Pedagogical Poem. Public Programme

Date:
16 Mar–30 Nov 2012
Place:
Presnya Historical and Memorial Museum

During the course of ten months at the Presnya Museum three to four comprehensive lectures take  place each week, and regular seminars and master classes are held throughout.

Pedagogical Poem was conceived by the artists and theorists of contemporary art Arseniy Zhilyaev and Ilya Budraitskis. “From the very beginning, the programme was not merely interdisciplinary, but was fundamentally based on the desire to create common space of discussion and equality, in which theorists and historians, curators and artists would interact organically with one another,” Budraitskis says. “The framework of history as a direction, as a frame of reference, as a way of thinking and creating, in this case comprised both historical knowledge itself and the constant productive questioning of it”.

An important current of thought was the so-called “theory of history” — the direction set in international thought by such critics of the historical narrative as Hayden White, Arthur Danto, and Franklin Ankersmit. “It became the main topic of both the presentation by Andrey Oleynikov, the leading Russian specialist in the field of theory of history, and my own course of lectures,” Budraitskis continues. “Vladlen Loginov, the greatest contemporary biographer of Lenin, and Yaroslav Leontiev, the researcher of the legendary pre-revolutionary Party of Socialist Revolutionaries, spoke about their own research, its links to their own thoughts and to the present social context. A significant event was the lecture by the Hungarian historian Tamas Kende, who focused on the dramatic transformation of museums in Eastern Europe… A brilliant conclusion to this thread of the Pedagogical Poem and to the entire project was a lecture by the philosopher Michael Löwy on Walter Benjamin’s philosophy of history.

"The project’s key thematic unit concerned the interaction of history and contemporary art and was represented by the performances of such leading curators for the Russian stage as Ekaterina Degot and Viktor Misiano. Each of them has created projects in their time, without which it is now difficult to imagine the history of Russian curatorship at all — Battle for the Flag (2008) and Progressive Nostalgia (2007) respectively. The theme of tradition and experience has become a defining one in the artistic practices of such diverse artists as Anatoly Osmolovsky, Yevgeniy Fiks, Dmitry Vilensky, Avdey Ter-Oganyan. The links between the urban space and the history of the oppressed concealed in dramatic transformations has been consistently explored by the Dutch artist Jeanne van Heeswijk, who also presented a piece in the Pedagogical Poem with a colourful tale about her own work. A provocative reading of the problem of experience was presented by a leading Russian theatre director, Mikhail Ugarov, who heads the experimental Moscow theatre.doc.

"It is also difficult to overestimate the significance for the project of a series of speeches on modern critical theory, presented by the philosophers Alexei Penzin, Igor Chubarov and Maria Chehonadskikh."

Participants
Kirill Alexeyev, Vladimir Arkhipov, Alexander Bikbov, Olga Briukhovetskaya, Dmitri Vilensky, ZIL Group, Ekaterina Degot, Olga Zhitlina, Vadim Zakharov, Michael Löwy, Alexander Ivanov, Nikita Kadan, Tamás Kende, Egor Koshelev, Marijan Crtalic, Vladlen Loginov, Kirill Medvedev, Andrei Oleynikov, Nikolay Oleynikov, Anatoly Osmolovsky, Alexei Penzin, Sergei Popov, Kirill Svetlyakov, Nataliya Smolyanskaya, Vlad Safronov, Teatr.doc, Avdey Ter-Oganyan, Stanislav Tiutiukin, Evgeny Fiks, Jeanne van Heeswijk, Olga Chernysheva, Maria Chehonadskih, Igor Chubarov, Hito Steyerl.

/

Педагогическая поэма. Публичная программа

Дата:
16 мар–30 ноя 2012
Место:
Историко-мемориальный музей «Пресня»

В течение 10 месяцев в музее «Пресня» проходит по три-четыре полноценные лекции в неделю, а также регулярные семинары и мастер-классы.

«Педагогическую поэму» придумали художники и теоретики современного искусства Арсений Жиляев и Илья Будрайтскис. «Программа с самого начала была не просто междисциплинарной, но принципиально исходила из стремления создать единое дискуссионное и равноправное пространство, в котором теоретики и историки, кураторы и художники вступали бы в органичное взаимодействие друг с другом, — рассказывает Будрайтскис. — Рамки истории — как направления, как системы координат, как способа мыслить и творить — в данном случае заключали в себе и само историческое знание, и постоянное продуктивное сомнение в нем».

Важной линией является так называемая «теория истории» — направление, заданное в международной мысли такими критиками исторического нарратива, как Хейден Уайт, Артур Данто и Франклин Анкерсмит. «Именно она стала основной темой как выступления одного из ведущих российских специалистов в области «теории истории» Андрея Олейникова, так и моего авторского курса лекций, — продолжает Будрайтскис. — О своих исследованиях, их связи с собственной рефлексией и актуальным общественным контекстом говорили крупнейший современный биограф Ленина Владлен Логинов и исследователь легендарной дореволюционной партии социалистов-революционеров Ярослав Леонтьев. Примечательным событием была лекция венгерского историка Томаша Кенде, сосредоточившего свое внимание на драматической трансформации музеев в Восточной Европе. Блестящим завершением и этой линии «Педагогической поэмы», и всего проекта в целом стала лекция философа Михаэля Леви, посвященная философии истории Вальтера Беньямина.

Ключевой для проекта тематический блок, связанный с взаимодействием истории и современного искусства, представлен выступлениями таких важных для российской сцены кураторов, как Екатерина Дёготь и Виктор Мизиано. Каждый из них в свое время сделал проекты, без которых сейчас уже сложно представить себе историю российского кураторства как таковую: «Борьба за знамя» (2008) и «Прогрессивная ностальгия» (2007) соответственно. Тема традиции и опыта стала определяющей в художественных практиках таких разных художников, как Анатолий Осмоловский, Евгений Фикс, Дмитрий Виленский, Авдей Тер-Оганьян и Егор Кошелев. Тему связи с городским пространством и скрытой в его драматических трансформациях истории угнетенных последовательно развивает голландская художница Джинни ван Хеесвик, также выступающая в рамках «Педагогической поэмы» с ярким рассказом о своем творчестве. Неожиданное прочтение проблемы опыта представлено ведущим российским театральным режиссером, возглавляющим экспериментальный московский Театр.doc, — Михаилом Угаровым. Сложно переоценить важность для проекта также серии выступлений о современной критической теории, представленных философами Алексеем Пензиным, Игорем Чубаровым и Марией Чехонадских».

Участники проекта
Кирилл Алексеев, Владимир Архипов, Александр Бикбов, Ольга Брюховецкая, Дмитрий Виленский, группировка «ЗИП», Екатерина Дёготь, Ольга Житлина, Вадим Захаров, Михаэль Лёви (Michael Lowy), Александр Иванов, Никита Кадан, Томаш Кенде (Tamas Kende), Егор Кошелев, Мариян Крталич (Marijan Crtalic), Владлен Логинов, Кирилл Медведев, Андрей Олейников, Николай Олейников, Анатолий Осмоловский, Алексей Пензин, Давид Рифф, Сергей Попов, Кирилл Светляков, Наталья Смолянская, Влад Сафронов, Театр.doc, Авдей Тер-Оганян, Станислав Тютюкин, Евгений Фикс, Джинни ван Хеесвик (Jeanne van Heeswijk), Ольга Чернышева, Мария Чехонадских, Игорь Чубаров, Хито Штейерль (Hito Steyerl)

/