Vladimir Rannev. Tuning

Date:
from 8 Apr
6+
Project: 

Vladimir Rannev’sTuning is composed of 115 final notes taken from 115 musical works of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Rannev’s Tuning is founded on a paradox. We are taught to value musical compositions of the Romantic era, which stretches from Mozart to Maler, for their inimitability and the uniqueness of their artistic ideas. Yet a common thread runs through all these compositions—their final notes. And although one would hardly argue final notes to lack signs of authorial will, fantasy, or inspiration, we nevertheless tend to expect one and the same thing from them: a major or minor chord in a limited number of dynamics, registers, and timbres. This is how mechanisms of collective memory function, endowing all of us with a symbolic language of perception, the ability to distinguish between sense and nonsense.

One way of understanding the history of music might be to regard it as a gradual tuning of the collective auditory experience. Relatedly, the history of humanity can be understood as a gradual attunement of people to one another as well as to that imperceptible thing which, as Egor Letov sang, “is not to be heard by ears, not to be understood by the mind.” In the words of Vladimir Rannev, “the final note is found on the border of the attainable, after which there is only silence.”

Image by Anya Todich

Vladimir Rannev (Moscow, 1970) is a composer. He graduated from the Rimsky-Korsakov Saint Petersburg State Conservatory and the Cologne University of Music. Rannev won the Sergey Kuryokhin Award in 2013 (for his 2012 opera, Two Acts), the Casta Diva Russian Opera Award in 2017, and a Golden Mask National Theatre Award in 2019 (his 2017 opera Prose won him the award for Best Composer). In 2019, Rannev took part in the DK Zattere project with his sound installation, Kitezh (V–A–C Zattere, Venice). In collaboration with Marina Alekseeva, Rannev is the author the installations In Chocolate (2019), Ready to Repeat (2019), and The Whole Shebang (2020).

Audio engineer: Andrey Titov-Vrublevsky

Владимир Раннев. Настройка

Дата:
с 8 апр
6+
Проект: 

Звуковая инсталляция состоит из 115 финальных нот, позаимствованных Владимиром Ранневым из 115 музыкальных сочинений XVIII–XIX вв.

«Настройка» основана на парадоксе. Мы ценим музыку классико-романтической традиции, от Моцарта до Малера, за неповторимость каждого сочинения и уникальность каждой творческой идеи. Но и в этих произведениях есть общий знаменатель: итог, конечный пункт всякого движения и музыкального повествования. Хотя никому не придет в голову, что заключительные ноты лишены признаков авторской воли, фантазии и вдохновения, обычно мы ожидаем от них примерно одного и того же: мажорного или минорного трезвучия в скромном наборе динамических, регистровых и тембровых вариантов. Эти ожидания почти всегда сбываются — и не по вине композиторов. Так устроен механизм коллективной памяти, который наделяет нас символическим языком восприятия, способностью различать смысл и бессмыслицу.

Можно сказать, что в какой-то степени вся история музыки — это последовательная настройка коллективного слухового опыта. Историю человечества в таком случае можно трактовать как последовательную настройку людей друг на друга и еще на то неуловимое, что, как пел Егор Летов, «ушами не услышать, мозгами не понять». По словам Владимира Раннева, «последняя нота располагается на границе постижимого, потому что дальше — тишина».

Фото: Аня Тодич

Владимир Раннев (Москва, 1970) — композитор, окончил Санкт-Петербургскую государственную консерваторию им. Н.А. Римского-Корсакова и Кельнскую высшую школу музыки. Лауреат Гран-при премии Сергея Курёхина (за оперу «Два акта», 2013), а также российской оперной премии Casta Diva (2017) и Национальной театральной премии «Золотая Маска» (номинация «Лучшая работа композитора», 2019) за оперу «Проза». В 2019 году с саунд-инсталляцией «Китеж» принимал участие в проекте «ДК „Дзаттере“ 19–20» (V–A–C Zattere, Венеция). В соавторстве с Мариной Алексеевой создал тотальные инсталляции «В шоколаде» (2019), «Можем повторить» (2019) и «Все включено» (2020).

Аудиоинженер: Андрей Титов-Врублевский