The False Calculations Presidium

Date:
15 Feb–14 Apr 2012
Place:
Museum of Entrepreneurs, Patrons of Art and Philanthropists

Young artists sum up their sense of how they are economic subjects and that this is an unavoidable process.

The exhibition featuring young artists from Russia, Ukraine, the Czech Republic, Austria, the Netherlands and France questions the nature and the role of the market economy in our lives, summing up artists’ own experience as economic subjects. The False Calculations Presidium is an attempt to elicit artists’ responses to global economic processes and crises that are also occurring in contemporary art.

Regardless of whether or not one has knowledge of the mechanisms of the modern economy, everyone needs to navigate the world of their own needs and limited resources. The pressure of economic necessity is so strong that it leads to the assumption that free market — an environment which is often perceived as openly hostile — is the only possible environment for the interaction of human interests.  The incredible, at times bordering on absurd, complexity of modern financial capitalism leads to growing alienation and heightened artistic and political vigilance.

The False Calculations Presidium questions the essence and role of the market economy in our lives, summarising the experiences of young artists in experiencing themselves as economic actors.

The exhibition is held in the ruined space of the building of the Museum of Business and Philanthropy which fits perfectly into the context of the project. Its state of ruin was the result of conflict between two business entities.

V–A–C aims to expand the territory of art and create living connections with the city, reconstructing the mechanisms of cultural memory through current artistic practices. Museums, houses of culture, research institutes and production spaces are all genuine depositories of the city dwellers' cultural memory, an instrument of critical perspective and a source of sensual urbanism. Today, however, these spaces are turning into ruins of cultural life, while the autonomous existence of art in a museum-gallery context leads to a loss of connections with the city and self-isolation. Giving them new life is one of the tasks of the project.

Participants
Ivan Brazhkin, Aleksei Buldakov, Alexander Verevkin, Anna Witt, Alisa Ioffe, Irina Korina, Camille Lorelli, Alisa Nikitinova, Dmitry Potemkin, Anastasia Potemkina, Nikolay Ridnyi, Anastasia Ryabova, Maxim Spivakov, Zachary Formwalt, Vladislav Shapovalov

Project concept
Anastasia Ryabova

Президиум ложных калькуляций

Дата:
15 фев–14 апр 2012
Место:
Музей предпринимателей, меценатов и благотворителей

Выставка молодых художников из России, Украины, Чехии, Австрии, Голландии и Франции, размышляющих о сущности и роли рыночной экономики.

Проект «Президиум ложных калькуляций» — это попытка зафиксировать реакцию художников на глобальные экономические процессы, которые происходят в том числе и на территории современного искусства, ставшего экспериментальной площадкой свободного предпринимательства.

Вне зависимости от наличия или отсутствия знаний о механизмах современной экономики каждому необходимо ориентироваться в мире собственных потребностей и ограниченных ресурсов. Давление экономической необходимости столь сильно, что ведет к восприятию свободного рынка как единственно возможной среды взаимодействия человеческих интересов — при этом зачастую эта среда воспринимается как откровенно враждебная. Невероятная, порой граничащая с абсурдом сложность устройства современного финансового капитализма ведет к росту отчуждения и обострению художественной и политической бдительности.

«Президиум ложных калькуляций» ставит вопрос о сущности и роли рыночной экономики в нашей жизни, суммируя опыт молодых художников в ощущении себя экономическими субъектами.

Музей предпринимателей и меценатов предоставил для выставки часть своего помещения — зону конфликта интересов двух хозяйствующих субъектов. Это полуразрушенное пространство — фрагмент возможного будущего, где рыночные отношения стали музейным экспонатом.

V–A–C стремится расширить территорию искусства и создать живые связи с городом, реконструируя механизмы культурной памяти посредством актуальных художественных практик. Музеи, дома культуры, НИИ и производственные пространства — все это подлинные депозитарии культурной памяти горожанина, инструмент критической перспективы и источник чувственного урбанизма. Однако сегодня эти пространства превращаются в руины культурной жизни, в то время как автономное существование искусства в музейно-галерейном контексте приводит его к утрате связей с городом и самоизоляции. Придать им новую жизнь — одна из задач проекта.

Автор идеи
Анастасия Рябова

Участники
Иван Бражкин, Алексей Булдаков, Александр Веревкин, Анна Вит, Алиса Йоффе, Ирина Корина, Камиль Лорелли, Алиса Никитинова, Дмитрий Потемкин, Анастасия Потемкина, Николай Ридный, Анастасия Рябова, Максим Спиваков, Закари Формвальт, Владислав Шаповалов/supostat.org

/