Date:
4 Dec 2021–27 Feb 2022
Place:
GES-2
12+

A project creating conditions for being in tune with your feelings and forming new ways of interacting with the world around you.

The project Sensitive Matter is an attempt to create conditions for tuning and readjusting the apparatus of the senses, so that visitors at GES-2 have an opportunity to get back a sense of awareness of activities that are constantly repeated. For this purpose, a Sensory Experience Room has been created with a special interactive environment where sounds, smells and colours become a tool for acquiring a new sensory experience. The space was developed by a team from Playtronica Studios, the artist Elizaveta Moskvina and a number of experts in various fields: synesthesia researcher Anton Dorso, neuroscientist Anton Varlamov, sensory integration specialist Maria Shapiro and art therapist Anna She. The olfactory artists Maria Golovina and Pavel Nikandrov (Holynose) worked with the sense of smells for the project.

The idea of the project is based on the mechanism of sensory integration — an unconscious process in the human body in the course of which the nervous system interprets information received from its sensory organs. The term is also given to therapeutic techniques to help people with different learning styles to form their own picture of the world, concentrate on a specific action, and learn to accurately identify an irritant in the external environment and be able to control their reaction to it.

It seemed important to us to “warm up” the visitor before viewing contemporary art in the space of the GES-2 House of Culture, just like football players are warmed up before entering the field. Meditation in the dark, exercises for a better sense of your body and position in space, training in touch and perception of smells, sounds and light — the Sensory Experience Room is designed to do just that. Here viewers can create sequences of stimuli, combinations of sounds, light impulses and tactile sensations. It is a synthesizer on which synaesthetic studies can be performed, intended to be perceived simultaneously by different senses. I hope Kandinsky and Scriabin would have been pleased!

— Sasha Pass, Playtronica team

An attempt to use all the human sensory organs and sensory systems is connected with the search for the broadest possible field of exposure. This is the path that contemporary art follows: from the picture surface to the immersive experience of total installations or performances turning a viewer into an accomplice. The expansion of the boundaries of art entails expanding the boundaries of feeling and partly coincides with another subject of the project team’s research — synaesthesia, a phenomenon of perception in which one sensation leads to an uncontrolled response in another sensory system, not directly related to it.

Aesthetic (or literally sensory) experience, is based, among other things, on impulses we receive from our motor system, as well as from our sensations and perception. In this project, we explore sensory differentiation as an agent of influence on the human ability to make aesthetic judgments. We want to turn to non-verbal and, perhaps, even non-verbalizable experience we receive through sensory channels.

— Katya Porutchik, Polina Zotova, project curators

We want your visit to the Sensory Experience Room to be comfortable and enjoyable, and have developed a few guidelines for this:

Please leave your personal belongings and shoes in a locker in the waiting area. To make you feel more comfortable during your visit to the Room, we recommend that you bring along and wear extra socks.

We also ask that you leave your mobile phone in the locker along with your other belongings, or simply don’t use it during your visit.

Please do not apply strong scents before visiting the Room.

Entrance to the Room is organised in groups of three at five-minute intervals. Your maximum waiting time won’t exceed 10 minutes.

Due to COVID-19 related restrictions, children under 14 years of age can only visit if accompanied by an adult — a parent or guardian who can present their QR code and passport). Only one child may pass with one adult.

Smells and lighting in the Room can change unpredictably; some objects make loud sounds. Visitors highly reactive to sensory perception may need the protective items they use in their everyday life: dark glasses, earplugs, headphones or clothing with a hood.

A sensory load map is available from the Room administrator

In case of sensory overload, you can use the Quiet Room. It is located on the -1 floor to the right of the cloakroom.

Opening hours:
Daily, 10:00-20:00
Technical break: 15:00-16:00
Sessions start every hour

Project participants

Playtronica is a creative studio focusing on interdisciplinary practices and exploring new types of human interaction with the world around us and, more specifically, technologies. Playtronica projects have been exhibited in many museums in Russia and around the world. 

Anton Dorso is a linguist, a psychologist and synaesthesia researcher who heads the synaesthesia research group at the Centre for Multidisciplinary Research of Contemporary Childhood of the Moscow State University of Psychology and Education. Founder and Scientific Coordinator of the Russian Synaesthesia Community and a founding board member of the International Association of Synaesthetes, Artists and Scientists (IASAS).

Anna She is a clinical art therapist and an artist whose research interests include body consciousness. She has worked on a number of international programmes and studies on the therapeutic impact of artistic practices and environments on people and communities. She heads the SAMO/SELF art therapy studio.

Marina Shapiro is a psychologist, neuropsychologist and specialist in body-oriented practices who heads the Psychological Service at the Territory of Speech speech therapy centre. She is also clinical director of the Humpty Dumpty sensorimotor hall (Moscow, 2019). She conducts sensorimotor classes for children with special needs and play therapy classes.

Anton Varlamov is a neurobiologist and holds a Candidate degree in Biological Sciences. He is head of the Laboratory of cognitive and linguistic research of the Pushkin Russian Language Institute and Deputy Head of scientific work at the Our Sunny World centre for rehabilitation of disabled children. He is author of more than 60 scientific publications.

Elizaveta Moskvina is an architect, artist and production designer in film projects. She studied at the Moscow Architectural Institute and the Potsdam School of Architecture (Germany). She works at the interface between artistic production and architecture, creating spaces for immersive experience.

Maria Golovina is a perfumer, olfactory artist and perfume journalist. Author of commercial and artistic projects related to scent, she is the perfumer of the Holynose brand.

Pavel Nikandrov is an olfactory artist, founder and chief visionary officer of the Holynose brand. He is also a graphic and industrial designer.

The project also involved

Vasilisa Bikeeva is an architect and photographer. In her practice, she explores imagery and approaches design and construction as a quest for integrity and balance.

Nastia Cherepenkina is an architect, an exhibition designer and an artist. She has worked for the Asse Architects and is particularly interested in the reconstruction of buildings, especially their transformation into museum and cultural spaces.

Aleksandr Vasilenko is an artist and a composer. Sound designer at Endel. He explores modern possibilities of working with sound using machine learning.

Dmitry Sokolov is an artist and a creative developer. Co-founder and technical director of the Moscow-based community of artists Varenje Organizm.

Alexey Kokhanov is a vocalist, performer and composer. Member of Natalia Pshenichnikova's La Gol Voice Theatre and a guest soloist at the Stanislavsky Electrotheatre.

Technician: Mariam Ismailova
Producer: Stasya Dementieva
Implementation of the architectural concept: Inside Art

Special thanks:
Kostya Antonov
Victor Glazunov
Natalya Goryunova
Alexander Moskvin
Antonina Steinberg
Maria Stikharova
Igor Fedotov
Aleksandr Chistov

The project is expertly supported by Journey Through the Senses (JTTS), an international non-profit educational initiative

Ощутимое присутствие

Дата:
4 дек 2021–27 фев 2022
Место:
ГЭС-2
12+

Проект, создающий условия для контакта со своими чувствами и формирования новых способов взаимодействия с окружающим миром.

«Ощутимое присутствие» — это попытка создать условия для настройки и перенастройки органов чувств, которая помогла бы вернуть осознанность в регулярно повторяемые действия. Для этого была создана Комната сенсорных впечатлений с интерактивной средой, где звуки, запахи и цвета становятся инструментами для получения нового опыта ощущений.

Пространство разработано командой студии Playtronica, художником Елизаветой Москвиной и экспертами: исследователем синестезии Антоном Дорсо, нейробиологом Антоном Варламовым, специалистом по сенсорной интеграции Марией Шапиро и арт-терапевтом Анной Ше. За работу с запахами в проекте отвечают ольфакторные художники Мария Головина и Павел Никандров (Holynose).

Идея проекта основана на механизме сенсорной интеграции — бессознательном процессе, в ходе которого нервная система интерпретирует информацию, полученную от органов чувств. Сенсорной интеграцией называют и терапевтические методики, направленные на то, чтобы помочь людям с различными особенностями восприятия сформировать собственную картину мира, научиться точно определять раздражители во внешней среде и уметь управлять своей реакцией на них.

Нам показалось важным «разогреть» зрителя перед просмотром современного искусства в пространстве Дома культуры «ГЭС-2», как «разогревают» футболистов перед выходом на поле. Медитация в темноте, упражнения для более полного ощущения своего тела и положения в пространстве, тренировка осязания и восприятия запахов, звуковых и световых вибраций — именно с расчетом на все это устроена Комната сенсорных впечатлений. Здесь зрители могут создавать последовательности стимулов, комбинации из звуков, световых импульсов и тактильных ощущений. Это такой синтезатор, на котором можно исполнять синестетические этюды, предназначенные для восприятия разными органами чувств одновременно. Надеюсь, Кандинский и Скрябин были бы довольны!

— Саша Пас, команда Playtronica

Попытка задействовать все органы чувств и сенсорные системы человека связана с поиском максимально широкого поля воздействия. Это путь, по которому идет современное искусство: от плоскости картины к иммерсивному опыту тотальных инсталляций или перформативных практик, когда зритель становится соучастником. Расширение границ искусства влечет за собой расширение границ чувствования и отчасти совпадает с еще одним предметом исследования команды проекта — синестезией, феноменом восприятия, при котором одно ощущение ведет к неконтролируемому отклику в другой, не связанной с ним напрямую, сенсорной системе.

Эстетический, буквально — чувственный, опыт основывается в том числе на импульсах от моторной системы, ощущений и восприятия. В этом проекте мы изучаем сенсорные различения как агента влияния на эстетические суждения человека. Мы хотим обратиться к невербальному и, возможно, даже невербализуемому опыту, который мы получаем через сенсорные каналы.

— Катя Порутчик, Полина Зотова, кураторы проекта

Мы хотим, чтобы ваше посещение Комнаты сенсорных впечатлений было комфортным и приятным, и для этого разработали несколько рекомендаций:

Оставьте, пожалуйста, в шкафчике в зоне ожидания личные вещи и обувь. Чтобы вам было комфортнее во время посещения Комнаты, советуем принести с собой и надеть дополнительные носочки.

Также мы просим вместе с другими вещами оставить в шкафчике мобильный телефон или просто не пользоваться им во время посещения пространства.

Пожалуйста, не наносите яркие ароматы перед посещением Комнаты.

Вход в Комнату организован группами по три человека с интервалом в 5 минут. Максимальное время вашего ожидания составит 10 минут.

Из-за ограничений, связанных с пандемией COVID-19, дети младше 14 лет могут посещать пространство только в сопровождении взрослых — родителей или опекунов с QR-кодом и паспортом. С одним взрослым может пройти только один ребенок.

В Комнате сенсорных впечатлений меняется освещение и встречаются объекты, издающие громкие звуки и распространяющие запахи. Посетителям с особенностями сенсорного восприятия могут понадобиться средства, которые они используют в повседневной жизни: темные очки, беруши, наушники или одежда с капюшоном.

Карту сенсорной нагрузки пространства можно взять у администратора Комнаты.

В случае сенсорной перегрузки вы можете воспользоваться Тихой комнатой для отдыха. Она расположена на –1-м этаже справа от гардероба.

Режим работы:
Ежедневно, 10:00–20:00
Техническая пауза 15:00–16:00
Сеансы начинаются каждый час

Участники проекта

PLAYTRONICA — студия креативных технологий, которая с помощью междисциплинарных практик исследует новые типы взаимодействия человека с окружающим миром, и в частности с технологиями. Проекты Playtronica выставлялись во многих музеях в России и в мир.

Антон Дорсо — лингвист, психолог, исследователь синестезии. Руководитель исследовательской группы по синестезии Центра междисциплинарных исследований современного детства (МГППУ). Основатель и научный куратор Российского синестетического сообщества, член дирекции Международной ассоциации синестетов, деятелей искусства и науки (IASAS).

Анна Ше — клинический арт-терапевт, художник, исследует в числе прочего телесное сознание. Автор международных программ и работ, посвященных терапевтическому воздействию художественных практик и сред на человека и сообщества. Руководитель Студии арт-терапии САМО.

Мария Шапиро — психолог, нейропсихолог, специалист по телесно ориентированным практикам. Руководитель психологической службы в Логопедическом центре «Территория речи», клинический директор Сенсорно-двигательного зала «Шалтай-Болтай» (Москва, 2019). Проводит сенсорно-двигательные занятия с детьми с особенностями развития и занятия по игровой терапии.

Антон Варламов — нейробиолог, кандидат биологических наук. Руководитель лаборатории когнитивных и лингвистических исследований Института русского языка им. Пушкина, заместитель руководителя по научной работе центра реабилитации инвалидов детства «Наш солнечный мир». Автор более 60 научных публикаций.

Елизавета Москвина — архитектор, художник, художник-постановщик в кинопроектах. Училась в Московском архитектурном институте и Архитектурной школе Потсдама (Германия). Работает на стыке художественной постановки и архитектуры, создает пространства для погружения и иммерсивного опыта.

Мария Головина — парфюмер, ольфакторный художник, парфюмерный журналист. Автор коммерческих и художественных проектов, связанных с запахами. Парфюмер бренда Holynose.

Павел Никандров — ольфакторный художник, основатель и главный идеолог Holynose. Графический и промышленный дизайнер.

В проекте также принимали участие

Василиса Бикеева — архитектор, фотограф. В своей практике исследует образность и подходит к проектированию и строительству как к процессу поиска целостности и баланса.

Настя Черепенькина — архитектор, дизайнер выставок, художник. Работала в бюро «Архитекторы Асс». Занимается реконструкцией зданий, в частности, их преобразованием в музейные и культурные пространства

Александр Василенко — художник, композитор. Саунд-дизайнер компании Endel. Исследует современные возможности работы со звуком с использованием машинного обучения.

Дмитрий Соколов — художник и креативный разработчик. Сооснователь и технический директор московского сообщества художников «Варенъйе организм».

Алексей Коханов — вокалист, перформер и композитор. Участник театра голоса «Ла Гол» Наталии Пшеничниковой. Приглашенный солист Электротеатра Станиславский.

Технический специалист: Мариам Исмаилова 
Продюсер: Стася Дементьева
Реализация архитектурной концепции: Inside Art

Отдельное спасибо:
Костя Антонов
Виктор Глазунов
Наталья Горюнова
Александр Москвин
Антонина Стейнберг
Мария Стихарова
Игорь Федотов
Александр Чистов

Экспертную поддержку проекта осуществляет Международная некоммерческая образовательная инициатива Journey Through the Senses (JTTS)

Вода для участников публичной программы предоставлена Edis