On the Museum’s Ruins

Year:
2015
Language:
Russian
Pages:
432

A critique of the museum and the analysis of the rupture between postmodernism and modernism.

Douglas Crimp was a professor of art history at the University of Rochester, a critic and curator, from 1977 to 1990 he was an editor of the journal October. The author of texts on postmodernist art theory, institutional criticism and also of works on cultural and visual research.

The book “On the Museum’s Ruins” is a collection of essays written by the art critic Douglas Crimp between 1980 and 1989. Using as his examples works by artists like Robert Rauschenberg, Sherrie Levine, Richard Serra, and Marcel Broodthaers, he considers the paradigm of postmodernism and analyses the status of contemporary and classical art in the physical and discursive museum space.

In the five essays that make up the first section of the book entitled “Photography in the Museum”, Crimp explores the transition from modernism to postmodernism. In the three concluding essays he analyses three "original" museum-like institutions: the Cabinet of Curiosities of the Late Renaissance, the Fridericianum in Kassel, and the Old Museum in Berlin. The main idea is that the meaning of a work of art is formed in connection with the conditions of its institutional framing. Crimp studies the institutions themselves and how they represent history and how their own history is represented.

“On the Museum’s Ruins” is a collaborative project between Douglas Crimp and the artist Louise Lawler. The photographs of Lawler which accompany the texts or are arranged separately are intended not just to illustrate, but also to supplement Crimp's ideas.

The term ‘postmodernism’ described a situation in which both the present and the past could be stripped of any and all historical determinations and conflicts. Art institutions widely embraced this position, using it to re-establish art – even so-called postmodernist art- as autonomous, universal, timeless.

– Douglas Crimp

/

На руинах музея

Год:
2015
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
432

Статьи известного американского искусствоведа, посвященные критике музея и анализу постмодернизма.

Даглас Кримп (1944 – 2019) — профессор истории искусства Университета Рочестера, критик, куратор, редактор журнала October с 1977 по 1990 год. Автор текстов о постмодернистской теории искусства, институциональной критике и работ в области культурных и визуальных исследований.

В книге «На руинах музея» собраны статьи Дагласа Кримпа, написанные с 1980 по 1989 год. На примере работ Роберта Раушенберга, Шерри Левин, Ричарда Серры и Марселя Бротарса он рассматривает парадигму постмодернизма и анализирует статус современного и классического изобразительного искусства в физическом и дискурсивном пространстве музея.

В пяти работах, которые составляют первый раздел книги «Фотография в музее», Кримп исследует переход от модернизма к постмодернизму. В трех заключительных — анализирует три «первоначальных» музейных института: кабинет редкостей Позднего Возрождения, Фридерицианум в Касселе и Старый музей в Берлине. Основной тезис этих статей заключается в том, что смысл произведения искусства формируется в связи с условиями его институционального «обрамления». Кримп изучает сами институты, то, как они репрезентируют историю и как репрезентируется их собственная история.

«На руинах музея» — совместный проект Дагласа Кримпа и художницы Луизы Лолер. Сделанные ею фотографии, которые сопровождают тексты или расположены отдельно, предназначены не только для иллюстрации, но и для дополнения идей Кримпа.

Понятие «постмодернизм» описывало ситуацию, в которой как настоящее, так и прошлое могут быть лишены любых исторических детерминаций и конфликтов. Художественные институции широко поддержали эту позицию, воспользовавшись ей, чтобы вновь сделать искусство — пусть даже так называемое постмодернистское искусство — автономным, универсальным и вневременным.

– Даглас Кримп

/