In Their Own Words: The Next Generation Women Artists Residency

23 Nov–14 Dec 2021

The three-year mentorship programme In Their Own Words: The Next Generation Women Artists Residency at the GES–2 House of Culture was launched in partnership with the CHANEL Culture Fund for game-changing Russian women artists working at the intersection of theatre, music, dance and video. The programme is designed to nurture an emerging generation of women artists, facilitating their professional development and inclusion in global culture, while also promoting gender equality.

Programme

The first mentorship programme “In Their Own Words: The Next Generation Women Artists Residency” at the GES–2 House of Culture starts on 31 January 2022.

Twelve female artists selected through an open call will take part in each five-months long module. From February to March, a series of intensive sessions and public lectures by prominent Russian and international dance, music and theatre practitioners will take place. After completing the preparatory phase, the residency participants will be able to pursue their own projects, preparing them for pitching. The projects that successfully pass the pitching will be implemented with the support of the V–A–C Foundation curators and producers and presented to the public at the GES–2 House of Culture in June 2022.

Programme mentors

Katherina Bakatsaki

Katerina is the lecturer in the Theater School in Utrecht University of the Arts (HKU). She has been a regular guest teacher, program advisor and mentor at various BA and MA programs in the universities of Amsterdam. She has choreographed, performed, conducted workshops and involved with interdisciplinary activity throughout Europe, in Chile, Taiwan, Iran and Japan. Katerina continuously develops atypical projects in semi-public spaces, and marginalized urban environments. From 1986-1993, she was a member of the Maijuku Performance Company in Japan, under the direction of Japanese dancer Min Tanaka. She has been involved in the Body Weather, a comprehensive training and performance practice that investigates the intersection of bodies and their environment founded by Min Tanaka. Since 1996, with Frank van de Ven she has led Body Weather-Amsterdam, a platform for training and performance research.

Chaya Czernowin

Composer, professor at Harvard University. Resident composer at the Salzburg Festival (2005/2006) and Lucerne Festival (2013). Author of opera works commissioned by the Munich Biennale (Pnima…ins Innere, 2000), the Salzburg Festival (Adama, 2006), Vlaamse Opera (Infinite Now, 2017) and Deutsche Oper Berlin (Heart Chamber, 2019). Recipient of the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize (2003), member of the Akademie der Künste, Berlin (since 2017) and the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts (since 2021).

Susanne Kennedy

Susanne lives and works as a theatre director in Berlin, Germany. She responds to the new balance of power between bodies, technical objects and machines with an aesthetic that is beyond the human. Distorted by masks, playback dialogue, doppelgängers and multimedia the actors embody the ancient question: what does it mean to be a human being? During the last years her work has gained international attention and is being shown at festivals like MITs Sao Paulo, Athens Epidaurus Festival and the Festwochen in Vienna. In 2017 she won the European Theatre Prize for New Theatrical Realities in Rome.

Nina Gasteva

Choreographer, dance artist, founder of the Saint Petersburg Performative Movement in dance and theatre. Lecturer and co-curator of the Master’s programme for contemporary choreographers at the Vaganova Russian Ballet Academy. Head of the Iguan Dance Theatre, choreographer for the Chto Delat art group. Winner of the Fringe Festival (Perm) and Upstream Foreign Producers' Prize at the Tsekh Festival (Moscow, 2007). Her art of dance is not a message, not broadcasting pre-conceptions about the world, but an attempt to present the audience with an unfolding fan of an infinite number of meanings and probabilities.

Sergey Nevsky

Composer and curator. Has composed for the Berlin State Opera, the Ruhrtriennale, the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, Klangforum Wien Ensemble (Austria), Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart Ensemble (Germany) and others. Has collaborated with directors Kirill Serebrennikov, Boris Yukhananov and Marat Gatsalov. Recipient of the Golden Mask Award (2014). Has curated the music section of the Platform project at Vinzavod. In 2020, Stuttgart saw the world premiere of Nevsky’s opera Secondhand-Zeit, based on the book Secondhand Time by Nobel Prize-winning author Svetlana Alexievich.

Viktor Ryzhakov

Director. Artistic director of the Sovremennik Theatre in Moscow, director of the Five Evenings Theatre Festival, professor at the Moscow Art Theatre School. Winner of Stanislavsky Prize For Contribution to Theatre Education. Author of plays Iran Conference (Theatre of Nations); Sasha, Take Out the Garbage and Sun Line (Meyerhold Theatre Centre); The Drunks, Illusions, Don’t Part with Your Beloved, Dreamworks (Chekhov Moscow Art Theatre); Uncontemporary Concert, Contemporary Concert, Around Chekhov. Three Sisters (Julyensemble), Tolstoy’s War and Peace (Tovstonogov Bolshoi Drama Theatre), An Optimistic Tragedy. A Farewell Ball (Alexandrinsky Theatre); Drunks, Dreamworks, The Hairdresser (National Theatre, Budapest) and others.

Open call

The selection of the participants for In Their Own Words: The Next Generation Women Artists Residency at the GES–2 House of Culture is open in three categories.

Theatre

Theatre directors and stage designers who explore artistic language and try to overcome conventional forms and approaches of the “old theatre”, referring to VR and AR technologies, video, performance and installations in their practices.

Dance

Choreographers working in various genres, whose artistic practice involves an experimental approach and openness to knowledge from the other areas of performing art.

Music

Composers and sound designers who see contemporary music as a polyphonic space for various artistic practices and want to engage with other performing arts.

Terms and Conditions

To take part in the open call, please fill the application form. The application form includes a motivational letter and the project description. You will also need to attach your portfolio and CV.

The final selection will be carried out by the programme mentors and the V–A–C Foundations curators.

The residency programme is aimed at female artists with experience of project work. Experience of collaborations with cultural institutions (museums, theatres, concert venues) will be an advantage. From February to June, the participants will receive a monthly stipend; they will also be allocated a budget for the implementation of their individual projects.

The applications are accepted until 14 December 2021.

The names of the selected participants will be announced on 30 December 2021.

FAQ

Do you consider applications from beginning artists?

Yes, we do consider beginners’ applications. An experience of work or showcasing (e.g., at festivals) is desirable, though.

Are there any age limits?

There is no age limit for participants of the full legal age.

I don’t live in Moscow. Can I apply?

Yes. The residency programme provides all participants with free accomodation in Moscow from February to June 2022.

Can a group of artists submit a joint application?

Regrettably, this open call is only for individual applications.

Will a separate budget for the production of the final project be provided?

Yes. Besides the monthly stipend, the participants will receive budgets for the implementation of their individual works for the final presentation at GES–2.

When and where will the presentation of the works created in the residency take place?

The showcases are scheduled for 16, 17 and 18 June 2022 at the GES–2 House of Culture.

Programme coordinator — Anastasia Chaladze:
residency@ges-2.org

/

Своими словами: резиденция для нового поколения художниц

23 ноя–14 дек 2021

Трехлетняя программа в Доме культуры «ГЭС-2», организованная совместно с Культурным фондом CHANEL, предназначена тем, кто использует в своей практике междисциплинарный подход и работает на пересечении музыки, танца и театрального искусства. Задача резиденции — создать благоприятную среду для профессионального развития участниц и способствовать гендерному равенству на художественной сцене.

Программа

«Своими словами: резиденция для нового поколения художниц» в Доме культуры «ГЭС-2» начнет работу 31 января 2022 года

В каждом блоке продолжительностью пять месяцев примут участие 12 художниц, отобранных через открытый прием заявок. С февраля по март состоятся серии интенсивных сессий и публичных лекций ведущих российских и зарубежных практиков танца, музыки и театра. После завершения этапа подготовительной работы участницы резиденции смогут продолжить заниматься собственными проектами и подготовить их к питчингу. Те из них, что успешно пройдут питчинг, будут реализованы при поддержке кураторов и продюсеров фонда V–A–C и представлены публике в Доме культуры «ГЭС-2» в июне 2022 года.

Менторы

Катерина Бакатсаки

Хореограф, исследователь и преподаватель Утрехтского университета искусств (HKU), ранее ментор Университета искусств в Амстердаме (AHK/SNDO). Работает на границе между визуальным искусством, драматургией, хореографией и Body Weather — комплексной практикой тренинга и перформанса, основанной японским танцовщиком Мином Танакой. Работала в его труппе Maijuku в Японии с 1986 по 1993 год. С 1996 года вместе с Франком ван де Веном она возглавляет Body Weather Amsterdam, платформу для исследования перформанса и обучения.

Хая Черновин

Композитор, профессор Гарвардского университета. Композитор-резидент Зальцбургского (2005/2006) и Люцернского (2013) фестивалей. Автор оперных произведений, написанных по заказу Мюнхенской биеннале (Pnima…ins Innere, 2000), Зальцбургского фестиваля (Adama, 2006), Фламандской оперы (Infinite Now, 2017) и Немецкой оперы в Берлине (Heart Chamber, 2019). Лауреат Премии Эрнста фон Сименса (2003), член Берлинской академии искусств (с 2017) и Баварской академии изящных искусств (с 2021).

Сьюзан Кеннеди

Театральный режиссер. Создала особую эстетику, чтобы исследовать новый баланс сил между телом, техническими объектами и машинами. Пытаясь в своих постановках дать ответ на извечный вопрос «Что значит быть человеком?», Кеннеди прибегает к искажениям привычной картины мира, используя возможности мультимедиа, маски, актеров-двойников и повторение диалогов. В 2017 году стала обладателем Европейской театральной премии в номинации «Новая театральная реальность».

Нина Гастева

Хореограф, танц-художник, основатель Петербургского перформативного движения в танце и в театре. Преподаватель и сокуратор магистерской программы для современных хореографов в Академии Русского балета им. А. Я. Вагановой. Руководитель театра танца «Игуан», хореограф арт-группы «Что делать?». Лауреат фестиваля Fringe (г. Пермь) и обладатель премии иностранных продюсеров Upstream на фестивале «Цех» (Москва, 2007). Ее искусство танца — это не послание, не сообщение, не трансляция заранее сформулированных представлений о мире, а попытка передать зрителю раскрывающийся веер из бесконечного числа смыслов и вероятностей.

Сергей Невский

Композитор, куратор. Создавал произведения по заказу Берлинской государственной оперы, Руртриеннале, Симфонического оркестра Штутгартского радио, ансамблей Klangforum Wien (Австрия), Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart (Германия) и других. Сотрудничал с режиссерами Кириллом Серебренниковым, Борисом Юханановым, Маратом Гацаловым. Обладатель премии «Золотая Маска» (2014). Был куратором направления «Музыка» в проекте «Платформа» на «Винзаводе». В 2020 году в Штутгарте состоялась мировая премьера его оперы Secondhand-Zeit, в основу которой легла книга «Время секонд хэнд» лауреата Нобелевской премии по литературе Светланы Алексиевич.

Виктор Рыжаков

Режиссер. Художественный руководитель Московского театра «Современник», директор театрального фестиваля «Пять вечеров», профессор Школы-студии МХАТ, лауреат премии Станиславского «За вклад в театральную педагогику». Автор спектаклей «Иранская конференция» (Театр Наций); «Саша, вынеси мусор», «Солнечная линия» (ЦИМ); «Пьяные», «Иллюзии», «С любимыми не расставайтесь», DreamWorks (МХТ им А.П. Чехова); «Несовременный концерт», «Современный концерт», «По-Чехову. Три сестры» («Июльансамбль»), «Война и мир Толстого» (БДТ им. Товстоногова), «Оптимистическая трагедия. Прощальный бал» (Александринский театр); Drunks, DreamWorks, The Hairdresser (Национальный театр, Будапешт) и других.

Опен-колл

Отбор участниц программы «Своими словами: резиденция для нового поколения художниц» в Доме культуры «ГЭС-2» открыт по трем направлениям:

Театр

Театральные режиссеры и сценографы, которые исследуют художественный язык и пытаются преодолеть конвенциональные формы и подходы «старого театра», обращаясь в своей практике к VR- и AR-технологиям, видео, перформансу, инсталляциям.

Танец

Хореографы, работающие в разных жанрах, чья художественная практика предполагает экспериментальный подход и открытость к знаниям из других сфер исполнительского искусства.

Музыка

Композиторы и саунд-дизайнеры, которые рассматривают современную музыку как пространство полифонии разных художественных практик и хотят поработать с другими исполнительскими искусствами.

Условия

Для участия в опен-колле необходимо заполнить заявку. В анкету входит мотивационное письмо, описание проекта, а также нужно будет прикрепить портфолио и CV.

Финальный отбор проводят менторы программы и кураторы фонда V–A–C.

Программа резиденций предназначена для художниц с опытом проектной работы. Опыт работы с культурными институциями (музеями, театрами, концертными площадками) также желателен. С февраля по июнь участницам выплачивается ежемесячная стипендия, также им будет выделен бюджет для производства собственных работ.

Прием заявок завершится 14 декабря 2021 г.

Имена участниц резиденции будут объявлены 30 декабря 2021 г.

FAQ

Рассматриваете ли вы заявки начинающих художниц?

Да, мы рассматриваем заявки начинающих, хотя опыт работы либо показов на фестивалях или шоукейсах желателен.

Есть ли возрастные ограничения?

Ограничений по возрасту для совершеннолетних участниц нет.

Я живу не в Москве, могу ли я подать заявку?

Да, программа резиденций предоставляет всем участницам возможность бесплатного проживания в Москве с февраля по июнь 2022 года.

Может ли коллектив художниц подать общую заявку?

К сожалению, мы принимаем только индивидуальные заявки.

Предусмотрен ли отдельный бюджет для производства финальной работы?

Да, помимо ежемесячной стипендии, участницам будет выделен бюджет на производство работы для финального показа в «ГЭС-2».

Когда и где состоятся показы работ, созданных в резиденции?

Показы запланированы на 16, 17 и 18 июня 2022 года в Доме культуры «ГЭС-2»

Координатор программы Анастасия Чаладзе:
residency@ges-2.org

/