Act 2. A philosophical play in 11 thought-images

Date:
21 Jun–22 Jul 2018
Place:
Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMOMA)

Works of art illustrate 11 chapters of a yet-to-be-written book.

At the basis of the second act of General Rehearsal project is a philosophical play in which the Austrian philosopher Armen Avanessian has orchestrated several scenes corresponding to the chapters of a hypothetical book he may write after his participation in the project. Starting from the relevance of metaphysics in our times, he considers the traditional concepts that have structured Western thinking from the perspective of a present where change is the only constant. The future seems ultimately to be the most effective toolbox for helping us decode the present, since it is ever more directly involved in defining it.

Scene after scene, notions of time and death, form and matter, substance and accident, as well as political agency are confronted by the impact of the digital revolution on our lives and our cognitive models. We need to reinvigorate these concepts with fresher, more considered definitions which will enable us to navigate our time, a time of uncertainty, but also of new opportunities. The scenes transported to the three-dimensional space of an exhibition is an experiment in testing ideas on an audience through these highly charged performers.

Armen Avanessian is an Austrian philosopher, literary theorist. He is an editor at Merve Verlag publishers and is in charge of the theory programme at the Volksbühne Theatre in Berlin. His scientific approach is based on the hypothesis that the future defines our present. In 2015, together with director Christopher Roth, he produced the film Hyperstition which uses ontology, science fiction, and sociology to question the concept of time.

Акт 2. Философская пьеса в 11 мыслеобразах

Дата:
21 июн–22 июл 2018
Место:
Московский музей современного искусства (ММОМА)

Произведения искусства иллюстрируют 11 глав еще не написанной книги.

В основе Второго акта «Генеральной репетиции» лежит философская пьеса, в которой австрийский философ Армен Аванесян создал последовательность из нескольких сцен, перекликающихся с главами гипотетической книги, которую он, возможно, напишет после участия в проекте. Отталкиваясь от роли метафизики в современности, он рассматривает традиционные понятия западного мышления с позиции настоящего, в котором неизменными остаются лишь перемены. Будущее предстает идеальным инструментом для расшифровки настоящего, поскольку принимает непосредственное участие в его формировании.

Сцена за сценой понятия времени и смерти, формы и материи, субстанции и акциденции, а также политической агентности сталкиваются с воздействием цифровой революции на нашу жизнь и наши модели познания. Главная цель — снабдить эти понятия свежими осмысленными определениями, которые позволили бы ориентироваться в нашей эпохе — одновременно эпохе неопределенности и новых возможностей. Сцены, перенесенные в трехмерное пространство выставки, представляют собой эксперимент, в котором эти идеи будут опробованы на публике через напряженную игру исполнителей.

Армен Аванесян — австрийский философ, теоретик литературы, редактор издательства Merve Verlag и руководитель теоретической программы берлинского театра «Фольксбюне». В основе его научного подхода лежит гипотеза о том, что будущее определяет наше настоящее. В 2015 году Аванесян вместе с режиссером Кристофером Ротом выпустил фильм «Hyperstition», в котором с помощью онтологии, научной фантастики и социологии подвергается сомнению категория времени.