой они будут рисовать, придумывать персонажей, задействовать их в игре, а также изучать свойства художественных материалов и исследовать театрализацию. Те, кому от 8 и до 12, освоят основы анимации. Мастер-классы для них будут построены с учетом того, что дети в этом возрасте очень уязвимы к критике в группе, и помогут научиться формулировать идеи, отыскивая правильные слова, и подбирать средства для их воплощения.

Фраза «а давай, как будто…», с которой начинается большинство игр, становилась в детстве лучшим билетом в мир выдумки и фантазии. Смотрите — этот билет снова у вас в руках.

— Катя Порутчик, кураторка программы «Как будто»

На этих воркшопах можно попробовать найти ответы на важные вопросы. Если внутренний мир есть, то как он выглядит, а если нет, то что управляет нашим поведением? Откуда берутся мечты и фантазии? Что мы можем назвать реальным, реальны ли наша радость или грусть? В чем разница между мыслями, чувствами и эмоциями? С чего начинается дружба?

На этот проект кураторов V–A–C вдохновила инициатива Imaginary Friend Society, позволяющая каждому отправить своего воображаемого друга «на помощь» детям, которые болеют раком, — рисунок персонажа можно загрузить на сайт, а художники создадут с его изображением тематические постеры или мультики, рассказывающие, что такое МРТ, как справиться с одиночеством или бороться со страхом.

Фото: Софья Коротаева

Способ исследования внутреннего мира через художественные практики — самый эффективный и конгруэнтный для детского внимания. Ценность исследования внутреннего мира заключается в возможности знакомства со своими актуальными потребностями, возможностями и ограничениями. Воображаемые друзья — это образная структура для направления внимания детей, участвующих в занятиях. Групповое публичное название феноменов внутренней реальности, а также их воплощение в художественном материале обогащает психоэмоциональную жизнь человека, активизирует жизненные ресурсы и, что немаловажно, позволяет ощутить себя частью сообщества без потери чувства уникальности. Часто человеку (и взрослому, и нет) кажется, что, если для чего-то нет названия — этого не существует.

— Анна Ше

Анна Ше 

Художница, клинический арт-терапевт. Автор международных программ и исследований, посвященных терапевтическому воздействию художественных практик и сред на человека и сообщества. Руководитель студии арт-терапии САМО

Доступность
Подробнее об адаптации мероприятий вы можете узнать в разделе Доступность
  • Тифлокомментарий
  • Перевод на русский жестовый язык
/