Oleg Gudachev. Archipelago

Date:
from 8 Apr
Place:
Pump room
6+
Project: 

The invisible islands out of which the Saint Petersburg-based composer, theorist, and improviser Oleg Gudachev has composed his Archipelago are soundscapes recorded at different ends of the earth. Archipelago’s two main “islands” are an eight-channel audio-recording of the largest hydroelectric power station on earth—the Three Gorges Dam in China—and a six-channel recording of the sound of New York City which features a solo for a slowed down police siren.

Archipelago is Gudachev’s first venture into the genre of sound installation. Previously, he has typically composed dramaturgical works that unfold in time and have clearly distinguishable beginnings, middles, and ends. This makes Archipelago unusual in as far as it can be listened to from any moment, and as many times as one likes.

Фото: Аня Тодич

For Gudachev, Tuning is a natural continuation of many years of experimentation with spatial music—a genre founded on the interaction of sound and concrete spaces. Gudachev features here as both a composer and a multi-instrumentalist, working at the juncture of acoustic and electronic music to produce a work that is almost symphonic in its complexity and volumes.

Oleg Gudachev (Leningrad, 1988) is a composer and improvisational multi-instrumentalist. He graduated with a degree in Composition from the Rimsky-Korsakov Saint Petersburg State Conservatory (2014) and is a post-graduate student at the Vaganova Ballet Academy. He is a co-founder and the artistic director of the {instead} ensemble musical collective. In 2020, he was resident artist at HELLERAU — European Centre for the Arts and the winner of the Aksenov Family Foundation’s Russian Music 2.0 prize. He has written the music for productions at many Russian theatres, including the Alexandrinskiy Theatre in Saint Petersburg and Moscow’s Tovstonogov Bolshoi Drama Theatre.

Audio engineer: Andrey Titov-Vrublevsky

Олег Гудачёв. Архипелаг

Дата:
с 8 апр
Место:
Насосная
6+
Проект: 

Олег Гудачёв собрал свой «Архипелаг» — это звуковые ландшафты, записанные в разных концах земного шара.

Два главных «острова» — восьмиканальная аудиозапись работы крупнейшей в мире гидроэлектростанции «Три ущелья» в Китае и шестиканальный городской ландшафт Нью-Йорка с многократно замедленным соло полицейской сирены.

«Архипелаг» — первый для Гудачёва опыт работы в жанре звуковой инсталляции, которую можно слушать сколько угодно и с любого момента. Такая ситуация непривычна для композитора, который, как правило, строит драматургию произведения, развернутого во времени и имеющего четко выраженные начало, середину и конец.

Фото: Аня Тодич

«Настройки» становятся для автора «Архипелага» органичным продолжением многолетних экспериментов с пространственной музыкой — жанром, основанным на взаимодействии звука с конкретным пространством. Гудачёв выступает здесь одновременно и как композитор, и как исполнитель-мультиинструменталист, балансируя на стыке акустической и электронной музыки и добиваясь почти что симфонического по сложности и объему звукового рельефа.

Олег Гудачёв (Ленинград, 1988) — композитор, импровизатор-мультиинструменталист. Выпускник композиторского факультета Санкт-Петербургской государственной консерватории имени Н.А. Римского-Корсакова (2014) и аспирантуры Академии русского балета им. А. Я. Вагановой (2018). Сооснователь и художественный руководитель коллектива {instead} ensemble. Композитор-резидент Европейского центра искусств Хеллерау (2020). Лауреат программы Aksenov Family Foundation «Русская музыка 2.0» (2020). Автор музыки к спектаклям Александринского театра, БДТ им. Товстоногова и других российских театров.

Аудиоинженер: Андрей Титов-Врублевский