4 Dec 2021—13 Mar 2022

This series of lectures and talks is in response to the growing interest in emotional intelligence and the culture of self-help, which are based on a desire for personal growth, self-improvement and improvement in these areas. 

The name School of Emotional Health is ironic, since it makes no claim to teach anything or dictate new behavioural norms. It explores the infiltration of psychology into everyday life, the “psychologization” of global political rhetoric, the language of public and private organizations, as well as of the media. We want to explore the sources of interest in practices of mindfulness and emotional intelligence and how they seep into our ideas about love, family, friendship, and social morals.

The first part of the programme deals with both the psychological and socio-cultural background of the trend towards emotional intelligence and emotion management. The second part comprises a series of lectures on emotional health, affective work, the role of emotions in public life and gender aspects of emotionality. In the third block, we address emotions and gender roles, including stereotypes about male and female emotional patterns and their transformation in the context of gender fluidity. The fourth part of the programme focuses on the topic of emotions in the public sphere. It will examine how journalists, bloggers and other influentials have appropriated psychological language for their rhetoric.

The School of Emotional Health was partly conceived as an aid to understanding the artistic programme of the Santa Barbara season. Its protagonist, the Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson, considers one of the key functions of art to be its complex and intense emotional impact on the viewer. That is why awareness of the nuances associated with the world of emotions, affects and unconscious impulses, will help to better understand the artist’s intention and make the experience of art more vivid.

During the pandemic, many of us have had an opportunity to experience more intensely emotions and psychological states usually suppressed in everyday life. Many people turned to self-help practices, and the wellness industry responded with a burst of activity. Few people doubt the fact that taking care of mental health (your own and that of your loved ones) is an important and urgent matter. However, this “therapeutic” turn does not occur in vacuum. The trend towards “emotional literacy” was shaped under the influence of a number of ideological factors. The goal of this programme is to consider and analyze them.

— Alexandra Tumarkina, project curator

/

Место:ГЭС-2

Школа эмоционального здоровья

14 дек 2021–1 мар 2022

Серия лекций и бесед «Школа эмоционального здоровья» обязана своим появлением растущему интересу к теме эмоционального интеллекта и культуре селф-хелп, под которой подразумевают стремление к личностному росту, самосовершенствованию и связанные с этим знания.

Название «Школа эмоционального здоровья» скорее ироническое, проект ни в коем случае не претендует на то, чтобы чему-либо «научить» или навязать новые поведенческие нормы. Он исследует проникновение психологии в повседневную жизнь, «психологизацию» мировой политической риторики, языка государственных и частных организаций, а также медиа. Мы хотим изучить причины интереса к практикам осознанности и эмоциональному интеллекту и то, как они отражаются на представлениях о любовных, семейных, дружеских отношениях и этике общения в социуме.

Первая часть программы посвящена как психологическим, так и социокультурным предпосылкам тренда на эмоциональный интеллект и управление эмоциями. Во второй части речь пойдет об эмоциональном здоровье, техникам селф-хелп, аффективном труде. Участники третьего блока предлагают обратиться к эмоциям и гендерным ролям, в том числе стереотипам о мужских и женских эмоциональных паттернах и их трансформации в контексте гендерной флюидности. Четвертая часть посвящена теме эмоций в публичном поле: речь пойдет о проникновении языка психологии в риторику журналистов, блогеров и других лидеров мнений.

«Школа эмоционального здоровья» отчасти была задумана как вспомогательный инструмент для осмысления художественной программы сезона «Санта-Барбара». Ее протагонист, исландский художник Рагнар Кьяртанссон, считает сложное и интенсивное эмоциональное воздействие на зрителя одной из ключевых функций искусства. Именно поэтому знания о нюансах, связанных с миром эмоций и аффектов, неосознаваемых импульсов, помогут лучше понять замысел художника и сделают ярче сам опыт переживания искусства.

Иллюстрация: Аня Андреева

За время пандемии многие из нас получили возможность острее прочувствовать те эмоции, что обычно подавлялись в повседневной жизни. О селф-хелп-практиках задумались многие. То, что забота о психическом здоровье (своем и близких) — дело важное, вряд ли может вызвать у кого-то сомнения. Однако «терапевтический» поворот не происходит в вакууме. Тренд на «эмоциональную грамотность» сформировался под влиянием ряда идеологических факторов, проанализировать которые — задача этой программы.

— Александра Тумаркина, куратор проекта

/