Santa Barbara – A Living Sculpture by Ragnar Kjartansson

Date:
4 Dec 2021–13 Mar 2022
Place:
Prospekt
Season: 

The project by Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson takes the form of a living sculpture, created for the GES-2 House of Culture.

The first American soap opera in Russia and the longest in the history of its television, Santa Barbara heralded a cultural phenomena of the post-Soviet space of the 1990s: the influx of imported melodramas. The population entered the unsettling world of consumer culture through Santa Barbara, relying on the emotional experience they acquired watching it. The serial as a phenomenon has arguably played a major role in the cultural history of contemporary Russia.

The artistic method of Ragnar Kjartansson revolves around theatricality and ritual and their common feature — repetition and playback. His works include performances, films, musical works, paintings and drawings. In his new creation, Kjartansson combines his interest in exploring the role of the past in the present with the restaging of scores and scripts to conjure up the experience of emotional symbols and attachments.

With this monumental work, Ragnar Kjartansson pays homage to Russian culture and its passion for the ability of art, fiction and theatre to convey emotions. Re-staging a fundamental part of the 1990s social and cultural landscape produces a collectively constructed, live history painting.

– Francesco Manacorda, artistic director of V–A–C Foundation

Under Kjartansson’s direction, a professional film crew headed by director Ása Helga Hjörleifsdóttir will stage, shoot and release about 100 episodes of the soap opera in Russian. The shooting of each episode needs to be completed in a day. Actors (professionals and amateurs) will work as though they were in a theatre: all the scenes will be shot in a single take. The sets, costumes and props of each episode reproduce those used in the original serial.

By re-shooting series after series without stopping at a venue open to the public, Kjartansson will compose a kind of large-scale historical painting that turns into a live performative sculpture. The challenge of such a titanic endeavor is largely determined by Kjartansson’s interest in how situations and emotions are transformed over time, and how transformations can suddenly lead to the emergence of an emotional community.

Ragnar Kjartansson’s sketch for the Santa Barbara living sculpture

In the grandiose set, all the mechanisms of the theatre and film industry will function as a spectacular dynamic sculpture, synchronizing the past with the present and the future. Kjartansson’s Santa Barbara is also a reflection of the influence of fiction on history, modernity and reality. The pervasiveness of fabricated events, the multiplicity of pseudo-realities — all the signs of today’s mass media that are addressed in the performance become the starting point of the narrative of the Holy Barbarians programme.

Ragnar Kjartansson draws on the entire arc of art in his performative practice. The history of film, music, theatre, visual culture and literature find their way into his video installations, durational performances, drawing and painting. Pretending and staging become key tools in the artist’s attempt to convey sincere emotion and offer a genuine experience to the audience.
Kjartansson’s work has been widely exhibited. Recent solo exhibitions and performances have been held at the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Metropolitan Museum of Art New York, Barbican Art Gallery in London, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington DC, Reykjavik Art Museum, Palais de Tokyo in Paris, and New Museum in New York. Kjartansson represented Iceland at the Venice Biennale, and in 2013 his work was featured at the Biennale’s main exhibition, The Encyclopedic Palace. Kjartansson was born in 1976 in Reykjavík and studied at the Iceland Academy of the Arts and The Royal Academy, Stockholm.

Ragnar Kjartansson, Santa Barbara, 2021-22, durational performance
Director: Ása Helga Hjörleifsdóttir
Staging and production: Lorem Ipsum
Commissioned by V–A–C Foundation, Moscow
Courtesy of the artist, Luhring Augustine, New York and i8 Gallery, Reykjavik
Based on the series originally created by Bridget and Jerome Dobson
SANTA BARBARA Ⓒ 1984 Twentieth Century Fox Television, all rights reserved

Accessibility
You can find out more information about the adaptation of events in the Accessibility page
  • Audio description
  • Sign language interpreter
/

«Санта-Барбара». Живая скульптура Рагнара Кьяртанссона

Дата:
4 дек 2021–13 мар 2022
Место:
Проспект

Проект исландского художника Рагнара Кьяртанссона в формате живой скульптуры, созданный для Дома культуры «ГЭС-2».

Первая американская мыльная опера в России и самая долгая в истории ее телевидения, «Санта-Барбара» ознаменовала собой один из культурных феноменов постсоветского пространства 1990-х — приток импортных мелодрам. Население входило в шокирующий мир капитализма вместе с «Санта-Барбарой», опираясь на эмоциональный опыт, полученный во время ее просмотра. Вероятно, сериалы как явление действительно могли повлиять на культурную историю современной России.

Художественный метод Рагнара Кьяртанссона разворачивается вокруг театральности и ритуала и их общей черты — повторения и многократного воспроизведения. Он создает перформансы, фильмы, музыкальные произведения, картины и рисунки. В новой работе Кьяртанссон объединил свой интерес к исследованию роли прошлого в настоящем и к реконструкции событий через переживание эмоциональных символов и привязанностей.

Создавая это грандиозное произведение, Рагнар Кьяртанссон отдает дань уважения русской культуре и ее страсти к искусству, литературе и театру. Таким образом, пересъемка/реконструкция культового продукта 1990-х годов превращается в создание коллективной живой исторической картины.

— Франческо Манакорда, художественный директор фонда V–A–C

Под руководством Кьяртанссона в «ГЭС-2» профессиональная киногруппа во главе с режиссером Асой Хельгой Хьорлейфсдоттир поставит на русском языке, снимет и выпустит около 100 эпизодов теленовеллы. Съемки каждой серии должны уложиться в сутки. Актеры, профессионалы и любители, будут работать как в театре: все сцены снимаются с единственного дубля. Декорации, костюмы и реквизит каждого эпизода воспроизводят — с нюансами в духе излюбленной Кьяртанссоном импровизации — те, что были использованы в оригинальном сериале.

Без остановки переснимая серию за серией на открытой для зрителей площадке, Кьяртанссон пишет своего рода масштабное историческое полотно, которое превращается в живую перформативную скульптуру. В таком методе он видит художественную задачу. Во многом ее определил интерес Кьяртанссона к тому, как ситуации и эмоции трансформируются с течением времени, и к изменениям, способным внезапно привести к возникновению эмоциональной общности.

Эскиз Рагнара Кьяртанссона для живой скульптуры «Санта-Барбара»

Требующая титанического напряжения постановка будет реализована с присущими работам Кьяртанссона юмором, легкостью и готовностью принять любые условия, рожденные в несовершенстве ускоренного видеопроизводства. В грандиозных декорациях все механизмы театральной и киноиндустрии будут функционировать как зрелищная динамическая скульптура, синхронизируя прошлое с настоящим и будущим.

«Санта-Барбара» Рагнара Кьяртанссона — это еще и размышление о влиянии и соперничестве истории и современности, реальности и вымысла. Неоднозначность трактовок, сфабрикованные события, множественность псевдореальностей ­— все возникающие в перформансе приметы сегодняшних массмедиа становятся отправной отправной точкой программы «Святые Варвары, или Оба хуже».

Рагнар Кьяртанссон в своей практике использует различные художественные приемы и медиумы. Его видеоинсталляции, перформансы, рисунки и картины затрагивают историю кино, музыки, литературы. Работы Кьяртанссона созданы под влиянием классической драмы и театра, они эмоциональны, в них есть юмор. Подражание и театрализованная постановка становятся ключевыми инструментами художника для того, чтобы передать неподдельные чувства. Отличительной чертой практики Кьяртанссона является длительное повторение одних и тех же действий. Персональные выставки и перформансы Рагнара Кьяртанссона прошли в Художественном музее Штутгарта, Метрополитен-музее в Нью-Йорке, Художественной галерее Барбикан в Лондоне, Музее Хиршхорна и Саду скульптур в Вашингтоне, Художественном музее Рейкьявика, Дворце Токио в Париже и Новом музее в Нью-Йорке. В 2009 году он представлял Исландию на Венецианской биеннале, а в 2013 году его работы были показаны на главной выставке Биеннале.

Рагнар Кьяртанссон, Санта Барбара, 2021-22, продолженный перформанс
Режиссер: Аса Хельга Хьорлейфсдоттир
Постановка перформанса и производство: Lorem Ipsum
Работа создана по заказу и произведена фондом V–A–C, Москва
Предоставлено художником, галереей Luhring Augustine, Нью-Йорк, и галереей i8, Рейкьявик
Авторы оригинального сериала Бриджит и Джером Добсон
«САНТА-БАРБАРА» © 1984 Twentieth Century Fox Television. Все права защищены

Доступность
Подробнее об адаптации мероприятий вы можете узнать в разделе Доступность
  • Тифлокомментарий
  • Перевод на русский жестовый язык или на голос
/