4 Dec 2021–13 Mar 2022

Each GES-2 season includes a film programme which explores its main themes. In the first season, the GES-2 Kino Cinema will be a time machine focused on the recent past when Gen Xers were young adults and millennials were just children.

Consisting of two sections and several special screenings, Time Machine is only partially based on a linear sequence of dates and events. A flower from the poster of the eponymous film by Mariano Llinás can be seen as one of its symbols: the diverging and intertwining plots originating from a general scheme suddenly reveal a subtle resemblance to each other. Minor retrospectives of films by Alexei Balabanov, the surly joker of the 1990s, and of Pyotr Lutsik and Alexei Samoryadov, the mythmakers of Russian fringes, coexist with Monty Python's absurdist sketches.

The main part of the Time Machine: 1986-2000 programme makes 14 cinematic stops in the past. Each year is represented by two films, one in Russian and one in a foreign language. The programme is not restricted to a certain genre, school or national cinema, but focuses on the authors’ voices, vision, artistic statements and transcultural stances, giving equal space to alternative interpretations and allowing for the coexistence of a variety of viewpoints.

In Extraordinary Series, short Monty Python sketches strung together on a hypothetical plot are in counterpoint to Mariano Llinás’ saga The Flower (La Flor, 2018). The Flower is 812 minutes of stories that have no beginning or break off in the middle: a pastiche pretending to be a B-movie follows a parody; a horror film and a musical are followed by a spy melodrama; and after that there is suddenly a remake of a classic film. The screenings in the Extraordinary Series are organized as film marathons.

The Time Machine programme also includes films related to the To Moscow! To Moscow! To Moscow! exhibition project. To a certain extent, these films supplement it, as they were selected by the project curator and the key figure of the entire Santa Barbara season, the Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson.

Along with seasonal film projects, GES–2 Kino is launching Scary Tuesdays. This programme considers recently released horror films and the development of this ambiguous genre. For a long time considered “second-rate”, it is now becoming more multidimensional and diverse, transcending the limits of traditional cinema.

There will be a public programme of conversations with filmmakers and film critics at the screenings.

All films will be shown in their original languages with Russian subtitles.

The Iskusstvo Kino (“Art of Cinema”) magazine is a partner of GES–2 Kino.

We cannot travel in space, which has become a privilege, but we can entirely possess time. Time travel goes in two directions: back to the past and forward into the future. Getting ahead of time is a tempting fantasy, but without looking back at our yesterdays a leap ahead is doomed. The prospect is all the more fascinating if you imagine, experience, rethink, and update the recent past. For example, that period from the beginning of perestroika to the end of the Yeltsin era; the fall of the Berlin Wall and 9/11. Or, if you like, from Chernobyl to the sinking of the Kursk submarine. The radical retrofuturism of the first films of the Ghibli Studio and the universal nostalgia of the turn of the century.

— Kirill Adibekov, curator of the V–A–C film programme

/

4 дек 2021–13 мар 2022

Каждый сезон «ГЭС-2» сопровождает кинопрограмма, которая исследует его основные темы. В премьерном сезоне кинотеатр «ГЭС-2 Кино» стал машиной времени, устремленной в недавнее прошлое — в молодость поколения X и детство миллениалов.

Состоящая из двух частей и нескольких спецпоказов «Машина времени» лишь отчасти основана на линейной последовательности дат и событий. Одним из ее символов можно считать цветок с афиши одноименного фильма Мариано Льинаса. Вырастая из общего замысла, сюжеты, расходясь и переплетаясь, внезапно обнаруживают неочевидное сходство. Малые ретроспективы угрюмого джокера 1990-х Балабанова и мифотворцев окраины Петра Луцика и Алексея Саморядова уживаются в ней с абсурдистскими скетчами «Монти Пайтона».

Заглавная часть кинопрограммы «Машина времени: 1986–2000» предлагает сделать 14 остановок в прошлом. Каждый год представлен двумя фильмами, русскоязычным и на иностранном языке. Программа не замыкается в рамках определенного жанра, направления или национального кинематографа, а делает акцент на авторском голосе, видении, высказывании и транскультурности, давая равные права альтернативным трактовкам и делая явным существование множества взглядов.

В посвященной сериалам части «Невероятные серии» нанизанные на условный сюжет короткие скетчи «Монти Пайтона» создают контрапункт с сагой Мариано Льинаса «Цветок» (La Flor, 2018), где показанные на протяжении 812 минут истории не имеют начала или обрываются на середине: пастиш, играющий в кино категории B, сменяет пародию, за хоррором и мюзиклом следует шпионская мелодрама, а после вдруг возникает ремейк классического фильма. Показы в «Невероятных сериях» организованы как киномарафоны.

В кинопрограмму «Машина времени» также вошли фильмы, связанные с выставочным проектом «В Москву! В Москву! В Москву!», которые в определенной степени являются его дополнением, — их отобрал куратор выставки и ключевая фигура всего сезона «Санта-Барбара» исландский художник Рагнар Кьяртанссон.

Одновременно с сезонными кинопроектами «ГЭС-2 Кино» запускает формат «Страшные вторники». Он посвящен недавно вышедшим в прокат фильмам ужасов и в целом развитию хоррора как жанра с неоднозначным статусом, который долгое время считался «второсортным», а сейчас становится все более объемным и разнообразным и выходит за рамки традиционного кино.

Показы сопровождаются публичной программой с участием кинематографистов и кинокритиков.

Все иностранные фильмы демонстрируются на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.

Партнер кинотеатра в «ГЭС-2» — журнал «Искусство кино».

Взамен ставших привилегией путешествий в пространстве мы целиком обретаем время. Путешествовать во времени можно в двух направлениях — в прошлое и в будущее. Опередить время — заманчивая фантазия, однако без оглядки на вчера такой прыжок обречен. Перспектива тем увлекательнее, если представить, пережить, переосмыслить, ре-актуализировать недавнее прошлое. К примеру, от начала перестройки и до конца эпохи Бориса Ельцина; падения Берлинской стены и 9/11. Или, если угодно, Чернобыля и подводной лодки «Курск». Радикального ретрофутуризма первых фильмов студии Ghibli и всеобщей ностальгии рубежа веков.

— Кирилл Адибеков, куратор кинопрограмм V–A–C

/