The Monty Python film marathon. Animation workshop. Open call

Date:
8–20 Feb 2022
Place:
online
18+
Project: 
Project: 

GES-2 House of Culture and The Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow invite professional animators to participate in the online workshop with Sophie Koko.

The two-day workshop is held within the Monty Python film marathon (as part of the Extraordinary Series). It will be delivered online by Sophie Koko, animation director working in London. Her film Slug Life won awards at SXSW, Ottawa and GLAS Animation festival. Sophie has made short films for Adult Swim, MTV, Hulu, FX, Vice and, most recently, the BBC and BFI. She is currently developing an animated TV series with Sony Pictures Animation.

The workshop is aimed at animators or illustrators who have eхperience of working in Photoshop. During the first day, Sophie will talk about her experience as an independent filmmaker in the animation industry, will share tips and techniques she uses in Photoshop, and assign homework to the participants. On the second day of the workshop, the participants will be divided into smaller groups, each of which will be given a 60-minute slot. During that time they will be able to discuss their homework or their other films with Sophie and ask her any questions about her techniques or animation in general.

The workshop will be held in English without translation.

If you would like to participate, please fill in the online questionnaire and application form at the links below. Candidates will be selected by Sophie Koko and staff of The V–A–C Foundation and The Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow. The organizers guarantee that the policy of equal opportunities and non-discrimination will be respected during the selection process.

Dates

Application deadline — 20 February

Announcement of results — 20–23 February

Workshop — 26–27 February:
— Session 1 — 26 February, 11:00 — 18:00 (Moscow time)
— Session 2 — 27 February, 11:00 — 18:00 (Moscow time)

Conditions for participation

The workshop is intended for people over the age of 18 with a good knowledge of the English language (Upper-Intermediate or higher).

You must be a professional animator or illustrator and have eхperience of working in Photoshop.

You must have a drawing tablet and Photoshop CC 2018 or above.

You are committed to attend both days of the workshop and have clear understanding of why you need to participate.

The application form must be printed, completed, signed and sent as a scanned copy (PDF format) or as a clear photograph (JPG format) to mp@v-a-c.org.

If you have any questions, please write to mp@v-a-c.org.

Кино­мара­фон Monty Python. Семинар для ани­ма­то­ров. Опен-колл

Дата:
8–20 фев 2022
Место:
онлайн
18+

Дом культуры «ГЭС-2» и Отдел культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве объявляют набор участников онлайн-семинара Софи Коко для аниматоров.

Двухдневный онлайн-семинар по анимации пройдет в рамках киномарафона Monty Python (часть проекта «Невероятные серии»). Ведущая — британский режиссер-аниматор Софи Коко, автор фильма «Жизнь слизняка» (Slug Life), получившего награды кинофестиваля SXSW, Международного фестиваля анимационного кино в Оттаве и фестиваля анимации GLAS. Софи снимала короткометражные фильмы для телеканалов и платформ Adult Swim, MTV, Hulu, FX, Vice и совсем недавно для BBC и BFI, а в настоящее время работает над созданием анимационного телесериала совместно с Sony Pictures Animation.

Семинар предназначен для профессиональных аниматоров или иллюстраторов — опытных пользователей Photoshop. В первый день Софи Коко расскажет о своем опыте в качестве независимого режиссера, поделится советами и приемами работы в Photoshop, и даст домашнее задание. Во второй день участники разделятся на небольшие группы, каждая из которых получит 60-минутный слот для общения с ведущей: в это время можно будет обсудить с ней выполненное домашнее задание либо другие свои фильмы и задать Софи любые вопросы о ее технике или об анимации в целом.

Семинар пройдет на английском языке; перевод не предусмотрен.

Если вы хотите принять участие, пожалуйста, заполните анкету и заявку по ссылкам ниже. Отбор кандидатов проведут Софи Коко, а также сотрудники фонда V–A–C и Отдела культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве. Организаторы гарантируют соблюдение политики равных возможностей и недискриминации в процессе отбора.

Даты проведения

Прием заявок — 8–20 февраля

Объявление результатов — 20–23 февраля

Проведение семинара — 26–27 февраля:
— сессия 1 — 26 февраля, 11:00–18:00 (московское время)
— сессия 2 — 27 февраля, 11:00–18:00 (московское время)

Условия участия

В семинаре могут участвовать люди старше 18 лет, уверенно владеющие английским языком (уровень Upper-Intermediate или выше).

Необходимо быть профессиональным аниматором или иллюстратором, опытным пользователем Photoshop.

Для участия понадобится планшет для рисования с установленным на нем Photoshop CC 2018 или выше.

Подавая заявку, вы должны быть готовы посетить обе сессии семинара.

Заявку необходимо распечатать, заполнить, подписать и прислать в отсканированном виде (в формате PDF) или в виде четкой фотографии (в формате JPG) по адресу mp@v-a-c.org.

Если у вас есть вопросы, пожалуйста, пишите на mp@v-a-c.org