Educational programme

Date:
5 Feb 2015–11 Apr 2016
Place:
GES-2

Lectures, meetings with artists, talks and city walks are also part of the Expanding Space learning programme.

Most of the lectures and talks are devoted to interaction with the urban environment, whether artistic or in terms of other practices. The art critic Gleb Napreenko gives a lecture Political Art in the City about which modalities are available to an artist in relation to the urban environment: from dialogue to open confrontation. The urbanist Elena Trubina uses her field studies in Medellin (Colombia), Kuala Lumpur and Nizhny Novgorod to talk about artistic practices and their role in the identification of the city and the identity of citizens, cultural heritage and urban economy. Andrey Vozyanov, an anthropologist and sound researcher, takes as his theme the soundscape of the modern city, soundscapes as forms of social life and urban subcultures of listening, muting and producing sound. A lecture by the Berlin curator Susa Pop Digital Technologies in Public Art and the Creation of an Urban Media Environment is dedicated to how information elements of urban design can change human relations.

The curator of the 56th Venice Biennale Okwui Enwezor, speaking with Maria Mkrtycheva, the head of the V–A–C educational department, goes into the relations between the centre and the periphery, the local and the global in the modern era. Art theorist and art critic Trude Iversen, founder of the research platform KORO (Norway) dedicated to public art, talks about the specifics of curatorial work with public art and public spaces. The curator Anna Bitkina, co-founder of the TOK Creative Association of Curators, gives a lecture on artistic practices as a method of social change.

Three events of the learning programme atr held in the format of tours and city walks. Artist Arseny Zhilyaev conducts a tour around the Krasnaya Presnya Moscow park. Anastasia Ryabova, the author of the project Zvezdny Prospekt-2, conducts a tour of Yuzhny Chertanovo neighborhood, in the course of which participants have to cope with procedures — a set of situations that often arise on the city streets. Artists from the Futurefarmers and the Urban Fauna Lab collectives discuss traditional aspects of life in a hyper-informational society during a boat trip.

The films selected for the program of film screenings at GES-2 are presented by the V–A–C curator Kirill Adibekov. It includes the films Zhores (Vincent Dietre, 2012), Communists (Jean-Marie Straub, 2014), De Son Appartement (Jean-Claude Rousseau, 2007), Helsinki, Forever (Peter von Bag, 2008), Afterword to the 1942 Brochure (Stanislav Doroshenkov, 2012) and One Way Boogie Woogie / 27 Years Later (James Benning, 2005).

Three screenings are held in the buildings closely related to the plot of the film. Nikolai Sanishvili’s comedy Splinter about the fight against "architectural excesses" was filmed in 1956, and V–A–C showed it at the Peking Hotel — one of the last monumental Stalinist buildings in Moscow, completed in 1956. Andrey Smirnov's Faith and Truth (1979) about the crucial transition for Soviet architects to model house construction is shown in the Central Tourist House, built in 1979. And the short comedy Uncle’s Apartment (1913) is set in the Nirnsee house, a popular Moscow filming location in the same year.

Participants of the learning programme
Alexander Kotlomanov, Peter Osborne. Olga Brednikova and Oksana Zaporozhets, Okwui Enwezor, Gleb Napreenko, Andrey Gornikh, Vera Frolova, Dmitry Gorin, Anna Bitkina, Elena Trubina, Dmitry Gromov, Ilya Utekhin, Nailya Allakhverdieva, Susa Pop, Trude Iversen, Philipp Fedchin, Andrey Vozyanov, Anastasia Ryabova, Arseniy Zhilyaev, Futurefarmers and Urban Fauna Lab collectives.

Публичная программа

Дата:
5 фев 2015–11 апр 2016
Место:
ГЭС-2

В рамках образовательной программы «Расширение пространства» проходят лекции, встречи с художниками, дискуссии, кинопоказы и городские прогулки.

Основная часть лекций и дискуссий посвящена взаимодействию с городской средой, как художественному, так и в контексте других практик. Так, арт-критик Глеб Напреенко читает лекцию «Политическое искусство в городе» о том, какие модальности доступны художнику по отношению к городской среде: от диалога до открытой конфронтации. Урбанист Елена Трубина на материалах полевых исследований в Медельине (Колумбия), Куала-Лумпуре и Нижнем Новгороде рассказывает о художественных практиках и их роли в вопросах идентификации города и идентичности горожан, культурного наследия и городской экономики. Антрополог и исследователь звука Андрей Возьянов выбирает темой звуковой ландшафт современного города, саундскейпы как звуковые формы социальной жизни и listening cultures — городские субкультуры слушания, приглушения и производства звука. А лекция берлинского куратора Сусы Поп «Цифровые технологии в паблик-арте и создание городской медиасреды» посвящена тому, как информационные элементы городского дизайна способны изменить отношения между людьми.

Об отношениях между центром и периферией, локальным и глобальным в современную эпоху говорит куратор 56-й Венецианской биеннале Окви Энвейзор, с которым беседует глава образовательного отдела V–A–C Мария Мкртычева. Теоретик искусства и арт-критик Труде Иверсен, основательница исследовательской платформы KORO (Норвегия), посвященной паблик-арту, рассказывает о специфике кураторской работы с паблик-артом и публичными пространствами. А куратор Анна Биткина, соучредитель Творческого объединения кураторов ТОК, читает лекцию о художественных практиках как способе социальных изменений.

Три мероприятия образовательной программы проходят в формате туров и городских прогулок. Художник Арсений Жиляев организует прогулку по московскому парку «Красная Пресня», а Анастасия Рябова, автор проекта «Звездный проспект — 2», проводит экскурсию по Южному Чертанову, во время которой участникам приходится справляться с «процедурами» — совокупностью ситуаций, часто возникающих на улицах города. Художники из коллектива Futurefarmers и «Лаборатории городской фауны» обсуждают традиционные аспекты жизни в условиях гиперинформационного общества во время прогулки на теплоходе.

Фильмы, выбранные для кинопрограммы в ГЭС-2, представляет куратор V–A–C Кирилл Адибеков. Среди них ленты «Жорес» Венсана Дьётра (2012), «Коммунисты» Жан-Мари Штрауба (2014), De son appartement («Покои Цезаря за этой дверью» — пер. V–A–C) Жан-Клода Руссо (2007), «Хельсинки, навсегда» Петера фон Бага (2008), «Послесловие к брошюре 1942 года» Станислава Дорошенкова (2012) и One Way Boogie Woogie / 27 Years Later Джеймса Беннинга (2005).

Три кинопоказа проходят в зданиях, тесно связанных с сюжетом этих фильмов. Комедия Николая Санишвили «Заноза» о борьбе с архитектурными излишествами была снята в 1956 году, и V–A–C показывает ее в гостинице «Пекин» — одном из последних монументальных «сталинских» зданий Москвы, строительство которого завершилось в 1956 году. «Верой и правдой» (1979) Андрея Смирнова о переломном для советских архитекторов переходе к типовому домостроению показывают в Центральном доме туриста, построенном в 1979 году. А короткометражная комедия «Дядюшкина квартира» (1913) идет в построенном в том же году доме Нирнзее — популярной московской локации для киносъемок.

Участники образовательной программы
Александр Котломанов, Питер Осборн, Ольга Бредникова и Оксана Запорожец, Окви Энвейзор, Глеб Напреенко, Андрей Горных, Вера Фролова, Дмитрий Горин, Анна Биткина, Елена Трубина, Дмитрий Громов, Илья Утехин, Наиля Аллахвердиева, Суса Поп, Труде Иверсен, Филипп Федчин, Андрей Возьянов, Анастасия Рябова, Арсений Жиляев, художники из арт-коллектива Futurefarmers и «Лаборатории городской фауны»

/