Human Commonalities. Exhibiton

Date:
10 Sep–30 Oct 2016
Place:
Vadim Sidur Museum

A joint project between the V–A–C Foundation and the Manege Moscow Museum and Exhibition Hall explores how people with disabilities perceive art and what can help to include them in the contemporary art process.

Human Commonalities is an interdisciplinary study which includes an exhibition, performances, film screenings and open talks. Its aim is not just to discuss how to integrate people with disabilities into the cultural process, but also to form a theoretical basis for artistic practices linked to the topic of disability or aimed at an audience of people with disabilities, and also to find strategies to help make artistic sense of these issues. In addition, the project should also be a step towards creating a truly accessible cultural space, one of the key principles behind the conception of GES-2.

The Vadim Sidur Museum was not randomly selected as the venue for this project: the theme of disability and trauma occupies one of the central places in the works of this sculptor. At the end of the 1980s they brought pupils and graduates of the Zagorsk boarding school for the blind and deaf children to Sidur's atelier and museum. Thus the museum became one of the first Russian cultural institution where people with visual and hearing impairments could become acquainted with contemporary art.

As part of the research part of the project, the Vadim Sidur Museum hosts a series of talks in which Russian and foreign art theorists, philosophers, teachers, psychologists, historians, sociologists, artists and curators take part. They discuss the specifics of working with the topic of disability, the history of its representation in art, the search for alternative forms of understanding it in terms of new artistic practices, as well as the interpretation of this problem in the 20th century philosophy, economics and other contexts.

The exhibition combines the works of Yuri Albert, Asta Gröting, Darrin Martin, Vadim Sidur, Alexandra Sukhareva, Fayen d’Evie, Sadie Wilcox. It helps to make sense of the perception of an artistic work and the process of creation in the face of physical differences between people.

The project also includes two performances by Fayen d’Evie, developed in the course of the artist’s interaction with deafblind people. The joint work of d’Evie along with Australian artist Sophie Takach, Prologue to the Contact with the Works of Vadim Sidur, is an attempt to adjust the mechanisms of the tactile perception of sculptures. And the performance Tactile Dialogue (Collective Action), created together with choreographer Shelley Lasica, is based on the idea of the physical interaction between the artist and participants, which occurs when they explore works of art together.

Specially for the project inauguration, the Vadim Sidur Museum creates an accessible environment for the blind and hard of hearing. With the assistance of specialists of the Con-nection deaf-blind support foundation, excursions for people with disabilities are be organized during the exhibition, and specially trained mediators participate in all the events.

Curators: Anna Ilchenko and Yaroslav Alyoshin.

Participating artists

Emanuel Almborg, Yuri Albert, Tatiana Basilova, Amanda Cachia, Maria Chekhonadskih, Keti Chukhrov, Fayen d’Evie, Asta Gröting, Simon Hayhoe, Alexander Kondakov, Andrey Maidanskiy, Darrin Martin, David Mitchell, Valery Podoroga, Irina Povolotskaya, Robert McRuer, Sharon Snyder, Alexandra Sukhareva, Alexander Suvorov, Sadie Wilcox, Elena Yarskaia-Smirnova.

Each project of the V–A–C Foundation is designed to contribute to the development of a more "adult", more conscious, and therefore more modern society. With the project at the Sidur Museum, we hope to combat the wording about "limited potential", common, but completely unacceptable in 2016. The anticipated restraints are just other possibilities, and they need to be treated as a resource for which conditions must be created. You can’t see the most important things with your eyes. Our perception is so blunted that we are ready to take the boundaries of our horizon for the boundaries of the entire world! Life proves every day that sight and vision are not identical. The real limitation is precisely the lack of vision, and I am deeply convinced that art is able to form it, regardless of any physical attributes.

— Teresa Iarocci Mavica, Director of the V–A–C Foundation

Общее целое. Выставка

Дата:
10 сен–30 окт 2016
Место:
Музей Вадима Сидура

Совместный проект фонда V–A–C и Музейно-выставочного объединения «Манеж» исследует, как воспринимают искусство люди с ограниченными возможностями здоровья и что может помочь им включиться в современный художественный процесс.

«Общее целое» — это междисциплинарное исследование, которое включает в себя выставку, перформансы, кинопоказ и открытую дискуссию. Цель проекта — не только обсудить, как интегрировать людей с инвалидностью в художественный процесс, но и сформировать теоретическую базу для художественных практик, связанных с темой инвалидности или направленных на аудиторию людей с ограниченными возможностями здоровья, а также найти стратегии, которые помогли бы художественно осмыслить эти вопросы. Кроме того, проект должен стать шагом к формированию доступной культурной среды — одного из ключевых принципов концепции ГЭС-2.

Музей Вадима Сидура выбран площадкой не случайно: тема инвалидности и травмы занимает одно из центральных мест в творчестве этого скульптора. В конце 1980-х в мастерскую и Музей Вадима Сидура привозили воспитанников и выпускников Загорского детского дома-интерната для слепоглухих. Таким образом, музей стал одним из первых в стране мест, где люди с нарушениями зрения и слуха могли познакомиться с современным искусством.

В рамках исследовательской части проекта в Музее Вадима Сидура проходят дискуссии с участием отечественных и зарубежных теоретиков искусства, философов, педагогов, психологов, историков и социологов, художников и кураторов. На них обсуждают специфику работы с темой инвалидности, историю ее репрезентации в искусстве, поиск альтернативных форм ее осмысления в рамках новых художественных практик, а также интерпретации этой проблемы в рамках философии ХХ века, современной экономики и других актуальных контекстах.

Выставка объединяет работы Юрия Альберта, Асты Грётинг, Дэррина Мартина, Вадима Сидура, Александры Сухаревой, Файен д’Эви, Сэди Уилкокс. Экспозиция помогает осмыслить восприятие художественного произведения, процесс творчества в условиях физических различий между людьми.

Также в рамках проекта проходят два перформанса Файен д’Эви, разработанные в ходе взаимодействия художницы со слепоглухими людьми. Совместная работа д’Эви с австралийской художницей Софи Такач «Пролог к соприкосновению с работами Вадима Сидура» — это попытка настроить механизмы тактильного восприятия скульптур. А перформанс «Тактильный диалог (коллективное действие)», созданный вместе с хореографом Шелли Ласика, основан на идее телесного взаимодействия между художницей и участниками, которое возникает, когда они вместе исследуют произведения искусства.

Специально к открытию проекта в Музее Вадима Сидура создана доступная среда для незрячих и слабослышащих. При содействии специалистов фонда поддержки слепоглухих «Со-единение» в рамках выставки организованы экскурсии для людей с ограниченными возможностями, а в выставке и круглых столах участвуют специально обученные медиаторы.

Кураторы — Анна Ильченко и Ярослав Алёшин

Каждый проект фонда V–A–C призван способствовать развитию более «взрослого», более сознательного, а стало быть, и более современного общества. Проектом в Музее Сидура мы надеемся бороться с расхожей, но совершенно недопустимой в 2016 году формулировкой об «ограниченных возможностях». Предполагаемые ограничения — это всего лишь другие возможности, и к ним необходимо относиться как к ресурсу, для реализации которого должны быть созданы условия. «Самого главного глазами не увидишь». Наше восприятие настолько притупилось, что мы готовы принимать границы своего горизонта за границы всего мира! Жизнь каждый день доказывает, что зрение и видение не тождественны. Реальным ограничением является именно отсутствие видения, и я глубоко убеждена, что искусство способно его сформировать, невзирая ни на какие физические особенности.

— Тереза Иароччи Мавика, директор фонда V–A–C

/