Painting and Experience in 15th Century Italy

Year:
2021
Language:
Russian
Pages:
264

A landmark work dedicated to the concept of the "period eye" and the connections between the visual style of the epoch and the social conditions of its development.

Michael Baxandall was an art historian. In 1951 he went to study Classics at Cambridge but soon moved to the English Literature faculty. He studied Italian language and literature at Pavia and attended the lectures of Hans Sedlmayr in Munchen. From 1958 he went to work in the Warburg Institute where he remained for a quarter of a century. Baxandall made a major contribution to the development of visual culture research.

The British art historian Michael Baxandall wrote “Painting and Experience in 15th Century Italy” in the summer of 1971 believing that he was writing a "textbook for undergraduate historians". However, his book led to a revolution in the humanities, from art history to visual anthropology and sociology.

Baxandall offers a theoretical model for image analysis taking into account the social and historical conditions of their creation. Instead of trying to describe the mentality, worldview, and cultural aspects, he seeks to understand how the everyday experience of the main art patrons and art dealers and the experience of others in the Quattrocento determined the development of painting and culture as a whole.

In the first chapter, the author explores the structure of the art trade in the 15th century based on contracts, letters, and reports, in the second he explains how visual skills from everyday life became crucial for the artist's style, and in the third he describes the basic instruments used by people of the 15th century to view images.

Photo by Sofia Akhmetova

The geometrical concepts of a gauger and the disposition to put them to work, sharpen a man’s visual sense of concrete mass. He will likely to be aware at a higher level of the character of Adam in Masaccio's Expulsion from Paradise as a compound of cylinders, or the figure of Mary in Masaccio's Trinity as a massive truncated cone, and so of the figure itself.

– Michael Baxandall

/

Живопись и опыт в Италии XV века: введение в социальную историю живописного стиля

Год:
2021
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
264

Знаковая работа, посвященная концепции «взгляда эпохи» и связям между изобразительным стилем эпохи и социальными условиями его развития.

Майкл Баксандалл — историк искусства. В 1951 году поступил на классическое отделение Кембриджа, но вскоре перевелся на отделение английской литературы. Изучал итальянский язык и литературу в Павии, слушал лекции Ханса Зедльмайра в Мюнхене, с 1958 года начал работу в Институте Варбурга, которая растянулась на четверть века. Баксандалл внес большой вклад в развитие исследований визуальной культуры.

Английский историк искусства Майкл Баксандалл написал «Живопись и опыт в Италии XV века» за лето 1971 года, полагая, что сочиняет «учебник для бакалавров-историков». Однако его книга совершила переворот в гуманитарных науках от искусствознания до визуальной антропологии и социологии.

Баксандалл предлагает теоретическую модель для анализа изображений, которая учитывает социальные и исторические условия их создания. Вместо попыток описать менталитет, мировоззрение и особенности культуры он стремится понять, как повседневный опыт основных заказчиков и покровителей искусства — купцов — и опыт других людей Кватроченто определили пути развития живописи и культуры в целом.

В первой главе автор исследует структуру торговли произведениями живописи в XV веке на материале контрактов, писем и отчетов, во второй – объясняет, как визуальные навыки из повседневной жизни становились определяющими для стиля художника, а в третьей – описывает базовые инструменты, при помощи которых люди XV века рассматривали изображения.

Фото: Софья Ахметова

Геометрические представления человека, привыкшего выполнять обмеры, и готовность применять их на практике обостряют визуальную чувствительность к конкретной массе. Вероятно, он будет отчетливее ощущать, что Адам в «Изгнании из Рая» Мазаччо состоит из цилиндров или что фигура Богородицы в «Троице» Мазаччо — это массивный усеченный конус, а следовательно, он отчетливее воспримет и саму фигуру.

– Майкл Баксандалл

/