Anton Svetlichny.
Forms of Tenderness

Date:
15 Jul–30 Sep 2022
Place:
Parking
6+
Project: 

This place where machines are at rest has been turned into a space of mechanical sleep by Anton Svetlichny—an “espace du sommeil, ” to borrow the French surrealist poet Robert Desnos’s expression.

As a rule, people tend not to linger in the House of Culture’s underground parking lot. The coldness of this space asks to be softened, its emptiness to be filled with comfort, with life (be it virtual one), with visitors (be they imaginary), to be made more supple and more unpredictable. At present, it is predominantly populated by cars, and they turn out to be the primary public of Forms of Tenderness.

Image by
Ruslan Shavaleev

For me, GES-2 is a utopia of conflictless existence, where one always finds a place for creativity, joy, tranquility. The space—permeated with light, full of air—allows for unhindered movement, playful possibilities, a diversity of routes. Things are different in the parking lot. When people find themselves here, they are, strictly speaking, already in the building, but in fact theys have yet to enter the “real House of Culture.” This observation gave rise to one of the tasks of this installation—to draw the Parking into the general mode of feeling at GES-2, select an audio analogue for it in order to achieve a similar emotional effect.

– Anton Svetlichny

Installation consists of a series of tracks recorded with the participation of live musicians on acoustic and electronic instruments. Though they are stylistically diverse—jazz, pop, electronic music, minimalism, ambient—each track is alike in working with images of tenderness, softness, lyricism, stasis, and rest. Then, the computer sets in—a real-time algorithm composes an endless and endlessly changing lullaby from the recordings, as it were lulling the void, just as the chorus of nannies in Tchaikovsky’s Iolanta lulls the opera’s blind protagonist.

Anton Svetlichny (Rostov-on-Don, 1982) is a composer and pianist. He is a graduate of the Rostov State Rachmaninov Conservatory’s composing faculty and a winner of the Pythian Games composing competition. He is a member of the “Resistance material” group of composers, and a co-founder of the contemporary music ensemble InEnsemble.

Performers

Elizaveta Boytsanova, flute
Anastasiya Kamenskaya, keyboards
Maria Kovalyova, voice
Sofia Kushnir, oboe
Tatiana Lukina, violin
Omar Saidov, drums
Ariy Samoylenko, saxophone
Anton Svetlichny, keyboards

Anna Serdyukova, guitar
Alexandra Serikova, voice
Ivan Sobolev, flute
Alexander Soldatenko, guitar
Kirill Tatyanko, guitar
Filipp Teratsuyan, bass guitar
Ilya Fokin, electronics
Alisa Shestunova, keyboards

Audio-engineer: Andrey Titov Vroublevsky

/

Антон Светличный.
Формы нежности

Дата:
15 июл–30 сен 2022
Место:
Парковка
6+
Проект: 

Место, где машины находятся в состоянии покоя, Антон Светличный превращает в пространство механического сна, les espaces du sommeil, как у французского поэта-сюрреалиста Робера Десноса.

На подземной Парковке Дома культуры люди, как правило, не задерживаются. Холод этого пространства требует смягчения, пустоте хочется добавить уюта, наполнить ее жизнью (пусть и виртуальной) и публикой (пусть и воображаемой), сделать более гибкой и непредсказуемой. Пока же здесь обитают в основном автомобили — и именно они оказываются главными слушателями «Форм нежности».

Фото:
Руслан Шавалеев

Для меня «ГЭС-2» — это утопия бесконфликтного существования, где всегда находится место творчеству, радости, спокойствию. Пронизанное светом пространство, полное воздуха и не стесняющее движений, настраивает на свободу перемещения, возможность игры, многовариантность маршрутов. Парковка же устроена иначе. Попадая сюда, человек технически уже находится внутри здания, но по сути войти в «настоящий Дом культуры» ему еще только предстоит. Из этого наблюдения вырастает одна из задач инсталляции: втянуть Парковку в общий для «ГЭС-2» режим чувствования, подобрать для него звуковой аналог, чтобы произвести похожий эмоциональный эффект

— Антон Светличный

Музыкальное содержание инсталляции — ряд треков, записанных с участием настоящих музыкантов на акустических и электронных инструментах. Стилистически разнообразные (джаз, поп, электронная музыка, минимализм, эмбиент), все они одинаково работают с образами нежности, мягкости, лирики, статики, покоя. Затем в дело вступает компьютер: алгоритм в реальном времени составляет из записей бесконечную и постоянно изменчивую колыбельную, которая убаюкивает пустоту, как хор нянюшек в «Иоланте» Чайковского убаюкивает слепую главную героиню.

Антон Светличный (Ростов-на-Дону, 1982) — композитор, пианист. Окончил Ростовскую государственную консерваторию им. С. В. Рахманинова по классу композиции. Победитель конкурса композиторов «Пифийские игры». Член группы композиторов «Сопротивление материала» («СоМа»). Сооснователь ансамбля современной музыки InEnsemble.

Исполнители

Елизавета Бойцанова, флейта
Анастасия Каменская, клавиши
Мария Ковалева, голос
София Кушнир, гобой
Татьяна Лукина, скрипка
Омар Саидов, ударные
Арий Самойленко, саксофон
Антон Светличный, клавиши

Анна Сердюкова, гитара
Александра Серикова, голос
Иван Соболев, флейта
Александр Солдатенко, гитара
Кирилл Татьянко, гитара
Филипп Терацуян, бас-гитара
Илья Фокин, электроника
Алиса Шестунова, клавиши

Аудиоинженер: Андрей Титов-Врублевский

/