When Gondola Engines Were Taken to Bits

Date:
4 Dec 2021–13 Mar 2022
Place:
Pump room
12+

Works by Russian artists that rethink carnival culture.

This exhibition mainly features new works by Russian artists, shown alongside a selection of works from the 1990s and 2000s. The show’s historical part explores how participants in a carnival can change how to present themselves through costumes and staged photographs. In 1990s Russia, these actions meant the previously unthinkable possibility of creating a new identity through a carnivalesque makeover.

When the New Academy interpreted the Metamorphoses of Apuleius, they used fantastical photo illustrations to bring up the liberating potential of ludic culture, addressing both the classic tradition and new technologies. The Golden Ass (1995) is considered to be the manifesto of neo-academism in Russia. This art movement, led by its ideologue Timur Novikov, announced its “path to the classics and beauty”, using novel techniques at the time, such as computer collage, photo processing and digital drawing.

Сoncept costumes by the Factory of Found Clothes are reflections of people’s inner world, their feelings and desires, hopes and fears. In her works, Gluklya (Natalia Pershina-Yakimanskaya) strives to return compassion to art and appoints the artist as a person’s assistant on the path of self-transformation. For her, Carnival is an empathy-generating opportunity to imagine onself in the place of another, a chance for the weak to find their voice and, with it, strength.

Gluklya and the Factory of Found Clothes (FFC), Language of Fragility Party (from the project The Carnival of the Oppressed Feelings), 2017
Courtesy of the artist

Yevgeny Antufyev shows a real fight in the exhibition space in a work that obeys the spectacle-driven rules of wrestling. Abstract concepts enter the arena to speak of contemporary humour and carnival culture, ready to kill each other in the name of justice and to satisfy the spectators' emotions.

In The Light of my Life*, Genda Fluid (Antonina Baever) translates into English one of the main songwriters of the 1990s, Arkady Slavorosov, the author of the eponymous hit written for Tatyana Bulanova. She attempts to see the lyrics from a different angle, raising the touching stories to a higher level.

In the work A Hundred Big Entrances Michel Portnoy explores the eponymous theatrical figure of speech. In this video, a performer keeps coming to the stage from behind a curtain, following and interpreting certain instructions that are being voiced. Every next instruction becomes more difficult and combines purely abstract notions and events from geography, history, sociology, psychology, and philosophy. The performer must switch artistic modes and move from between various territories as quickly as possible. This constant change of masks according to the game’s rules directly corresponds to the principles of carnival as formulated by M. M. Bakhtin.

The second work by Michael Portnoy is a short video Going** (18+). Its action is set in a bathroom during a house party (which we never see). Seven people visit the bathroom in succession. Whether they come there to escape a stultifying interaction, to empty their bladder, to moisturize, to vandalize, to scrub their tongue, or to open the floodgates of their heart, the bathroom serves as a portal for where their minds and bodies need to go. As Jasper Johns said, “Take an (x). Do something to it. Do something else to it.” This “doing something else” to a thing is one of the fundamental strategies of comedy, improvisation, invention, and, of course, of carnival. And this is also what Portnoy’s film is about. Dismantling a show into its component parts, the author shows us the “inner kitchen” of the performing arts.

Effigies of Tenuous Shape, a video work by Olga Chernysheva that focuses on what’s left at the end of urban celebrations, is a comment on the global pandemic, when any gathering of people is perceived as a threat.

The multi-part project by Ulyana Podkorytova Tamotka is a tribute to the folklore traditions of the Russian North (the Pomorye region that borders the Northern Ocean) and a contemporary tale about the future of nature and technology. The main character is dressed in wooden armour, reminiscent of ancient Russian architecture. She must perform an old Pomor spell to rouse the wind and restore the flow of a river, and she overcomes various obstacles on her path. The plot, comparable to modern superhero films, is inspired by the tales of the Pomor writers Stepan Pisakhov and Boris Shergin, and by the folk culture of the region, where traditions remain strong.

Ulyana Podkorytova. Támotka, 2021
Photo by Pavel Smirnov

Catfish — an opera performance for 10 vocalists and an installation Natalya Pshenichnikova is dealing with the concept of “fakeness”. The author discusses the daily encounter with distorted truth and the catfishing phenomenon — when somebody uses other people’s photos and false information to present themselves on the Internet and social networks as a different, more attractive person. Costumes for performers are provided by Alexander Petlyura, the artist who pioneered vintage performative fashion.

Spectators are invited to take part in the recreation of the Esc* performance by the artist Ellina Gennadievna: a collective run using VRchat virtual reality technologies. This artistic gesture was used by the Escape group in its project Disappearance in 2000 and by Jiří Kovanda in an action from 1978. The artists were escapists in the literal sense of the word, taking to their heels when anyone tried to make contact with them. Participation is by prior registration and requires access to a computer running Windows 7, 8.1 and 10 or by presence in the exhibition space.

In a dance performance Corn Alphabet dance artist Tatyana Gordeyeva and scientist and ecologist Igor Polsky give a reading of a play by the dramatist Pavel Pryazhko. The play tells of the generation of our grandmothers, the decline of village culture and migration from the countryside to cities. Through the performance, Gordeyeva and Polsky bring the viewer new means of communication without the use of words. The body becomes the bearer of various kinds of knowledge, creating a potential for self-rediscovery.

A dance installation Plyastzy by Valentina Lutsenko is a choreographic study of the phenomenon of clownery and performance in the early Middle Ages, when a high spiritual culture co-existed with a low, semi-pagan culture of mockery and laughter. The authors compose their own story about such performers and their art, constructing a modern equivalent by means of games, music, dance and installation.

Anna Semenova- Gantz and Maria Markina in their performative voice installation Choirning present a collective ritual that treats mourning as a new form of solidarity. The viewer can choose to be participant or observer. “Choirning” is a neologism that combines the words “chorus” and “mourning”. The performance gives space to feelings that have been excluded from the pure-positive orientation of modern social life. The authors of the voice installation propose the reinstatement of mourning in the public space in the form of a ritual.

When Gondola Engines Were Taken to Bits — A Carnival in Four Acts invites its participants to reflect on the contemporary relevance of the idea of carnival as a universal celebration, one in which familiar rules are turned upside down and everyone can express their individuality in meaningful collective rituals. The four acts of the title are: an exhibition, a street procession, a rave and a series of stand-up performances.

* Video art by Genda Fluid (Antonina Baever) and Ellina Gennadievna are presented on TV Samsung Neo QLED screens

** This work will be screened as part of the exhibition When Gondola Engines Were Taken to Bits on December 11, 13, 14, 18, January 5, 22, 29 and February 12 and 19 at 21:00. Admission for people over 18 years of age only

Water for the public programme participants is provided by Edis

/

Я моторы гондолы разбираю на части

Дата:
4 дек 2021–13 мар 2022
Место:
Насосная
12+

Произведения российских художников, посвященные теме переосмысления карнавальной культуры.

Выставка включает в себя новые работы российских художников и отдельные произведения тридцатилетней давности. Историческая часть исследует внешнюю репрезентацию — костюмы и постановочные фотографии, которые в России 1990-х обозначили для каждого прежде немыслимую возможность карнавального пересмотра собственной идентичности.

Интерпретируя «Метаморфозы» Апулея, Новая Академия в гротескных фотоиллюстрациях ставит вопрос об освободительном потенциале игровой культуры, обращенной и к античной традиции, и к новым технологиям. «Золотой осел» (1995) считается манифестом неоакадемизма. Художественное движение, идеологом которого был Тимур Новиков, провозгласило «курс на классику и красоту» с привлечением технических средств, новых для своего времени, вроде компьютерного коллажа или обработки фотографий и цифрового рисунка.

Концептуальные костюмы «Фабрики найденных одежд» — это отражения внутреннего мира людей, их чувств и желаний, страхов и надежд. В своих работах Глюкля (Наталья Першина-Якиманская) стремится вернуть сострадание в искусство и назначает художника помощником человека на пути самопреобразования. Для нее Карнавал — это рождающая чувство сопереживания возможность представлять себя на месте другого, шанс слабым обрести голос, а вместе в ним и силу.

Глюкля и Фабрика Найденных Одежд (ФНО). «Партия Языка Хрупкости» (из проекта «Карнавал Вытесненных Желаний»), 2017
Собственность художницы

Евгений Антуфьев показывает в пространстве экспозиции настоящий бой, устроенный по зрелищным законам рестлинга, в котором для рассказа о современной смеховой и карнавальной культуре на арену выходят абстрактные понятия, готовые убить друг друга во имя торжества справедливости и ради зрительских эмоций.

Дженда Флюид (Антонина Баевер) в проекте «Ясный мой свет»* по-авторски переводит на английский язык одного из главных поэтов-песенников 1990-х Аркадия Славоросова, сочинившего одноименный хит для Татьяны Булановой, и пытается взглянуть на эти тексты под иным углом, переводя трогательные истории в возвышенное измерение.

Майкл Портной в видео «Сто эффектных выходов» обыгрывает одноименный театральный троп. В видео перформер раз за разом выходит из-за кулис согласно озвученным инструкциям, по-своему интерпретируя предложенную ситуацию. Каждая следующая инструкция становится сложнее, в ней сочетаются абстрактные понятия и явления из географии, истории, социологии, психологии или философии. Задача перформера—максимально быстро переключать режимы и перемещаться между разными территориями. Эти резкие смены масок, продиктованные правилами игры, непосредственно соотносятся с принципами карнавальности, которые в своих работах сформировал М. М. Бахтин.

Вторая работа Майкла Портнова — фильм «Отлучиться»** (18+). Действие происходит во время домашней вечеринки, которую нам не показывают. Семь человек поодиночке посещают туалет. За чем бы они ни отлучались (скрыться от пустой болтовни, облегчиться, увлажнить кожу, нарочно сломать что-то, почистить рот или излить душу), это привычное пространство становится особым порталом, куда стремятся их мысли и тела. Художник Джаспер Джонс однажды сказал: «Возьмите это. Сделайте что-нибудь с этим. Сделайте еще что-нибудь с этим». Именно это «еще что-нибудь» лежит в основе комедии, импровизации, изобретательства и, конечно, карнавала. Разбирая спектакль на составляющие, автор показывает нам «внутреннюю кухню» перформативных искусств.

Видеоработа Ольги Чернышевой «Отображения тонкого вида» посвящена тому, что остается после окончания городских празднеств, и является комментарием к теме глобальной пандемии, во время которой любое скопление людей воспринимается как угроза.

Многосоставный проект Ульяны Подкорытовой «Тáмотка» — это дань уважения фольклорным традициям Русского Севера и современная сказка о будущем природы и технологий. Главная героиня облачена в деревянную броню из лемеха, напоминающую о древнерусской архитектуре. Она должна произнести старое поморское заклинание, чтобы вызвать ветер и восстановить течение реки, и преодолевает различные препятствия, возникающие на ее пути. Сюжет, напоминающий современные фильмы о супергероях, вдохновлен сказками поморских писателей Степана Писахова и Бориса Шергина и народной культурой региона, который еще хранит свои традиции.

Ульяна Подкорытова.«Táмотка», 2021
Фото: Павел Смирнов

Понятию фейка посвящена инсталляция и перформанс-опера для 10 вокалистов и электроники Catfish Наталии Пшеничниковой. Автор рассуждает о ежедневном столкновении с искаженной правдой и в частности рассматривает культурно-социальный феномен кэтфишинга, когда человек в интернете и социальных сетях при помощи чужих фото и ложной информации выдает себя за другую, более привлекательную личность. Костюмы для исполнителей представлены Александром Петлюрой — художником, который первым превратил винтажную моду в перформативную практику.

Зрители мультимедийной интерактивной инсталляции Esc* Эллины Геннадьевны примут участие в воссоздании перформанса—коллективного бега— при помощи технологий виртуальной реальности VRchat. Такой художественный жест использовали российская арт-группа Escape в проекте «Исчезновение» 2000 года и чешский художник Иржи Кованда в своей акции 1978 года. Они были эскапистами в прямом смысле слова и обращались в бегство при любых попытках вступить с ними в контакт. Присоединиться к коллективной сессии можно по предварительной регистрации: онлайн при наличии компьютера с видеокартой на базе операционной системы Windows (7, 8.1 и 10), либо из пространства выставки.

Танцевальный перформанс «Кукурузная азбука» — это пьеса Павла Пряжко в прочтении танц-художницы Татьяны Гордеевой и ученого-эколога Игоря Польского. В пьесе рассказывается о поколении наших бабушек, о конце деревенской культуры и уходе жителей деревень в города. В рамках перформанса с помощью игровых ситуаций танц-художница и ученый предлагают зрителю новые сценарии общения без помощи слов. В них тело становится носителем различного рода знаний и появляется возможность открыть заново самого себя.

Танц-инсталляция «Плясцы» Валентины Луценко представляет собой хореографическое исследование феномена скоморошества в раннем Средневековье, когда высокая духовная культура сосуществовала с низким, языческим, смеховым и развлекательным. Авторы сочиняют свою собственную сказку, пересобирая образ современного скомороха с помощью игры, музыки, танца и инсталляции

Перформативная голосовая инсталляция Анны Семеновой-Генц и Марии Маркиной «Хоревание» исследует горевание как новую форма солидарности, где зритель может выбрать роль участника или остаться наблюдателем в коллективном ритуале. Хоревание —неологизм, составленный из слов «хор» и «горевание», —это перформанс чувств, которые изгнаны из современной общественной жизни, направленной на жизнеутверждающий позитив. Авторы голосовой инсталляции предлагают вернуть горевание в публичное пространство, представив его в форме ритуала.

Проект «Я моторы гондолы разбираю на части. Карнавал в четырех действиях» предлагает участникам поразмышлять над тем, насколько в современном контексте уместна идея карнавальности как всеобщего празднования, в котором привычные правила перевернуты с ног на голову и каждый может выразить индивидуальность в значимых коллективных ритуалах. Четыре действия, упомянутые в названии, — это выставка, уличная процессия, рейв и серия стендап-выступлений.

* Видеоработы Дженды Флюид (Антонины Баевер) и Эллины Геннадьевны представлены на экранах ТВ Samsung Neo QLED

** Эта работа будет демонстрироваться на выставке «Я моторы гондолы разбираю на части» 11, 13, 14, 18 декабря, 5, 22, 29 января, 12 и 19 февраля в 21:00. Вход только для аудитории 18+

Вода для участников публичной программы предоставлена Edis

/