Film programme

Date:
12 May–4 Sep 2018
Place:
Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMOMA)

The film programme of the General Rehearsal project includes both thematic film screenings and talks about films with their creators and film critics.

The Argentinean director Lola Arias, the author of the film Theatre of War (Argentina, Spain, Germany, 2018) will discuss with the theatre critic Nika Parkhomenskaya her film dedicated to the Falklands war between Argentina and Great Britain, as well as the traditions of social theatre. After the Russian premiere of the film by Zhang Miaoyan Silent Mist (China, France, 2017), its director will talk to the critic Dmitry Golynko-Wolfson.

The first Russian screening of the restored authorial version of the cult synthie-fi gem Liquid Sky (USA, 1982), winner of the Special Jury Prize at Brussels, Montreal, Sydney and Cartagena (1983), will be followed by an online talk with its director Slava Tsukerman. Francophonia by Alexander Sokurov (France, Germany, Netherlands, 2015) tells the story of the Louvre during the Nazi occupation. After the screening, the English conceptualist artist Simon Starling analyses the film with the viewers, paying attention to its intersections with his own project Nachbau (Reconstruction), also presented at General Rehearsal.

The Lebanese/French artist Ali Cherri presents his film The Digger (Lebanon, UAE, France, 2015); the screening is followed with a lecture-cum-performance in which he critically examines the role of archaeology and reflects on the possibility of alternative histories in the absence of material evidence.

The screening and talk on How to Film Art with the participation of Sergey Soloviev and Nastia Korkia is dedicated to four pictures: Look at the Face (1966) by Pavel Kogan, Beaubourg, Centre d’Art e de Culture Georges Pompidou (France, 1977, dir. Roberto Rossellini), When Rossellini Filmed the Centre Pompidou, (France, 1977, dir. Jacques Grandclaude), and the six-minute Sharp and Soft by Nastia Korkia (Russia, 2018), shot at the future site of GES-2.

Also in the programme of the General Rehearsal project are the screenings of such films as Ava (France, 2017, dir. Lea Misius), Napalm (France, 2017, dir. Jacques Grandclaude), Towards the Wind (Spain, Argentina, France, 2018, dir. Meritxel Colell Aparicio) and the Russian premiere of the work of Joao Moreira Salles An Era on the March (Brazil, 2017).

Participants of the film programme

Lola Arias, Argentinian performer, stage and film director. Since 2007 she has been engaged in social theatre, in particular, staging reenactments of events based on memories of the military juntas era in Argentina and Chile.

Nika Parkhomovskaya, critic, producer, member of the Association of Theatre Critics. She specializes in social theatre.

Meritxell Colell Aparicio, Catalonian director. She has worked with the Joan Miro’ Foundation. Her debut feature film Con el Viento was selected for the Cinéfondation Atelier at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival.

Katya Ganyushina, contemporary dance researcher, art critic, founder of the Room For contemporary dance agency.

Zhang Miaoyan, director, cameraman, writer and artist. Award winner at the Rotterdam (2011) and Zerkalo (2015) festivals.

Dmitry Golynko-Wolfson, poet, contemporary cultural commentator, literary and art critic and essayist. An Associate Professor at the St. Petersburg State Institute of Film and Television; holds the Candidate of Arts degree. Nominee for the Andrey Bely Prize (2002).

Slava Tsukerman, Soviet-American director, student of the director Lev Kuleshov. Emigrated to Israel in 1973 and then moved to New York where he shot Liquid Sky, one of the main American cult films of the 1980s.

Simon Starling, artist, teacher and winner of the Turner Prize (2005). Represented Scotland at the Venice Biennale (2003). Participated in numerous group and solo exhibitions, including Simon Starling. Metamorphology (Museum of Contemporary Arts, Chicago, 2014); Loft Lift Presentation (Modern Art Museum, Stockholm, 2013); Phantom Ride (Tate Modern, London, 2013); Project for a Masquerade (Museum of Contemporary Art, Hiroshima, 2011). From 2003 to 2015 he was a professor at the Frankfurt Städelschule.

Ali Cherri, visual artist. He was born in Beirut in 1976, when 15-year-long Lebanon civil war began . Combining documentary and fiction, Cherri addresses the consequences of war and also explores the society of the restless present, for which the future represents not a promise, but a threat.

Кино

Дата:
12 май–4 сен 2018
Место:
Московский музей современного искусства (ММОМА)

Кинопрограмма проекта включает в себя как тематические кинопоказы, так и обсуждения фильмов с их создателями и критиками.

Аргентинский режиссер Лола Ариас, автор фильма «Театр войны» (Аргентина, Испания, Германия, 2018), обсуждает с театральным критиком Никой Пархомовской свою работу, посвященную Фолклендской войне между Аргентиной и Великобританией, а также традиции социального театра. А после российской премьеры ленты Чжана Мяояня «Безмолвная мгла» (Китай–Франция, 2017) режиссер говорит с критиком Дмитрием Голынко-Вольфсоном.

Показ восстановленной авторской версии культового synthie-fi «Жидкое небо» (США, 1982), получившего специальные призы фестивалей в Брюсселе, Монреале, Сиднее и Картахене (1983), продолжает онлайн-дискуссия с его режиссером Славой Цукерманом. «Франкофония» Александра Сокурова (Франция, Германия, Нидерланды, 2015) рассказывает о Лувре во время фашистской оккупации, и после просмотра английский художник-концептуалист Саймон Старлинг анализирует со зрителями как фильм, так и перекликающийся с ним собственный проект Nachbau («Реконструкция»), представленный на «Генеральной репетиции».

Фильм «Копатель» ливанско-французского художника Али Шерри (Ливан, ОАЭ, Франция, 2015) продолжает лекция-перформанс режиссера, в которой он критически осмысливает роль археологии, а также размышляет о возможности альтернативной истории в отсутствие материальных свидетельств.

Кинопоказ и дискуссия с участием Сергея Соловьева и Насти Коркия «Как снимать искусство» посвящены четырем картинам: «Взгляните на лицо» (СССР, 1966, режиссер Павел Коган), «Бобур, центр искусства и культуры Жоржа Помпиду» (Франция, 1977, режиссер Роберто Росселлини), «Когда Росселлини снимал Помпиду» (Франция, 1977, режиссер Жак Гранклод) и шестиминутная работа «Резкий и мягкий» самой Насти Коркия (Россия, 2018), снятый в будущем культурном пространстве ГЭС-2.

Также в программе проекта «Генеральная репетиция» — показы фильмов «Ава» (Франция, 2017, режиссер Леа Мисиус), «Напалм» (Франция, 2017, режиссер Жак Гранклод), «Навстречу ветру» (Испания, Аргентина, Франция, 2018, режиссер Меритксель Колелль Апарисио) и российская премьера работы Жуана Морейры Саллеса «Эпоха на марше» (Бразилия, 2017).

Участники кинопрограммы

Лола Ариас — аргентинский перформер, театральный и кинорежиссер. С 2007 года занимается социальным театром, в частности, ставит реэнактменты, основанные на воспоминаниях об эпохе военной хунты в Аргентине и Чили.

Ника Пархомовская — критик, продюсер, член Ассоциации театральных критиков. Специализируется на социальном театре.

Меритксель Колелль Апарисио — каталонский режиссер. Сотрудничает с фондом Жоана Миро. Дебютный полнометражный фильм «Навстречу ветру» был отобран для участия в Ателье Cinéfondation (Каннский кинофестиваль — 2017).

Катя Ганюшина — исследователь современного танца, искусствовед, основатель агентства современного танца Room For.

Чжан Мяоянь — режиссер, оператор, писатель, художник. Призер Роттердамского фестиваля (2011), фестиваля «Зеркало» (2015).

Дмитрий Голынко-Вольфсон — поэт, теоретик современной культуры, литературный и художественный критик, эссеист. Доцент Санкт-Петербургского государственного института кино и телевидения; кандидат искусствоведческих наук. Номинант на премию Андрея Белого (2002).

Слава Цукерман — советско-американский режиссер, ученик Льва Кулешова, в 1973 году эмигрировал в Израиль, впоследствии перебрался в Нью-Йорк, где снял один из главных фильмов американских 80-х — культовый synthie-fi «Жидкое небо».

Саймон Старлинг — художник, преподаватель, лауреат премии Тёрнера (2005). В 2003 году представлял Шотландию на Венецианской биеннале. Участник многочисленных групповых и персональных выставок, в том числе «Саймон Старлинг: Метаморфология» (Музей современного искусства, Чикаго, 2014); Loft Lift Presentation (Музей современного искусства, Стокгольм, 2013); Phantom Ride (галерея Тейт Модерн, Лондон, 2013); Project for a Masquerade (Музей современного искусства, Хиросима, 2011). С 2003 по 2015 год — профессор Высшей школы изобразительных искусств во Франкфурте.

Али Шерри — визуальный художник. Родился в Бейруте в 1976 году, в начале 15-летней гражданской войны в Ливане. Совмещая документалистику и вымысел, он обращается к последствиям войны, а также исследует общество «беспокойного настоящего», для которого будущее несет не обещание, а угрозу.

/