The Monty Python Film Marathon

Date:
22–24 Feb 2022
Place:
Cinema
18+
Project: 
Project: 

Four principal films by the British comic group, a complementary short and a public talk between film critic Anton Dolin and director Terry Gilliam.

Supported by Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow

The Monty Python Film Marathon is part of the Extraordinary Series project: the films can be watched at the GES-2 Kino Cinema from morning to evening (with authorial breaks), or as individual episodes the choice is up to the viewer. The screenings will be presented by renowned film critics, translators and editors.

Monty Python were both the quintessence of Britishness and its self-criticism. Two Oxford graduates, three Cambridge graduates, and one American (that is, Gilliam) examine the social fabric from the inside. Imperial bravado is wrought with resilience and optimism against all odds, and class prejudice is juxtaposed with an exposé of aristocracy and a belief in the sheer power of debate.

Having started with hilarious short sketches that parodied British daily life and later made up And Now To Something Completely Different (Dirty Hungarian Phrasebook, The Lumberjack Song, The Dead Parrot, Self-Defence Against Fresh Fruit, Hell’s Grannies and many more), in just a decade Monty Python had moved from national myths (Monty Python and the Holy Grail) and apocrypha (Monty Python’s Life of Brian) straight to the human predestination (Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life). The latter, despite gravitating towards the musical, was somewhat a return to the sketch format. It is these four films, including complementary shorts by John Cleese (Away From It All) and Terry Gilliam (Crimson Permanent Assurance), that compile the Monty Python canon. All the rest directorial and acting work, musicals, books, authorised DVD editions and, of course, The Monty Python Flying Circus series — were offshoots to which a whole another season could be devoted. Which is exactly what The British Film Institute did, while widely celebrating the collective’s 50th anniversary in Autumn 2019.

Half a century later, Monty Python return to the spotlight to remind us what a prone to silly film is, how to put on a blackmail TV show and why it is important to remain invisible.

It shocks me how comedy is not allowed to be treated as serious filmmaking, and what we were doing, some of it I think is amazingly revolutionary, playing around with medium: ‘Pirandello takes over the cinema’ in some cases. Nobody ever seems to write about it that way: ‘It’s just a bunch of funny sketches — some of them work, some don’t.’ We were playing with the medium and shifting it around, in the way we were playing with television, and we got no points for that.

— Terry Gilliam, from the book Monty Python Speaks! by David Morgan (2019)

Participants

Masha Bessmertnaya
Journalist, editor of the culture department of The Blueprint Magazine. A Monty Python fan since 2007, when her dad showed her, then a seventeen-year-old student of Maxim Gorky Literature Institute, the sketch Football Match for Philosophers on YouTube.

Photo by Alexander Kulikov

Anton Dolin
Film critic. Graduate of the Philology Department of Moscow State University. Editor-in-chief of The Art of Cinema magazine, columnist at Meduza, author of the Radio Dolin YouTube channel. He has worked with radio stations Ekho Moskvy, Mayak and Serebryany Dozhd. He has been a regular columnist on the programme Evening Urgant. Author of 12 books on cinema.

Photo by Matt Amato

Terry Gilliam
Film director, screenwriter and artist. After his collaboration with Monty Python, he has directed such films as Brazil (1985), The Adventures of Baron Munchausen (1988), The Fisher King (1991), 12 Monkeys (1995), Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (1998) and The Brothers Grimm (2005). Winner of numerous international film festivals as well as Oscar, BAFTA and Golden Globe awards. He has staged Berlioz' operas The Damnation of Faust (2011) and Benvenuto Cellini (2014) at the English National Opera.

Oleg Koronny
Comic, scriptwriter, director. Co-creator of the show Oh No, Not That! on the w-o-s.ru website (2011-2014) and Arzamas.academy editor-in-chief (2014-2018).

Shashi Martynova
Translator, editor, publisher, writer. Multiple finalist for the Master Translation Award, winner of the Nora Gal Award for Translation, finalist for the Yasnaya Polyana Prize, winner of the Andrei Belyi Prize. Her translations include books by J.M. Coetzee, Stephen Fry, Flann O’Brien and many others.

Maxim Nemtsov
Translator, editor, publisher. Creator of The Language Shop Digital Library. Winner of the Nora Gal Award for Translation, multiple finalist of the Master Translation Award, the first translator of Bob Dylan’s prose into Russian. Translated works by Jack Kerouac, Leonard Cohen, Charles Bukowski, Thomas Pynchon and many others.

Schedule

22 Feb

19:30

Monty Python and the Holy Grail
1975, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones, Great Britain
91 min., English with Russian subtitles., DCP, 18+
Welcoming words by Kirill Adibekov, curator of the V–A–C film programme

23 Feb

13:00

And Now For Something Completely Different
1971, Ian MacNaughton, Great Britain
88 min., English with Russian subtitles., DCP, 18+
Introduction: Oleg Koronnyi

16:30

Terry Gilliam talks to film critic Anton Dolin (+Q&A) 18+
Anton Dolin will talk to the director online from the GES-2 Kino Cinema. You can join the conversation by attending in person, or register for the online version and receive a link to the live broadcast. Seating is limited. Simultaneous interpretation into Russian.

19:30

Monty Python’s Life of Brian
1979, Terry Jones, Great Britain
94 мин., English with Russian subtitles., DCP, 18+
Introduction: Masha Bessmertnaya

24 Feb

19:30

Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life
1983, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones, Great Britain, USA
107 мин., English with Russian subtitles., DCP, 18+
+ a short by Terry Gilliam Crimson Permanent Assurance
Introduction: Shashi Martynova and Maksim Nemtsov

You can find out more information about the adaptation of events in the Accessibility page
  • Open captioning
/

Киномарафон Monty Python

Дата:
22–24 фев 2022
18+

Четыре главных фильма британской комик-группы, одна короткометражка и паблик-ток кинокритика Антона Долина с режиссером Терри Гиллиамом.

Программа проводится при поддержке Отдела культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве

Киномарафон Monty Python проходит в рамках проекта «Невероятные серии»: фильмы можно смотреть в «ГЭС-2 Кино» как с утра до вечера (благодаря многочисленным авторским интермеццо), так и отдельными сериями — выбор за зрителем.

Monty Python — одновременно квинтэссенция британскости и ее самокритика. Двое выпускников Оксфорда, трое — Кембриджа, и один американец (да и тот Гиллиам) смотрят на общественное устройство изнутри. Имперская бравада выворачивается стойкостью и оптимизмом вопреки всему, а классовые предрассудки соседствуют с разоблачением аристократии и верой в исключительную силу дебатов.

Начав с коротких и убийственно смешных скетчей, пародирующих британскую повседневность и позже составивших фильм «А теперь нечто совсем иное» («Венгерский разговорник», «Песня дровосека», «Мертвый попугай», «Самооборона против свежих фруктов», «Адские бабули» и другие), Monty Python всего за десятилетие проделали путь от национальных мифов («„Монти Пайтон“ и Священный Грааль») и апокрифов («Житие Брайана») непосредственно к уделу человеческому («Смысл жизни по „Монти Пайтон“»). Последний, несмотря на тяготение к мюзиклу, был своего рода возвращением к скетчевому формату. Именно эти четыре фильма, включая дополняющую их короткометражку Терри Гиллиама («„Кримсон“: страхование или жизнь»), и составляют канон Monty Python. Остальное — режиссерские и актерские работы, мюзиклы, книги, авторизованные DVD-издания и, конечно же, серии «Летающего цирка „Монти Пайтон“» — ответвления, которым можно посвятить целый сезон. Что и сделал Британский киноинститут, широко отпраздновавший 50-летие коллектива осенью 2019 года.

Спустя полвека Monty Python возвращаются в центр внимания, чтобы напомнить, что такое склонный к глупости фильм, как устроить телешоу шантажистов и почему важно оставаться невидимыми.

Меня поражает, что комедию не принято считать серьезным кинематографом. То, что мы делали, местами было потрясающе революционно: некоторые приемы работы с форматом — практически Пиранделло, только в кино. Но никто об этом не пишет. «Это просто набор смешных скетчей — какие-то удачны, какие-то нет». Мы играли с форматом, меняя его, точно так же как и на телевидении, но не получили за это очков.

— Терри Гиллиам, из книги Дэвида Моргана Monty Python Speaks! (2019)

Участники

Мария Бессмертная
Журналистка, редактор отдела культуры The Blueprint. Поклонница Monty Python с 2007 года, когда ее папа показал ей, 17-летней студентке Литературного института им. Горького, запись скетча «Футбольный матч для философов» на YouTube.

Фото: Мэтт Амато

Терри Гиллиам
Кинорежиссер, сценарист, художник. После завершения сотрудничества с Monty Python снял такие фильмы, как «Бразилия» (1985), «Приключения барона Мюнхгаузена» (1988), «Король-рыбак» (1991), «12 обезьян» (1995), «Страх и ненависть в Лас-Вегасе» (1998), «Братья Гримм» (2005). Лауреат множества международных кинофестивалей, а также премий «Оскар», BAFTA и «Золотой глобус». Поставил оперы Берлиоза «Осуждение Фауста» (2011) и «Бенвенуто Челлини» (2014) в Английской национальной опере.

Фото: Александр Куликов

Антон Долин
Кинокритик. Выпускник филфака МГУ. Главный редактор журнала «Искусство кино», обозреватель Meduza, автор YouTube-канала «Радио Долин». Сотрудничал с радиостанциями «Эхо Москвы», «Маяк», «Серебряный Дождь». Вел постоянную рубрику в программе «Вечерний Ургант». Автор двенадцати книг о кино.

Олег Коронный
Комик, сценарист, режиссер. Один из создателей шоу «О нет! только не это!» на сайте w-o-s.ru (2011–2014), шеф-редактор Arzamas.academy (2014–2018).

Шаши Мартынова
Переводчик, редактор, издатель, писатель. Многократный финалист переводческой премии «Мастер», лауреат переводческой премии Норы Галь, финалист премии «Ясная Поляна», лауреат премии Андрея Белого. В ее переводах выходят книги Дж. М. Кутзее, Стивена Фрая, Флэнна О’Брайена и многих других.

Максим Немцов
Переводчик, редактор, издатель. Создатель электронной библиотеки «Лавка языков». Лауреат переводческой премии Норы Галь, многократный финалист переводческой премии «Мастер», первый переводчик прозы Боба Дилана на русский язык. В его переводах опубликованы произведения Джека Керуака, Леонарда Коэна, Чарльза Буковски, Томаса Пинчона и многих других.

Расписание

22 фев

19:30

«Монти Пайтон» и Священный Грааль | Monty Python and the Holy Grail
1975, Терри Гиллиам | Terry Gilliam, Терри Джонс | Terry Jones, Великобритания
91 мин., англ. с рус. субт., DCP, 18+
Приветствие: Кирилл Адибеков, куратор кинопрограмм фонда V–A–C

23 фев

13:00

А теперь нечто совсем иное | And Now For Something Completely Different
1971, Иэн МакНотон | Ian MacNaughton, Великобритания
88 мин., англ. с рус. субт., DCP, 18+
Вступительное слово: Олег Коронный

16:30

Беседа кинокритика Антона Долина с режиссером Терри Гиллиамом (+ Q& A) 18+
Антон Долин поговорит с режиссером онлайн из Кинотеатра «ГЭС-2 Кино». Вы можете принять участие в беседе лично, придя в зал, либо зарегистрироваться на онлайн-версию и получить ссылку на трансляцию. Количество мест в зале ограничено. Синхронный перевод на русский язык.

19:30

Житие Брайана по «Монти Пайтон» | Monty Python’s Life of Brian
1979, Терри Джонс | Terry Jones, Великобритания
94 мин., англ. с рус. субт., DCP, 18+
Вступительное слово: Мария Бессмертная

24 фев

19:30

Смысл жизни по «Монти Пайтон» | Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life
1983, Терри Гиллиам | Terry Gilliam, Терри Джонс | Terry Jones, Великобритания, США
107 мин., англ. с рус. субт., DCP, 18+
+ короткометражный фильм Терри Гиллиама «„Кримсон»: страхование или жизнь» | Crimson Permanent Assurance
Вступительное слово: Шаши Мартынова и Максим Немцов

Подробнее об адаптации мероприятий вы можете узнать в разделе Доступность
  • Субтитры
/