It Seemed That You Imagined It. Dance procession

Date:
4 Dec 2021—13 Mar 2022
Place:
GES-2
6+

A dance performance that invites everyone in the audience to make a journey from the festival’s imaginary facade to inner liberation.

It Seemed That You Imagined It is the culmination of the project When Gondola Engines Were Taken to Bits — A Carnival in Four Acts, a dance procession in which the transformative power of the carnival is fully revealed. As the authors explore celebration in a public space as a cultural phenomenon, they will try to create the dramatic structure to reach collective joy. The performance will take place throughout the entire GES-2 space in continuous motion.

Image by Nikita Chuntomov

Choreographer Tatiana Chizhikova, set designer Polina Bakhtina and sound designer Sergei Kasich take as their starting point the general state of society during the pandemic, when every once routine activity, such as going to a museum or boarding a plane, required additional effort. Using work with heavy props and voluminous costumes as the basis for the choreography, they encourage the performers and musicians to immerse themselves in this fabricated conflict with their surroundings. Will the participants in the procession be able to experience shared joy when they must exert such effort, especially physical effort? Will they be able to relive the half-remembered feeling of a real celebration?

The performance will involve 50 dancers and 10 musicians who will meet and overcome various challenges along the way. Visitors to GES-2 can join the collective body of the procession. Since they find themselves in an unfamiliar situation, they might try on a new identity and remember the rare sense of all-inclusive celebration and a feeling of connection to others. It Seemed That You Imagined It is a “rehearsal” of a carnival, an attempt to imagine what it could be like today.

Image by Margarita Denisova
A festival is not only a space of personal ecstasy, personal emotional high, strengthened by the collective, going beyond the limit. The festival is more important today as an event that legitimizes a gathering of people, which, in turn, affirms reality, the physicality of our connection to one another. Artists are drawn to the idea of a celebration as an urgent human need to feel a connection with another person’s body through dance and bodily transgression, to feel a certain common feeling, harmony, a pure sense of joy.

– Olga Tsvetkova, curator of the procession

Participants

Tatiana Chizhikova is a dancer, choreographer and teacher of modern dance. Participant of the SOTA educational programme. Winner of the 2019 ImPulsTanz [8: tension] festival award in Vienna with her performance Time to Time (2019). Winner of the Golden Mask theatre award (2020). Participated in the V–A–C project Expanding Space. Out of the Centre.

Polina Bakhtina is an artist and set designer known for her integral approach in the field of scenic and performative arts. She has created many experimental performances as a set designer and costume designer. Author of the Russia stand at the Prague Quadrennial, for which she was awarded the gold medal. Winner of the Breakthrough Award and Golden Mask theatre award. Curator of the scenography course at the British Higher School of Design.

Sergey Kasich is an interdisciplinary artist, developer of interactive installations, curator, musician. Initiator and curator of the Moscow SA))_Gallery of sound art and Moscow SA)) _Studio of experimental sound and multimedia technologies. In 2015, he supervised the Russian sound art showcase at the Ars Electronica — 2015 festival (Linz, Austria). His works have been displayed at numerous exhibitions and festivals around the world.

Anastasia Proshutinskaya is a curator and researcher of modern dance. From 2012 to 2018, she worked at the ZIL cultural center, where she organized residencies for young choreographers and created new stage works. In 2019, she became a jury member of the [8:tension] young choreographers’ series at the ImPulsTanz festival (Vienna).


/

Думаю, вам показалось. Танцевальная процессия

Дата:
6 мар 2022
Место:
ГЭС-2
6+

Танцевальная процессия, предлагающая каждому пройти путь от выдуманного фасада праздника к внутреннему освобождению.

«Думаю, вам показалось» — кульминация проекта «Я моторы гондолы разбираю на части. Карнавал в четырех действиях», танцевальное шествие, в котором во всей полноте должна проявиться преобразующая сила карнавала. Исследуя праздник в публичном пространстве как культурный феномен, авторы процессии попробуют выстроить драматургию совместного достижения радости. Спектакль в непрерывном движении пройдет по всей территории «ГЭС-2».

Фото: Никита Чунтомов

Хореограф Татьяна Чижикова, сценограф Полина Бахтина и художник по звуку Сергей Касич обращаются к общему состоянию общества в период пандемии, когда любое прежде привычное действие, будь то поход в музей или посадка на самолет, требует дополнительного напряжения. Взяв за основу хореографической партитуры работу с тяжелым реквизитом и объемными костюмами, они предлагают перформерам и музыкантам погрузиться в сконструированный конфликт с внешней средой. Смогут ли участники процессии, приложив усилия, в первую очередь физические, испытать совместную радость и заново пережить полузабытое ощущение настоящего праздника?

В перформансе задействованы 50 танцовщиков и 10 музыкантов, которые по пути следования будут сталкиваться с различными сложностями и преодолевать их. У посетителей «ГЭС-2» есть возможность присоединиться к коллективному телу процессии и, оказавшись в непривычной ситуации, примерить новую идентичность, вспомнить редкое чувство всеобщего празднования и ощущение своей связи с другими. «Думаю, вам показалось» — это «репетиция» карнавала, попытка представить себе, каким он мог бы быть сегодня.

Фото: Маргарита Денисова
Праздник — это не только место личного экстаза, личного максимума, усиленного группой, выход за предел. Сегодня праздник важнее тем, что он легитимирует собрание, которое подтверждает реальность, телесность нашей связанности с другими. Художники обращаются к празднику как к настойчивой необходимости через танец, через телесную трансгрессию почувствовать своим телом связь с другим человеком, нащупать некое общее чувство, созвучие, чистую радость.

— Ольга Цветкова, куратор процессии

Участники

Татьяна Чижикова — танцовщица, хореограф и преподаватель современного танца. Участник образовательной программы СОТА. Победитель конкурса [8:tension] фестиваля ImPulsTanz-2019 в Вене со своим перформансом «Время от времени» (2019), лауреат театральной премии «Золотая Маска» 2020 года. Участвовала в проекте V–A–C «Расширение пространства. Из центра».

Полина Бахтина — художник, сценограф, известная интегральным подходом в области сценических и перформативных искусств. Как сценограф и художник по костюмам является автором множества спектаклей экспериментальных форм. Обладатель Золотой медали и автор Российской экспозиции Prague Quadrennial, лауреат премий «Прорыв», «Золотая Маска». Куратор курса «Сценография» Британской высшей школы дизайна.

Сергей Касич — междисциплинарный художник, разработчик интерактивных инсталляций, куратор, музыкант. Инициатор и куратор Московской галереи звукового искусства SA))_gallery и Московской студии экспериментального звука и мультимедиа-технологий SA))_studio. В 2015 году курировал Russian Sound Art Showcase — программу проектов российских саунд-художников на фестивале Ars Electronica — 2015 (Линц, Австрия). Его работы были представлены на многочисленных выставках и фестивалях по всему миру.

Анастасия Прошутинская — куратор и исследовательница современного танца. С 2012 по 2018 год работала в Культурном центре ЗИЛ, где занималась организацией резиденций для молодых хореографов и созданием новых сценических работ. В 2019 году вошла в состав жюри [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series фестивал

/