The Third Part of the Night. Rave

Place:
GES-2
18+

We imagine the carnival nature of a rave as the corporeal expression of social energy.*

*We are sorry to inform you that the Rave on January 22 has been postponed due to the serious epidemiological situation.
New date will be announced - please follow our news. Thank you for understanding!

DJ sets and concerts in the Parking will be performed by artists who represent diverse musical groups and localities and rarely perform on the same stage. The rapidly paced genres of electronic music that do not rely on any straight techno form were chosen as benchmarks — acid, jungle, pop electronics. A short but intense musical journey/kaleidoscope, The Third Part of the Night raises the issue of what defines rave as a phenomenon today and what it may become in the future.

The idea of a rave, which has its roots in popular musical festivities, is akin to that of a carnival: it dismisses social hierarchy, is associated with the overt representation of the body and combines release of emotions, collective movement and collective presence. Having appeared in the crisis-ridden Britain of the 1980s during a period of political and economic instability, rave has become a kind of physically oriented therapy for living through a difficult historical period. In Russia, though, rave became a symbol of the country’s entry into the era of consumer choice. Club life catalyzed the emergence of a new fabric of social and artistic ties which significantly influenced the emergence of pop culture in the new Russia.

Image by Sophie Korotaeva
At a rave, the body is the minimal unit (public, political, emotional, ideological, etc.) that becomes a conductor of sound and rhythm, which have transformative power. The rave is no longer a marginal practice. It is now integrated into various urban and recreational activities that exist within the current logic of capitalist realism. We are not creating an illusion of independence and are not talking about a kind of return to the DIY format that defined rave as a phenomenon. However, today the very possibility of holding a mass nightlife event in the centre of a major Russian city inside a cultural institution is an exception to the general rule, an opportunity to imagine and rethink the rave.

– Nikita Rasskazov, project curator

The prequel to the rave will be the performance by Alexei Taruts 44 + 1 Column, Hyperbass Is Lava. The artist explores psycho-physiological aspects of co-presence at a mass musical event, offering a recoding of a viewer’s sensory perception and attention. A massive happening, saturated with various technological means of sensory stimulation (kilowatts of light and sound, hyperbass and strobe) becomes an attempt to overcome the stresses inherent to a technologies-riddled reality through an even greater technological shock.

The Third Part of the Night addresses the main question of rave culture: “How does music work?”. The energy of electronic sound and anonymity on the dance floor stimulate non-verbal forms of awareness and communication, which form a collective body, where everyone has their own interpretation of freedom. For one night, GES-2 will become a space where you can sense how the borders between common and personal experience are shaped and how fragile they are.

Programme

Alexey Taruts with the performance “44+1 Column, Hyperbass is Lava”

New Composers (live)

Kirill Shapovalov b2b Santa Valentina

Shadowax (live)

DJ 1985 presents DJ 1992

WULFFLUW XCIV

Sofia Rodina

Signal iz Militsii

Talnik (live)

Третья часть ночи. Рейв

Место:
ГЭС-2
18+

Представляем карнавальность рейва как телесное выражение социальной энергии.*

* Проведение рейва 22 января было отложено из-за сложной эпидемиологической ситуации.
О новом времени события мы объявим дополнительно, следите за нашими новостями. Спасибо за понимание!

С диджей-сетами и концертами на Парковке выступят артисты, которые представят разные музыкальные объединения и географии, редко пересекающиеся на одной сцене. Ориентирами выбраны быстрые направления электронной музыки, не опирающиеся на прямую структуру техно: эйсид, джангл, поп-электроника. Короткое, но насыщенное путешествие-калейдоскоп «Третья часть ночи» — это попытка понять, что сегодня определяет рейв как феномен и каким он может быть.

Идея рейва, который уходит корнями в народные гуляния под музыку, близка карнавалу: она отрицает общественную иерархию, связана с репрезентацией тела в пространстве и сочетает в себе высвобождение эмоций, коллективное движение и практики соприсутствия. Появившись в Великобритании 1980-х, в период политической и экономической нестабильности, рейв выступил своего рода телесно ориентированной терапией для проживания сложного исторического периода. В России же он стал символом вступления страны в эпоху потребительского выбора. Клубная жизнь катализировала появление новой ткани социальных и художественных связей, значительно повлиявшей на облик отечественной поп-культуры следующих десятилетий.

Фото: Софья Коротаева
На рейве тело как минимальная единица (публичная, политическая, эмоциональная, идеологическая и др.) становится проводником звука и ритма с их преобразующей силой. Рейв давно не является маргинальной практикой и интегрирован в различные городские и развлекательные форматы, существующие в нынешней логике капиталистического реализма. Мы не создаем иллюзию независимости и не говорим о неком возвращении к DIY-формату, определивших рейв как феномен. Однако сегодня сама возможность проведения массового ночного события в центре крупного города России внутри культурной институции является исключением из правил, возможностью вообразить и переосмыслить рейв.

— Никита Рассказов, куратор проекта

Приквелом к рейву в «ГЭС-2» станет перформанс Алексея Таруца «44+1 колонна, гипербас — это лава». Художник исследует проблематику соприсутствия на массовом музыкальном событии и переживание его психофизиологических аспектов. Подобное мегасобытие, насыщенное средствами сенсорной стимуляции — киловатты света и звука, гипербас, стробоскоп, — стремится преодолеть стресс от пронизанной технологиями реальности через еще больший технологический шок.

Проект «Третья часть ночи» обращается к главному вопросу рейв-культуры: как работает эта музыка? Энергия электронного звучания и анонимность на танцполе стимулируют невербальные формы познания и общения, из которых складывается коллективное тело, где каждый понимает свободу по-своему. На одну ночь «ГЭС-2» окажется пространством, где можно ощутить, как устроены и насколько подвижны границы общего и личного опыта.

Программа

Алексей Таруц с перформансом «44+1 колонна, гипербас — это лава»

Новые композиторы (live)

Kirill Shapovalov b2b Santa Valentina

Shadowax (live)

DJ 1985 presents DJ 1992

WULFFLUW XCIV

Sofia Rodina

Signal iz Militsii

Тальник (live)