Expanding Space. Artistic Practice in the Urban Environment

2 Feb 2015–30 Apr 2016

The V–A–C Foundation's programme for artistic projects intended to stimulate public and professional discussion about the role and opportunities of art in the urban environment. 

It is not easy to embody any artistic statement in an urban environment, especially if we are talking about a megalopolis with its own complex set of public and private interests. An artist inevitably faces a whole host of administrative and technical barriers. The aim of the Expanding Space. Artistic Practices in the Urban Environment project is to identify the points of mutual interest between art and the city, to determine what methods and tactics of public art would be appropriate for the social and cultural life of Moscow.

The curators Katerina Chuchalina, Alexander Burenkov, Anna Ilchenko, Olga Stebleva and Denis Stolyarov started from the belief that the potential of art in Moscow’s urban environment has not yet been fully revealed, and its possibilities are far wider than those already demonstrated by the projects which have already been implemented. Meanwhile, the urban environment is the reservoir of all socio-cultural processes and a powerful incentive for developing artistic practice. Art can and should activate processes leading to the decentralization of cultural production, cooperation between artists and non-artistic communities and structures, as well as contributing to expanding its audience.

As a result of an open call, more than a hundred artists, architects, designers from Russia and elsewhere took part in the programme. The works were selected by a jury comprising an interdisciplinary team of professionals whose work all touch upon the research into Moscow’s public space, the possibilities of art in an urban environment and actual implementation of urban initiatives. 21 projects from the long-list were presented between 26 September 2015 until 30 April 2016 at the exhibition Expanding Space: Artistic Practices in the Urban Environment that took place in the GES-2 former power station on Bolotnaya Embankment. The V–A–C Foundation produced a shortlist of 7 works and, together with the artists, began work on creating and installing the projects.

The exhibition was complemented by an extensive educational program, which included lectures by art historians and urban specialists, interdisciplinary talks and artists' tours to the venues where the projects were being created. The aim of the programme was to define the boundaries of the term “public art” in a historical perspective, as well as to outline the range of issues relevant to urban researchers and public spaces, and to consider them from the point of view of art, urbanistics, sociology, anthropology, design and other fields of knowledge.

A project library of the Expanded Space exhibition, including more than a hundred volumes in Russian and English, has been assembled. It includes books on theory and practice of public and site-specific art, on urbanistics and sociology, city ecology and anthropology, partisan urbanism, urban light design and festive decoration of cities, as well as rare second-hand books on the history of Soviet urban planning and monumental and decorative art. Among the authors of the books are Cecilia Alemani, Gaston Bachelard, Robert Venturi, Pier Vittorio Aureli, Jan Gehl, Claire Doherty, Rosalyn Deutsche, Miwon Kwon, Suzanne Lacy, Henri Lefebvre, Scott McQuire, Elena Trubina, Hal Foster and many others.

Thanks to the collaboration of V–A–C and the Kadist Foundations of Paris and San Francisco, an international artists residency was opened for the participants of the Expanded Space programme.

Participating artists
Olga Andreeva, Nana Greenshtein, Alexandra Lovyannikova, Viktor Shevtsov, Vladimir Arkhipov, Sonya Guimon, Arseny Zhilyaev, Daria Irincheeva, Sergey Kasich, Anna Krivtsova, Sara Culmann, Veronika Zlobina, Anna Kurbatova, Alia Sadretdinova, Urban Fauna Lab (Anastasia Potemkina, Alexey Buldakov), Vikentiy Nilin, Pavel Otdelnov, Alexandra Portyannikova, Vladimir Potapov, Anastasia Ryabova, Kirill Savchenkov, Ekaterina Trubina, Valentin Fetisov, Elena Kholkina, David Essein, Supramen (Emmeli Person and Emelie Carlen).

Расширение пространства. Художественные практики в городской среде

2 фев 2015–30 апр 2016

Программа фонда V–A–C по реализации художественных проектов в городской среде призвана стимулировать общественную и профессиональную дискуссию о роли и возможностях искусства в этой области.

Воплотить любое художественное высказывание в городской среде непросто, особенно если речь идет о мегаполисе с его сложной совокупностью общественных и частных интересов. Перед художником неизбежно встает множество административных и технических ограничений. Цель проекта «Расширение пространства. Художественные практики в городской среде» — распознать точки взаимного интереса искусства и города, определить методы и тактики паблик-арта, которые были бы адекватны социальной и культурной жизни Москвы.

Кураторы Катерина Чучалина, Александр Буренков, Анна Ильченко, Ольга Стеблева и Денис Столяров исходят из убеждения, что потенциал искусства в городской среде Москвы пока полностью не раскрыт, и его возможности намного шире, чем те, которые демонстрируют уже осуществленные проекты по благоустройству рекреационных зон. Городская среда — это резервуар всех социокультурных процессов и мощный стимул для развития художественных практик. Искусство в ней может и должно активизировать процессы децентрализации культурного производства, практики сотрудничества художника с нехудожественными сообществами и структурами, а также способствовать расширению аудитории.

В результате открытого конкурса заявок, прошедшего со 2 февраля до 31 марта 2015 года, в программе приняли участие более ста художников, архитекторов, дизайнеров из России и других стран. Отбором работ занималось жюри, в состав которого вошли специалисты разных профилей, чья деятельность связана с исследованиями общественного пространства Москвы, возможностей искусства в городской среде и с непосредственным осуществлением городских инициатив. 21 проект из лонг-листа был представлен 26 сентября 2015 г. — 30 апреля 2016 г. на выставке «Расширение пространства. Художественные практики в городской среде» в ГЭС-2 на Болотной набережной. Фонд V–A–C сформировал шорт-лист из 7 работ и совместно с художниками начал работу по производству и инсталлированию проектов.

Выставку дополняет обширная образовательная программа, в рамках которой проходят лекции искусствоведов и городских специалистов, междисциплинарные дискуссии и экскурсии с художниками по местам реализации проектов. Цель программы — обозначить границы термина «паблик-арт» в исторической перспективе, а также очертить круг вопросов, актуальных для исследователей города и публичных пространств и рассмотреть их с точки зрения искусства, урбанистики, социологии, антропологии, дизайна и других областей знания.

В рамках проекта собрана библиотека выставки «Расширение пространства», в которую вошли более ста изданий на русском и английском языках: по теории и практике паблик-арта и сайт-специфического искусства, по урбанистике и социологии, экологии и антропологии города, по партизанскому урбанизму, городскому световому дизайну и праздничному оформлению городов, а также редкие букинистические книги по истории советского градостроительства и монументально-декоративного искусства. Среди авторов книг — Чечилия Алемани, Гастон Башляр, Роберт Вентури, Пьер Витторио Аурели, Ян Гейл, Клэр Доерти, Розалин Дойч, Мивон Квон, Сьюзан Лейси, Анри Лефевр, Скотт Макуайр, Елена Трубина, Хэл Фостер и многие другие.

Благодаря сотрудничеству фонда V–A–C и фонда Kadist (Париж, Сан-Франциско) открылась международная резиденция для художников в рамках программы «Расширение пространства».

Участники выставки
Ольга Андреева, Нана Гринштейн, Александра Ловянникова, Виктор Шевцов, Владимир Архипов, Соня Гимон, Арсений Жиляев, Дарья Иринчеева, Сергей Касич, Анна Кривцова, Сара Кульман, Вероника Злобина, Анна Курбатова, Алия Садретдинова, Лаборатория городской фауны (Анастасия Потемкина, Алексей Булдаков), Викентий Нилин, Павел Отдельнов, Александра Портянникова, Владимир Потапов, Анастасия Рябова, Кирилл Савченков, Екатерина Трубина, Валентин Фетисов, Елена Холкина, Давид Эссейн, группа Supramen (Эммели Персон, Эмели Карлен)

/