1962 Diary

Year:
2016
Language:
Russian

A truck driver's diary as an artifact of a bygone era.

1962. The Soviet Union. The truck driver Nikolai Kozakov embezzles collective farm property in the Gorky region, goes off to build a gas pipeline to Kazakhstan and treats his stutter with hypnosis in Kharkiv. Behind his macho façade (with his affection for hunting, motorbike riding and constant drinking) there lurks the secret life of a man with refined taste and capable of some very attentive observations. He writes verse, photographs, pities himself and is always falling in love.

The book "Diary 1962" was published for the exhibition "Our Days Are Rich and Bright”. It includes personal entries for 1962 by Nikolai Kozakov, a truck driver who had been keeping diaries since the age of fifteen. He invariably starts his detailed remarks with data on air temperature and wind direction, then describes things which happen to him at work and at home and then switching to thoughts about love and his place in life.

The standard 96-page notebooks with the diaries of Nikolai Kazakov were located in a private archive, where they were discovered by the artist Kirill Glushchenko. They took five years to decipher and prepare for printing.

I raised my musket, but the hare was flitting among the pines. Vovka’s shot rang out, and both of us, like hares, set off after the fugitive. When I jumped out on the meadow, the hare was already 100 meters away, no less, down below. I aimed. A gray-red clod danced in view of the crosshairs. A shot cracked sharply. The hare jumped into the openings from the ice, crawled out and climbed up the hill. I took a second hit. The trigger clanged distinctly. The shoulder that was ready to take the recoil tensed in vain.

– Nikolai Kozakov

/

Дневник 1962

Год:
2016
Язык:
Русский

Дневник водителя грузовика как артефакт ушедшей эпохи.

1962 год, Советский Союз. Шофер грузовика Николай Козаков расхищает колхозное имущество в Горьковской области, отправляется на строительство газопровода в Казахстан и лечится от заикания гипнозом в Харькове. За показной мужественностью — охотой, ездой на мотоцикле — и постоянным пьянством скрывается тайная жизнь человека с хорошим вкусом и внимательного наблюдателя. Он пишет стихи, фотографирует, жалеет себя и часто влюбляется.

Книга «Дневник 1962» издана к выставке «Прекрасен облик наших будней». В нее вошли личные записи за 1962 год Николая Козакова — водителя грузовика, который с пятнадцати лет вел дневники. Свои подробные заметки он неизменно начинает с данных о температуре воздуха и направлении ветра, затем описывает происшествия на работе и дома, переключаясь на размышления о любви и своем месте в жизни.

Общие 96-страничные тетради с дневниками Николая Козакова находились в частном архиве, где их обнаружил художник Кирилл Глущенко. Работа над расшифровкой и подготовкой записей к печати заняла пять лет.

Я вскинул фузею, но заяц мелькал среди сосенок. Вов­ка грохнул, и оба, что зайцы, пустились за беглецом. Когда я выскочил на чис­тое, косой был уже метрах в 100, не меньше, внизу. Я приложился. Серо-рыжий комок плясал на мушке. Отрывисто треснул выстрел. Заяц скакнул в промоину, вылез и по­шел на гору. Я приложился вторично. Отчетливо лязгнул курок. Плечо, готовое принять отдачу, напряглось впустую.

– Николай Козаков

/