On Collectors and Collecting

Year:
2018
Language:
Russian
Pages:
104

Considerations on the phenomenon of collection-eer-ing.

Walter Benjamin was a philosopher and art theorist. His essay “The Work of Art in the Era of Mechanical Production” became crucial to understanding the new conditions for the presence of art in industrial society.

The figure of the collector, in the opinion of the German philosopher Walter Benjamin, became one of the defining figures for the nineteenth century and for our contemporary era. A passionate collector himself, Benjamin was convinced that each collector represents a special form of grasping history and the material world close to the Marxist concept of historical materialism.

Three of Benjamin’s texts are collected in the book “On Collectors and Collecting”, two of which – the programmatic essay “Edward Fuchs: Collector and Historian” and an excerpt from his “Arcades” opus – are published in Russian for the first time.

Benjamin’s “Arcades” project, in which he strived to research the origins of the contemporary era, was undertaken over many years. The work was not completed and consists of a set of quotations, comments and extracts in several thematic sections (the so-called ‘convolutes’). One of them, convolute “N” under the title of “Collector” is presented in our edition.

Perhaps," Benjamin writes, "the most deeply hidden motive of the person who collects could be described this way: he takes up the struggle against dispersion. Right from the start, the great collector is struck by the confusion, by the scatter in which the things of the world are found.

– Walter Benjamin

/

О коллекционерах и коллекционировании

Год:
2018
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
104

Размышления философа о феномене коллекциониро­ва­ния.

Вальтер Беньямин (1892 – 1940) — философ и теоретик искусства, чье эссе «Произведение искусства в эпоху его технической воспроизводимости» стало определяющим для осмысления новых условий бытования искусства в индустриальном обществе.

Фигура коллекционера, по мнению Вальтера Беньямина, стала одной из определяющих как для девятнадцатого столетия, так и для современности в целом. Страстно увлеченный собирательством, Беньямин был убежден, что каждый коллекционер имеет особый тип восприятия истории и вещного мира, близкий к марксистской концепции исторического материализма.

В книгу «О коллекционерах и коллекционировании» вошли три текста Вальтера Беньямина, два из которых – программное эссе «Эдуард Фукс, коллекционер и историк» и фрагмент из «Пассажей» впервые публикуются на русском языке.

«Пассажи» представляют собой многолетний проект Беньямина, в котором он стремился исследовать истоки современности, однако труд не был завершен и представляет собой набор цитат, замечаний и выписок в нескольких тематических разделах, так называемых конволютах. В нашем издании представлена конволюта «H» под заглавием «Коллекционер».

Возможно, сокровеннейший мотив собирателя можно было бы описать так: он поднимается на борьбу с рассеянием. Великий коллекционер до глубины души тронут хаотичностью, разобщенностью, в которой пребывают вещи в мире.

– Вальтер Беньямин

/