Neo-Avantgarde and Culture Industry

Year:
2016
Language:
Russian
Pages:
720

A new glance on the official version of the history of 20th Century Art.

Benjamin Buchloh is an art historian and art critic, a professor of the Department of Contemporary Art of Harvard University, an editor of the October journal. He was awarded the “Golden Lion” at the 52nd Venice Biennale for his critical contribution to contemporary art.

Nineteen articles by the art critic Benjamin Buchloh were included in this publication. In it he considers artistic currents such as new realism in France, American pop art and fluxus art, minimalism, European and American post-conceptual art. The author establishes connections and pinpoints differences between these practices and the historical avant-garde of 1915-1925. Another topic which Benjamin Buchloh is constantly addressing is connected with his attempt to shed light on the differences between post-war American and post-war European neo-Avant-garde cultures. He looks for adequate criteria — historical, ideological and aesthetic- by which such a distinction (evident in the artists ' own works) can be proven convincingly. The third major theme which the critic addresses is the issue of interdependence of artistic and ideological formations in practices in the post-war period.

Essays in the collection are devoted to the work of Richard Serra, Marcel Broodthaers, Joseph Beuys and Hans Haacke.

If the art of the 1960s and 1970s was marked by a clear desire to abandon traditional artistic genres and categories, the recent works of younger artists, both in Europe and North America, seem to be trying to breathe new life into specifically sculptural traditions in sculpture, specifically pictorial traditions in painting and specifically theatrical traditions in performative practice.

– Benjamin Buchloh

/

Неоавангард и культурная индустрия. Статьи о европейском и американском искусстве 1955-1975 годов

Год:
2016
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
720

Девятнадцать статей, в которых переосмысляется официальная версия истории искусства XX века.

Бенджамин Хайнц-Дитер Бухло (род. 1941) — историк искусств, художественный критик, профессор кафедры современного искусства Гарвардского университета, редактор журнала October. Обладатель «Золотого льва» 52-й Венецианской биеннале за критический вклад в современное искусство.

В сборник «Неоавангард и культурная индустрия. Статьи о европейском и американском искусстве 1955–1975 годов» вошли тексты о Ричарде Серре, Марселе Бротарсе, Энди Уорхоле, Йозефе Бойсе и Хансе Хааке, в которых арт-критик Бенджамин Бухло рассматривает такие художественные течения, как новый реализм во Франции, американский поп-арт и искусство Флюксус, минимализм, европейское и американское постконцептуальное искусство. Он устанавливает связи и выявляет различия между этими практиками и историческим авангардом 1915–1925 годов. Другая тема, к которой постоянно обращается Бенджамин Бухло, связана с попыткой прояснить различия между послевоенной американской и послевоенной европейской неоавангардными культурами. Автор ищет подходящие исторические, идеологические и эстетические критерии, при помощи которых подобное различение, очевидное в самих работах художников, может быть убедительно доказано. Еще одна область его исследований – проблема взаимозависимости художественных и идеологических формаций в практиках послевоенного периода.

Если искусство 1960-х и 1970-х было отмечено отчетливым стремлением к отказу от традиционных художественных жанров и категорий, то недавние работы более молодых художников, как в Европе, так и в Северной Америке, вроде бы стремятся вдохнуть новую жизнь в традиции специфически скульптурного в скульптуре, специфически живописного в живописи и специфически театрального в практике перформанса.

– Бенджамин Бухло

/