How Not to Be Afraid of Contemporary Art?

Date:
from 5 Dec
Place:
GES-2
6+

A practice session for both children and adults, offering tools for engaging with the new and unfamiliar.

Theatre director Polina Struzhkova offers simple tools to help visitors of all ages to familiarise themselves with art and learn what an exhibition space can be like, as well as how to approach works of art from an unfamiliar angle, and what questions to ask in order to get a full perspective of it.

I can see how people’s defence mechanisms kick in: for fear of being embarrassed, we shut ourselves off from the new experience. This tour is an opportunity for the visitor to find themselves inside the exhibition space and have a chance to feel entitled to perceive and study something new, to express their opinion even if their impression is completely new to them.

— Polina Struzhkova, author of the tour

Basing on the artworks displayed in Season 1. Santa Barbara — How Not to Be Сolonised?, the tour participants together with the mediator will explore different ways of understanding art, share their impressions and, if they wish, create individual collage tutorials to get started with exploring art on their own.

Duration of one tour: 60 minutes

Image by Gleb Leonov

Polina Struzhkova is a theatre director. She has staged productions for children at the Nations’ Theatre, the Mayakovsky Theatre and the Meyerhold Theatre Centre. She is a curator and author of a course on social and emotional intelligence at the Shalash charity fund and a curator and director at the Inclusion theatre schools. Participated in such theatrical events as The Young Directing Laboratory, The Golden Mask Festival Children’s Weekend, Marshak Children’s Theatre Festival, The Golden Turnip All-Russian Festival of Arts for Children and Young People and The Big Break International Festival of Theatre for Children.

/

Как не бояться современного искусства?

Дата:
с 5 дек
Место:
ГЭС-2
6+

Практическое занятие для детей и взрослых, предлагающее инструменты для взаимодействия с новым и непонятным.

Театральный режиссер Полина Стружкова предлагает простые инструменты, которые помогут посетителям разного возраста познакомиться с искусством и узнать, каким может быть выставочное пространство, как рассматривать произведения с непривычной стороны и какой вопрос задать, чтобы наверняка во всем разобраться.

Я вижу, как у людей срабатывают механизмы защиты: боясь оказаться в неловком положении, мы закрываемся от нового опыта. Этот тур — возможность сделать так, чтобы посетитель оказался внутри выставочного пространства и имел возможность почувствовать себя здесь вправе воспринимать и изучать новое, высказывать свое мнение, даже если это то впечатление, которое человек раньше не испытывал.

— Полина Стружкова, автор тура

На примере работ сезона «„Санта-Барбара“. Как не поддаться колонизации?» участники тура вместе с медиатором освоят разные способы понимания искусства, поделятся своими впечатлениями и при желании создадут индивидуальные коллажи-инструкции для того, чтобы начать изучать искусство самостоятельно.

Продолжительность тура: 60 минут

Фото: Глеб Леонов

Полина Стружкова — театральный режиссер–постановщик спектаклей для детей в Театре Наций, в Театре им. В. Маяковского, в Центре им. В. Мейерхольда. Куратор и автор курса по социально-эмоциональному интеллекту в благотворительном фонде «Шалаш», куратор и режиссер в театральных школах «Инклюзион». Участница лабораторий и фестивалей театра для детей «Молодая режиссура», «Детский Weekend» фестиваля «Золотая Маска», «Маршак», «Золотая репка», «Большая перемена».

/