The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland

Year:
2021
Language:
Russian
Pages:
148

The famous fairytale about dreams and wonders illustrated by Pavel Pepperstein.

Photo by Sofia Akhmetova

Pavel Pepperstein is an artist, writer, musical performer, art theorist, one of the founders of the “Inspection Medical Hermeneutics” group. Solo exhibitions of his work were held at the State Russian Museum, the Neuer Aachener Kuntsverein, the Fine Arts Museum in Basel, the Multi-Media Art Museum and the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art (both in Moscow). He is the author of the books Mythogenic Love of Castes (1999), Spring (2010), A Prague Night (2011) and The Age of Theme Parks (2017).

What if everything becomes like a dream? What if we crawl into our imagination and observe what goes on there? What if the rules by which everything exists suddenly vanish? Adults believe everything in our world is subject to strict laws, but you and I know that it only seems like that.

The story of Alice by Lewis Carroll is one of the most popular books in the world, and one of the most important for artist Pavel Pepperstein, who read and reread it countless times, effectively getting to know it by heart. This fairytale and Pepperstein are an ideal couple.

“The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland” is the third book published by V–A–C Press in its fairytale series, designed by contemporary Russian artists. The project appeals to the tradition of Soviet illustration, whose representatives not only illustrated children’s books but also played a critical role in their era’s artistic development.

Photo by Sofia Akhmetova

Alice was beginning to get very tired of sitting by her sister on the bank, and of having nothing to do: once or twice she had peeped into the book her sister was reading, but it had no pictures or conversations in it, `and what is the use of a book,' thought Alice `without pictures or conversation?'

– Andrey Silvestrov, head of the workshop

/

Приключения Алисы в Стране чудес

Год:
2021
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
148

Знаменитая сказка о чудесах и снах с рисунками Павла Пепперштейна.

Фото: Софья Ахметова

Павел Пепперштейн — художник, писатель, музыкальный исполнитель, теоретик искусства, один из основателей группы «Инспекция «Медицинская герменевтика». Его персональные выставки проходили в Государственном Русском музее, Новом Аахенском кунстферайне, Художественном музее Базеля, Мультимедиа Арт Музее (Москва), Музее современного искусства «Гараж». Автор книг «Мифогенная любовь каст» (1999), «Весна» (2010), «Пражская ночь» (2011), «Эпоха аттракционов» (2017).

Что если все вокруг станет похожим на сон? Что если забраться в наше воображение и понаблюдать, что там происходит? Что если вдруг исчезнут правила, по которым все существует? Взрослые думают, будто в нашем мире все подчинено строгим законам, но мы-то с тобой знаем — им только так кажется.

История об Алисе Льюиса Кэрролла — одна из самых популярных книг в мире и одна из самых важных для художника Павла Пепперштейна, который перечитывал ее бессчетное количество раз и практически выучил наизусть. Эта сказка и этот художник — идеальная пара.

«Приключения Алисы в Стране чудес» — третья книга V–A–C Press в серии сказок, которую оформляют современные российские художники. Проект обращается к традиции советской иллюстрации, представители которой не только занимались изданиями для детей, но и играли ключевую роль в художественном процессе своего времени.

Фото: Софья Ахметова

Алисе наскучило сидеть с сестрой без дела на берегу реки; разок-другой она заглянула в книжку, которую читала сестра, но там не было ни картинок, ни разговоров. «Что толку в книжке, — подумала Алиса, — если в ней нет ни картинок, ни разговоров?»

/