Why is the workshop arranged this way

The work of the Atelier is based on the Reggio Emilia approach. One of the founders of this methodology was the psychologist and teacher Loris Malaguzzi. After World War II, he took the ideas of the people living in the Italian city of Reggio Emilia and shaped them into a new educational philosophy that later spread around the world.

The Reggio Emilia approach is based on the belief that every child is endowed with abilities and creative potential — adults just need to abandon strict rules and regulations and create conditions for self-expression and cognition. This is exactly what we do in the Atelier, where children and adults study together, communicate and create wonderful worlds.

Challenges

If a person is not accustomed to educational freedom, it is difficult for them to make their own choices, especially in an unfamiliar space. To develop their imagination and initiative, the Reggio Emilia approach proposes the use of “challenges” — an environment encouraging the child to engage in the creative process.

Many challenges are used in our Workshop: a variety of tools and materials are kept in plain sight, there are examples of what can be created, and our staff come up with something new every day. The approach is: Let the child take their time, give them time to become acquainted with the space. When they have an idea, give them the freedom to create how and what they wish. This helps not only to foster their imagination, but also to take responsibility for their choice, to become more autonomous and aware.

A great way of encouraging creativity is the example of an adult with the child who also explores the opportunities available, is a researcher just like the child,  and experiments with new materials and working methods.

Interaction

All the working areas of the Atelier’s workshop are in one location that you can through freely. Nearby you can have some fun in the amazing Forest. The neighbourhood creates an environment where you can study “complex, diverse, stable and changing relationships between people, the world of experience, ideas and many ways of expressing these ideas”, which helps a child understand the relationships between objects, phenomena and concepts existing in the world.

The role of the adult

In the Reggio Emilia pedagogical approach, an accompanying adult is seen as an equal partner to a child on the path to knowledge. As Malaguzzi put it, they are “not a watchman or a magician, but a reliable friend who knows how to disappear and appear at the right time”. The adult’s task is not just to believe in the child, but to convey their faith in them. Here are some aids to this process:

  • be an active listener, observing the child’s interests and their chosen methods of learning, and record their results and achievements;
  • become a resource, a “generator of opportunities”, so that they can turn to you if they need to. Help them in their “zone of proximal development” (to use the terminology of Lev Vygotsky).

What is the zone of proximal development?

The prominent Soviet psychologist Lev Vygotsky suggested that “every child has their own zone of proximal development (ZPD). This is something that a child already knows how to do together with an adult but is not yet able to do independently. These are the skills the child is ready to master in the near future. We waste our energy teaching a child something outside of their ZPD, since they do not have sufficient resources to assimilate the knowledge. And if we  propose that the child learn what they are already perfectly able to do, we slow down their development”.

  • Look at the world with open eyes, be the child’s accomplice while they explore the world, tune in to be amazed and delighted.
  • It is very important to communicate on an equal footing: it's better not to provide ready-made answers and solutions, but to appreciate children’s ideas and “mistakes”. The question is always more important than the answer, and the process is more important than the result.

Documentation

In the GES-2 Atelier we are certain that creativity is primarily a way of knowing yourself and the world around you. To help with the former, the Reggio Emilia approach envisages documentation — a way to register a child’s path as they explore the world. There are many types of documentation, including:

  • recordings of conversations with the child, their ideas and assumptions;
  • video, photo, audio recordings of the creative and cognitive process;
  • albums of the child’s works;
  • description of their explorative and creative projects.

Documentation is important for both the children and the adults accompanying them in the learning process.

For the adult, documentation is:

  • a way of monitoring the dynamics of the child’s development, noting their change of interests and small achievements;
  • a source of new ideas: they can look through the records and come across unexplored issues and unrealized projects;
  • an opportunity to better understand the child and their way of thinking.

For the child, documentation is:

  • an opportunity to feel the value of their efforts, proof that their ideas and results are important not only to them;
  • a way of making sense of the learning process and seeing one’s own path, which helps build successful learning strategies in the future;
  • the opportunity to learn how to structure information and get a sense of the passage of time.

Documentation is not simply an archive of children’s creativity, to which the family will return many years later in search of sentimental memories. It is a roadmap, a tool that will help a child and an adult move along a creative and educational path.

Marina Travyanova, Anastasia Krashennikova, Katya Porutchik

Почему мастерская устроена именно так

Работа Ателье основана на принципах реджио-педагогики. Одним из создателей методики был психолог и педагог Лорис Малагуцци, который после Второй мировой войны оформил идеи жителей итальянского города Реджио-Эмилия в новую педагогическую философию, позднее распространившуюся по всему миру.

Реджио-подход основан на вере в то, что каждый ребенок наделен способностями и творческим потенциалом, — нужно лишь отказаться от четких правил и инструкций и создать ему условия для самовыражения и познания. Именно так мы поступаем в Ателье, где дети и взрослые вместе учатся, общаются и создают удивительные миры.

Провокации

Если человек не привык к образовательной свободе, ему сложно делать самостоятельный выбор, особенно в незнакомом пространстве. Чтобы развивать фантазию и инициативу, реджио-педагогика использует «провокации» — среду, которая побуждает ребенка включиться в творческий процесс.

В мастерской множество таких провокаций: разнообразные инструменты и материалы хранятся на виду, вокруг — примеры того, что можно создать, и наши сотрудники придумывают что-то новое каждый день. Не торопите ребенка, дайте время познакомиться с пространством. Когда у него возникнет идея, предоставьте свободу творить так, как ему хочется. Это помогает не только развивать воображение, но и принимать ответственность за свой выбор, становиться более самостоятельным и осознанным.
Отличный способ побудить к творчеству — пример сопровождающего взрослого, который тоже изучает открывшиеся перед ним возможности, встает с ребенком в равную позицию исследователя и пробует новые материалы и приемы работы.

Взаимосвязи

Все рабочие зоны мастерской Ателье находятся в одном помещении, между ними можно свободно перемещаться, а рядом расположен удивительный Лес для игр. Это соседство создает среду, в которой возможно изучение «сложных, разнообразных, устойчивых и меняющихся отношений между людьми, миром опыта, идеями и многочисленными способами выражения этих идей», что помогает ребенку осознать взаимосвязи между объектами, явлениями и понятиями, существующими в мире.

Роль взрослого

В реджио-педагогике сопровождающий взрослый — это равноправный партнер ребенка на пути к знаниям: как сформулировал Малагуцци, «не сторож и не фокусник, а надежный друг, умеющий вовремя исчезать и появляться». Задача взрослого — не просто верить в ребенка, но передать ему свою веру. Вот что в этом поможет:

  • будьте активным слушателем, наблюдайте за интересами ребенка и способами обучения, которые он выбирает, отмечайте его результаты и достижения;
  • станьте ресурсом, «генератором возможностей», чтобы при необходимости он всегда мог обратиться к вам. Помогайте ему в его, по терминологии Льва Выготского, «зоне ближайшего развития».

Что такое зона ближайшего развития?

Выдающийся советский психолог Лев Выготский предположил, что «у каждого ребенка есть своя Зона Ближайшего Развития (ЗБР) — это то, что ребенок уже умеет делать вместе со взрослым, но еще не способен сделать самостоятельно. Именно эти умения ребенок готов осваивать в ближайшем будущем. Обучая ребенка тому, что находится вне его ЗБР, мы зря тратим силы, так как для усвоения знаний у него нет достаточного ресурса. А предлагая ребенку изучить то, что он и так прекрасно умеет сам, мы тормозим его развитие».

  • Смотрите на мир открыто, будьте для ребенка соучастником в его исследованиях, настройтесь на то, чтобы удивляться и радоваться.
  • Очень важно общаться на равных: не давать готовых ответов и решений, а ценить детские гипотезы и «ошибки». Вопрос всегда важнее ответа, а процесс важнее результата.

Документация

В Ателье «ГЭС-2» уверены, что творчество — это прежде всего способ познания окружающего мира и себя. Чтобы помочь в последнем, реджио-подход предусматривает документацию — фиксирование пути ребенка в исследовании мира. Видов документации множество, в том числе:

  • записи разговоров с ребенком, его идей и гипотез;
  • видео, фото, аудиозаписи творческого и познавательного процесса;
  • альбомы с работами ребенка;
  • описание его исследовательских и творческих проектов.

Документация важна и для детей, и для взрослых, которые сопровождают их в обучении.

Для взрослого документация — это:

  • способ проследить за динамикой развития ребенка, отметить смену его интересов и маленькие достижения;
  • источник новых идей: просматривая записи, можно обнаружить неисследованные вопросы и нереализованные проекты;
  • возможность лучше понять ребенка, его способ мышления.

Для ребенка документация — это:

  • возможность почувствовать ценность своих стараний, доказательство, что его идеи и результаты важны не только ему;
  • способ осмыслить процесс обучения, увидеть свою траекторию: это поможет выстраивать успешные учебные стратегии в будущем;
  • возможность научиться структурировать информацию и чувствовать течение времени.

Документация — не просто архив детского творчества, к которому семья вернется через много лет в поисках сентиментальных воспоминаний. Это дорожная карта, инструмент, который поможет ребенку и взрослому двигаться по творческому и образовательному пути.

Мария Травянова, Анастасия Крашенинникова, Катя Порутчик