Mark Buloshnikov.
Moments

Date:
15 Jul–30 Sep 2022
Place:
Prospekt
6+
Project: 

At the centre of Mark Buloshnikov’s concept lies an attempt to understand the genre of musical installation not as a static, looped, and repeating form, but as a dynamic one which develops in time and space.

Each of the successive six hours of moments corresponds to a particular musical key. In parallel, the rhythm gradually speeds up, from a slow to a fractional pulse, while the instrumentation becomes more and more diverse.

Musical material is repeated only once in this over-large form—a slow foxtrot is heard at the very beginning and at the very end of the composition. Its melodic echoes are heard throughout the piece—changing duration and timbre coloration, fragments of this foxtrot, lasting from 3–10 seconds, appear and disappear against a background of long notes by string instruments separated by pauses. This “background” to the installation has a double meaning: it both resembles the process of tuning musical instruments itself and, metaphorically, suggests a tuning to something higher.

Image by
Ruslan Shavaleev

The space of location and time is inevitably filled with events—often fleeting and barely perceptible, but hinting at something more. It is as though we had awaited a downpour, but found only fine rain. The storm approached and passed us by, but all the same our memory picks up the signals and knows about the storm, just as a leaf stores information about the entire tree. In short, even the most modest of material has its own DNA and rich information. Moments is a space of the possible in which the understatement and fragmentation of the message, coupled with the softness and care of presentation, refer to the anticipation and expectation of our listener’s perception, reacting to musical signs. In this case we take signals as a kind of narrative. However, such forms can also be perceived as non-narrative, as a peculiar enumeration of musical moments.

— Mark Buloshnikov

Precisely which elements of the pre-recorded material will sound out at any given moment is determined by a computer programme, making all the harmonic combinations of Moments unintentional, and allowing the piece’s soundscape to endlessly renew itself.

Mark Buloshnikov (Nizhny Novgorod, 1990) is a composer. He is a graduate of the Glinka Nizhny Novgorod State Conservatory, where he studied composition under Boris Getselev and musicology under Tamara Leva. He went on to complete an assistant-traineeship with Boris Getselev. He is a laureate of the Step to the Left international composing competition. He is the NoName ensemble’s artistic director and pianist, and the Chairman of the Nizhny Novgorod branch of the Union of Russian Composers.

Audio-engineer: Andrey Titov-Vrublevsky
Performers: Moscow contemporary music ensemble

/

Марк Булошников.
Мгновения

Дата:
15 июл–30 сен 2022
Место:
Проспект
6+
Проект: 

В основе замысла Марка Булошникова лежит попытка осмыслить жанр музыкальной инсталляции не как статическую — закольцованную и многократно повторяемую, а как динамическую форму, которая развивается во времени и в пространстве.

Шести часам звучания «Мгновений» соответствуют шесть музыкальных тональностей, сменяющие друг друга каждые шестьдесят минут. Параллельно учащается ритм, от медленного пульса доходя до частого и дробного, а инструментовка становится все более разнообразной.

Музыкальный материал в этой сверхкрупной форме повторяется только дважды, когда в самом начале и в самом конце звучит медленный фокстрот. Его мелодические отголоски можно услышать на протяжении всего произведения: меняя продолжительность и тембровую окраску, осколки этого фокстрота продолжительностью от 3 до 10 секунд возникают и исчезают на фоне разделенных паузами длинных нот струнных инструментов. У такого «фундамента» инсталляции двойная смысловая роль: он звучит как рабочий процесс настройки музыкальных инструментов и одновременно метафорически — как настройка на что-то большее.

Фото:
Руслан Шавалеев

Пространство местности и времени неизбежно наполнено событиями — зачастую кратковременными и едва уловимыми, но намекающими на нечто большее. Как если бы мы ожидали сильного ливня, но застали лишь моросящий дождь. Буря надвигалась и прошла стороной, а память все равно улавливает эти сигналы и знает о буре, как лист сохраняет информацию о целом дереве. Словом, даже самая скромная материя имеет свою ДНК с богатой информацией. «Мгновения» — это пространство возможного, где недосказанность и фрагментарность сообщения вкупе с мягкостью и осторожностью подачи отсылают к предчувствию и ожиданию нашего слушательского восприятия, реагирующего на музыкальные знаки. В этом случае мы принимаем сигналы как некое повествование. Однако подобная форма может восприниматься и не нарративно, а в качестве своеобразного перечня музыкальных мгновений

— Марк Булошников

Какие именно элементы из заранее записанного звукового материала будут воспроизводиться в тот или иной момент, определяет компьютерная программа, поэтому гармонические сочетания «Мгновений» получаются непреднамеренными, а звуковой ландшафт пьесы бесконечно обновляется.

Марк Булошников (Нижний Новгород, 1990) — композитор. Окончил Нижегородскую государственную консерваторию им. М. И. Глинки (класс композиции Бориса Гецелева, класс музыковедения Тамары Левой) и ассистентуру-стажировку под руководством Бориса Гецелева. Лауреат Международного конкурса композиторов «Шаг влево». Художественный руководитель и пианист NoName-ensemble. Председатель Нижегородского регионального отделения Союза композиторов России.

Аудиоинженер: Андрей Титов-Врублевский
Исполнители: Московский ансамбль современной музыки

/