On My Own. A series of art workshops for women

Date:
16 Jan–11 Mar 2022
Place:
GES-2
18+
Season: 

A series of art workshops led by the artist Natalya Nikulenkova for women performing affective labour and experiencing burnout.

Affective labour is work aimed at changing other people's emotional states — for example, sparking joy or creating a sense of security. One of its forms is care work — caring for children, relatives with disabilities or serious illnesses, as well as patients in rehabilitation centres and hospices. This kind of labour is usually gender-typed and generally perceived as “typically female”. Cyclical, endless and monotonous, it goes unnoticed, although it is a physically and psychologically complex work.

The title On My Own is borrowed from the first women's talk show on Russian television, which ran from 1995-2001, about the same time as the Santa Barbara TV series. The programme’s protagonists talked openly about their family problems, issues with men or their careers, and they discussed them with the studio audience. This popular programme  was awarded a TEFI television prize and was one of the crowning achievements of post-Soviet feminist discourse.

At the On My Own workshops of Natalya Nikulenkova, we’ll explore the phenomenon of care work. An empathetic and supportive environment will encourage participants to share their emotions and discuss their experiences with others who find themselves in similar circumstances. The method of narrative self-help will complement artistic practices.

Natalia Nikulenkova. Captured Bodies (performance documentation), 2021
Photo by Tatiana Sushenkova
We cultural workers should create art that is drawn from everyday life and made up of the material of human relationships. To a large extent, we do this for the sake of our own mental survival, so we won't be overwhelmed by a sense of doom that we can't do anything about. In the master classes, we will try to create a space for comfortable and trusting exchanges of personal experience that in the future might serve as material for comic books about female superheroes overcoming everyday difficulties. A tutor will provide psychoanalytic supervision at the classes. The groups will meet with the psychologist Olga Bronnikova, who will help collect feedback (asking questions like “how was the session?”) and have personal supportive talks with participants should the need arise.

Natalia Nikulenkova, workshop leader of the On My Own project.

People who care for loved ones with serious illnesses or whose professional activity is associated with care labour will invent a comic book about superheroines. Before the start of the master classes, Natalya Nikulenkova will conduct a series of interviews with future participants to decide on the storylines that will form the basis of the script. The workshop will include consultations by a professional psychologist, Olga Bronnikova. The project will result in a comic-book zine.

Natalya Nikulenkova  is an artist and activist. She creates video art and projects based on documentary material, combining social activism with artistic statements that explore interactive practices. She is a co-founder of the interdisciplinary collective Union of Convalescents, an artistic initiative that explores the construction of psychological normativity.

Olga Bronnikova is a clinical psychologist and psychoanalyst, a graduate of the Moscow State University of Psychology and Education and the Bekhterev St. Petersburg Psychoneurological Research Institute. Since 2007, she has her own private psychotherapy practice for children and adults. She completed internships at European mental health clinics. For over ten years, she has been engaged in the Apartment project, which provides assistance to people with mental health problems.

/

Я сама. Серия воркшопов для женщин

Дата:
16–30 янв 2022
Место:
ГЭС-2
18+

Серия воркшопов художницы Натальи Никуленковой для женщин, которые занимаются аффективным трудом и испытывают синдром выгорания

Аффективным трудом принято называть деятельность, направленную на то, чтобы изменить эмоциональное состояние других, — например, вызвать радость или создать ощущение безопасности. Одной из его разновидностей является труд заботы (care work) — уход за детьми, родственниками с инвалидностью или серьезными заболеваниями, а также пациентами реабилитационных центров и хосписов. Обычно такая работа гендерно окрашена и представляется «типично женской». Цикличная, бесконечная и монотонная, она остается незамеченной, хотя физически и психологически сложна.

Название «Я сама» заимствовано у первого на российском телевидении женского ток-шоу, которое шло в 1995–2001 годах — примерно в то же время, что и сериал «Санта-Барбара». Героини программы открыто рассказывали о своих проблемах в семье, с мужчинами, в карьере и обсуждали их с аудиторией в студии. Получившая телевизионную премию ТЭФИ популярная передача стала одним из главных достижений в постсоветском феминистском дискурсе.

На воркшопах Натальей Никуленковой «Я сама» мы изучим феномен труда заботы. Атмосфера эмпатии и поддержки будет располагать к тому, чтобы поделиться переживаниями и обсудить свой опыт с другими участницами, оказавшимися в схожих жизненных обстоятельствах. Метод нарративной самопомощи дополнит художественные практики.

Наталья Никуленкова. «Захваченные тела», документация перформанса, 2021
Фото: Татьяна Сушенкова
Мы как работники культурного труда должны заниматься искусством, которое возникает из повседневности и состоит из социальной материи, где человеческие взаимоотношения являются ключевыми. Во многом мы делаем это ради собственной ментального выживания. Ради того, чтобы не чувствовать, как вокруг разворачивается нечто фатальное, а ты ничего с этим не можешь сделать. На мастер-классах мы постараемся создать поле для комфортного и доверительного обмена личным опытом, который в дальнейшем может послужить материалом для создания комиксов о женщинах-супергероинях, преодолевающих повседневные трудности. Для подобных занятий нужна психоаналитическая супервизия тьютора. Группы будут сопровождаться встречами с психологом Ольгой Бронниковой, которая поможет собрать обратную связь («как прошло занятие?») и провести личную поддерживающую беседу с участницей, если возникнет такая необходимость.

Наталья Никуленкова, художница, ведущая воркшопов проекта «Я сама»

Те, кто ухаживает за близкими с серьезными заболеваниями, и те, чья профессиональная деятельность связана с трудом заботы придумают комикс о супергероинях. Перед началом мастер-классов Наталья Никуленкова проведет серию интервью с будущими участницами, чтобы определить сюжетные линии, который лягут в основу сценария. Воркшоп будут сопровождать консультации профессионального психолога Ольги Бронниковой. Итогом проекта станет выпуск зина с комиксом.

Наталья Никуленкова — художница, активистка. Занимается видео-артом и проектами, основанными на документальных материалах. В своих работах объединяет социальный активизм с художественным высказываниям, исследуя практики взаимодействия. Соосновательница междисциплинарного коллектива «Союз выздоравливающих» — художественной инициативы, исследующей конструирование психической нормы.

Ольга Бронникова — клинический психолог, психоаналитик. Окончила МГППУ и Санкт-Петербургский научно-исследовательский психоневрологический институт им. В. М. Бехтерева. С 2007 года занимается частной психотерапевтической практикой с детьми и взрослыми. Проходила стажировки в европейских клиниках психического здоровья. Более десяти лет занимается проектом «Квартира», который оказывает помощь людям с психическими нарушениями.

/