Beyond Visual Range

Year:
2015
Language:
Russian
Pages:
196

The catalogue of Mikhail Tolmachev’s exhibition “Beyond Visual Range”.

Mikhail Tolmachev is an artist who studies media art in the Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig. In 2009 he graduated from the “New Artistic Strategies” course in Moscow’s Institute of Contemporary Art.

Mikhail Tolmachev's exhibition project "Beyond Visual Range" represents the artist's experience of living in the environment of a War Museum; the Museum itself becomes an artistic tool, an interlocutor and an accomplice. The artist explores how military conflict is represented, examining the function of vision transformed by military technologies, and the equal responsibility of the human gaze, which is directed at the gunsight or a museum showcase. The project raises critical questions about the evolution of the document and exhibit, the role of the museum and museum practices, and the strategy of art and culture for the development of contemporary society.

Tolmachev supplements the exposition of almost every exhibition room of the Central Museum of the Armed Forces, using drawings, photographs, catalogue cards, documentaries and sound recordings extracted from archives or obtained from open sources.

The main part of the book is represented by a description of the exhibition rooms and the artist’s photographs. Besides that, the publication includes a preface by the curator Matthew C. Witkovsky, texts by Martin Schmidl, the artist and theorist, and Iwona Blazwick, the curator and director of London Whitechapel Gallery of Contemporary Art and also includes a conversation with the artist by Katerina Chuchalina, curator of the V–A–C Foundation.

The catalogue is published to coincide with the “Beyond Visual Range” exhibition which took place betweem 24 April and 7 October 2014 in Moscow.

Behind the scenes there remains the event, "reality” and it will always remain. That which really happened. We cannot see this for various reasons: our remote geographical location, historical distance, a certain personal and cultural upbringing of ours, political circumstances and ideological attitudes.

– Mikhail Tolmachev

/

Вне зоны видимости

Год:
2015
Язык:
Русский
Страницы:
196

Каталог выставки Михаила Толмачева «Вне зоны видимости».

Михаил Толмачев — художник, изучает медиаарт в Академии визуальных искусств в Лейпциге. В 2009 году окончил курс «Новые художественные стратегии» московского Института проблем современного искусства.

Выставочный проект Михаила Толмачева «Вне зоны видимости» представляет собой опыт вживания художника в среду музея войны, при котором сам музей становится художественным средством, собеседником и соучастником. Художник исследует методы репрезентации военного конфликта, рассматривает функцию зрения, которое изменено военными технологиями, и равную ответственность человеческого взгляда, который направлен в прицел или музейную витрину. Проект поднимает ключевые вопросы эволюции документа и экспоната, роли музея и музейных практик, стратегии искусства и культуры для развития современного общества.

Толмачев дополняет экспозицию почти каждого выставочного зала Центрального музея Вооруженных Сил, используя извлеченные из архивов или полученные из открытых источников рисунки, фотографии, каталожные карточки, документальные съемки и звукозаписи.

В основной части книги представлены описания выставочных залов и фотографии работ художника. Кроме того, в издание вошли предисловие куратора Мэтью С. Витковски, тексты Мартина Шмидля, художника и теоретика, и Ивоны Блазвик, куратора и директора лондонской галереи современного искусства Whitechapel, а также беседа с художником куратора фонда V–A–C Катерины Чучалиной.

Каталог издан к выставке «Вне зоны видимости», которая проходила с 24 апреля по 7 октября 2014 года в Москве.

За кадром осталось и всегда остается событие, «реальность». То, что произошло на самом деле. Мы не можем это увидеть в силу разных причин: своего удаленного географического положения, исторической дистанции, определенного личного и культурного воспитания, политических обстоятельств и идеологических установок.

– Михаил Толмачев

/