Ivan Bushuev. I campi dei ricordi

Date:
15 Jul–30 Sep 2022
Place:
Prospekt
6+
Project: 

The “field” in the name of Ivan Bushuev’s installation has a number of meanings. Along with a “field of thought, ” that is, a sum of associations, the word is a reference to “field recordings”—recordings of the sounds of an environment. Finally campo—field, clearing—is the name given open urban spaces in Venice, each of the many islands has its own main meeting-place, or campo. Strictly speaking, the area in front of Saint Mark’s Cathedral is the only piazza (square) in the city.

I campi dei ricordi includes field recordings of works by the Venetian composer Giovanni Gabrieli, made during the final concert of the Tuning project’s programme in May 2022. Gabrieli composed his Canzoni especially for Saint Mark’s Cathedral, taking into account the basillica’s structure. a cross with many galleries and niches, in which the composer positioned his musicians. The audience, sat on the ground floor of the cathedral, followed the movement of sound above, from gallery to gallery. One of Gabrieli’s most frequently used devices was the echo—when one and the same musical phrase is repeated from a number of different points. For the concert at GES-2, the musicians of the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble were distributed throughout the House of Culture in approximately the same way.

Image by
Ruslan Shavaleev

In my work with electronic music, I have always been interested in juxtaposing spaces and memories, in attempting to convey the acoustics of a place that heard only inwardly. Music lives in the consciousness and subconsciousness of an author constantly, where it is joined by the sounds of the city, mixed with memories of other music and events that took place in in various places. Memory undergoes constant transformations, generating something new which might never have existed in reality. Images are romanticized, and a new layer appears, a variation of the original memory.
Working on the installation, I thought of the different ways the Canzoni might have sounded to Gabrieli himself—in his own head, under Saint Mark’s vaulted ceiling, on noisy Venetian campos. How did the composer feel the difference between these acoustics? I campi dei ricordi is composed of fragments, which are at first glance entirely unrelated to one another, but united by a common theme—memory. The memory of light, sound, smells, and of those acoustics that have surrounded and surround us. I have imagined each field—campo—as a separate space, with its own events, flashbacks, and landscapes.

— Ivan Bushuev

Gabrieli’s Canzoni sound out alongside recordings made during different days of the Tuning project—echoes of the Resonance installation by Vangelino Currentzis which previously occupied the Prospekt, along with other noises made in this space are heard here. The entire composition might be thought of as an acoustic memory.

Ivan Bushuev (Moscow, 1984) is a composer, conductor, flautist, a soloist of the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble and the author of the electronic music project nerest. He is a graduate of the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory’s historical and contemporary performing arts faculty. He has trained at the Baroque Academy in Gmunden (Austria), studied the traverse flute and modern flute in Milan, and studied as an exchange student at the Jan Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam. He is a laureate of a number of international competitions.

Audio-engineer: Andrey Titov Vroublevsky

/

Иван Бушуев.
I campi dei ricordi
(«Поля воспоминаний»)

Дата:
15 июл–30 сен 2022
Место:
Проспект
6+
Проект: 

«Поля» в названии инсталляции Ивана Бушуева имеют несколько значений. Помимо «смыслового поля», то есть суммы ассоциаций, это отсылка к «полевым записям» (field recordings) — записям звуков окружающей среды. Наконец, campo («поле, поляна») — это название открытого городского пространства в Венеции, где на каждом из множества островов есть свое главное место встречи, свое кампо. Формально площадью — пьяццей — именуется только пространство перед собором Святого Марка.

В I campi dei ricordi звучат полевые записи музыки венецианца Джованни Габриели (1556–1612), сделанные на Проспекте Дома культуры «ГЭС-2» во время заключительного концерта первой части проекта «Настройки», в мае 2022 года. Канцоны Габриели написаны специально для собора Святого Марка: эта базилика в плане представляет собой крест со множеством галерей и ниш, где композитор располагал музыкантов. Публика сидела внизу и следила за перемещениями звука от галереи к галерее. Чаще всего в таких случаях использовался эффект эха, когда одна и та же музыкальная фраза повторялась с нескольких разных точек. Примерно так же распределились слушатели и музыканты Московского ансамбля современной музыки на концерте в «ГЭС-2».

Фото:
Руслан Шавалеев

В работе с электронной музыкой меня всегда интересовали сопоставления пространств и воспоминаний, попытки передать акустику места, которая существует только в моем внутреннем слухе. Музыка живет в сознании и подсознании автора постоянно, соединяясь с шумами города, перемешиваясь с воспоминаниями о другой музыке или о событиях, которые происходили с ним в тех или иных местах. Память беспрерывно переживает трансформации, генерируя что-то новое, чего, возможно, никогда не существовало в реальности. Эти образы романтизируются, и возникает новый пласт, вариация основного воспоминания.
Работая над инсталляцией, я думал о том, как по-разному мог слышать свои канцоны сам Габриели — в собственной голове, под сводами Сан-Марко, на шумных венецианских кампо. Как композитор ощущал разницу этих акустик? I campi dei ricordi состоят из фрагментов, на первый взгляд совершенно не связанных друг с другом, но объединенных ключевой темой — памятью. Памятью о свете, звуке, запахе и тех акустиках, которые нас окружали и окружают. Я представил себе, что каждое поле (campo) — это отдельное пространство, со своими событиями, флешбэками и звуковыми ландшафтами

— Иван Бушуев

Канцоны Габриели сосуществуют с записями, сделанными в другие дни работы «Настроек»: здесь слышатся отзвуки инсталляции Вангелино Курентзиса «Резонанс», ранее занимавшей Проспект, и прочие шумы, населяющие это пространство. Все сочинение превращается в акустическое воспоминание.

Иван Бушуев (Москва, 1984) — композитор, дирижер, флейтист, автор электронного музыкального проекта nerest, солист Московского ансамбля современной музыки. Окончил факультет исторического и современного исполнительского искусства Московской государственной консерватории им. П. И. Чайковского. Стажировался в Барочной академии в Гмундене (Австрия), занимался траверс-флейтой и современной флейтой в Милане, учился по обмену в Консерватории имени Яна Свелинка в Амстердаме. Лауреат международных конкурсов.

Аудиоинженер: Андрей Титов-Врублевский

/