Act 1. “The Seagull”

Date:
26 Apr–12 Jun 2018
Place:
Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMOMA)

The works of more than a hundred artists are likened to actors whose roles change depending on the script.

Putting on The Seagull outside the setting of a theatre is something entertaining in itself. This great classic of the Russian stage is placed in an ill-suited environment — a museum space. This new situation therefore plays host to a reconsideration of the dramatic genre. Moreover, works of art also find themselves in unusual circumstances, playing the role of actors.

Chekhov intuitively foresaw thatin future his plays might be adapted under a wide variety of “new forms,” and loaded them with a potential for a huge number of interpretations. The canonical text becomes a source for its own potential distortions. The author grants this freedom, and the Theatre of Mutual Operations elegantly takes advantage of this. Their The Seagull is an attempt to restore the initial originality of the play overgrown with clichés. Fragments, episodes, incomplete plots and paradoxes thereby become an arsenal with which the artists can create a visual work of their own.

The Theatre of Mutual Actions is an open association of three artists and a producer who jointly create independent theatrical and contemporary art projects. A special aspect of their creative method is their focus on process and the absence of the authoritarian figure of director.

Participating Artists:

Shifra Kazhdan is an artist and an art director, She has held exhibitions both in Russia and abroad, and has been nominated for the Innovation Prize, Golden Mask Prize and Kandinsky Prize.

Lyosha Lobanov is an art director, a costume designer. Nominated for the Golden Mask Prize and Innovation Prize.

Alexandra Moon is a producer, a manager, a pioneer of independent film and theatre projects. He has been nominated for the Golden Mask Prize and Innovation Prize.

Ksenia Peretrukhina is an artist and performance artist. Nominee for the Black Square Prize, Innovation Prize, Kandinsky Prize, winner of the Golden Mask Award.

Акт 1. «Чайка»

Дата:
26 апр–12 июн 2018
Место:
Московский музей современного искусства (ММОМА)

Работы более ста художников уподобляются актерам, роли которых меняются в зависимости от сценария.

«Чайка» вне театра занимательна сама по себе. Самое классическое произведение русской сцены помещается в мало приспособленную для него среду — в пространство музея. Так в новой ситуации происходит переосмысление драматического жанра. Вместе с тем и произведения искусства оказываются в несвойственных им предлагаемых обстоятельствах, выступая в роли актеров.

Чехов интуитивно предусмотрел, что в будущем его пьесы можно будет адаптировать под самые разные «новые формы», и заложил в них возможность огромного количества трактовок: канонический текст становится источником своих потенциальных искажений. Автор предоставляет свободу, и «Театр Взаимных Действий» искусно ею пользуется. Их «Чайка» — попытка восстановить изначальную свежесть пьесы, обросшей штампами. Осколки, эпизоды, незавершенные сюжеты, парадоксы художники превращают в арсенал для создания собственного визуального произведения.

«Театр Взаимных Действий» — открытое объединение трех художников и продюсера, которые вместе создают независимые проекты в области театра и современного искусства. Особенность их творческого метода — фокус на процессуальную деятельность и отсутствие авторитарной фигуры режиссера

Участники

Шифра Каждан 
Художница и художница–постановщица, участница российских и зарубежных выставок, номинант премий «Инновация», «Золотая Маска» и премии Кандинского.

Леша Лобанов 
Художник-постановщик, художник по костюмам, номинант премий «Золотая Маска» и «Инновация».

Александра Мун 
Продюсер, менеджер, инициатор независимых проектов в кино и театре, номинант премий «Золотая Маска» и «Инновация».

Ксения Перетрухина 
Художница, художница-постановщица, номинант премий «Черный квадрат», «Инновация», премии Кандинского, лауреат премии «Золотая Маска».